18/5 monkey AMPS 362

PH&MonkeyPenPenFaFaTiger

Member Since 2020
At +4 he went to 34, I fed him Can food+ Honey.

I am thinking this is due to:
1. I increased the dose from 1.75 to 2.0 this morning.
2. He ate less this morning , I give him 90g of food, and he ate half of them. Also,

Do I still need to monitor his BG to ensure his safety? I have only 3 test paper now and I expect delivery will be tomorrow or the day after tomorrow. Also, can I skip PenPen insulin and start the remission trial? (So I can save test paper for Monkey in coming few days before the delivery. @Nan & Amber (GA) @Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
Peter, yes you will need to monitor Monkey further to ensure he is safe today. Monkey has earned a reduction in dose so please go back down to 1.75 units at the next dose.

I think you need to go out today and buy more strips. It is very important to keep monitoring Monkey. Can you go out today to get more strips?

With Pen Pen he is pretty close to an OTJ trial. He has had a couple of low blues in the last week though.

Can you let us know if you can get more strips today please?
 
I forgot to mention, today the vet said the red object is likely to be rectal prolapse, but since Monkey shows no accumulation of large amount of feces in his body and also his poops are not too dry, there should be no constipation, therefore we do not need to be worried. :) The vet instruct me on how to spot constipation and contact the right professionals.

Also, my probiotics and digestive enzyme supplement arrived. The reason I buy these is because I guess Monkey has compromised ability to digest and absorb nutrients due to his diabetes. Is this going to affect BG and insulin dose?
 
Peter probiotics are good but I’m not sure about the digestive enzymes supplement. They are not needed unless there is an issue with the pancreas being able the produce the enzymes.... that is my understanding of it anyway. can you take a photo of the supplement please and show us.

Please see these. I was thinking that diabetic cats may have compromised pancreas function, and it cannot hurt by supplementing. Also, I read a book What Cats Should Eat by Jean Hofve, she say digestive enzyme it vital to cats who eat cooked or commercial food

https://naturvet.com/product/digestive-enzymes-powder/
https://www.amazon.com/Dr-Mercola-C...ement/dp/B005IW1GOY?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Back
Top