Re: 7/28 Peter AMPS 455, +4 353, +6 373, 1st Condo dose advi
First, I'd say yes, it looks like Peter is bouncing. You don't have enough data to really know how low he might have gone since you just recently put him back on low carb wet and don't have enough testing to know for sure, but you can probably figure that he went even lower overnight. Most cats do drop at night.
The protocol is to stay at the same dose for at least 3-5 days (6-10 cycles) but it looks like you've skipped some doses in the past two weeks as well as decreasing a full unit, increased .25u twice in 4 cycles, and then decreased .75 at AMPS and then went back up to 1.25 or 1 within just a short time.
Lantus is a depot insulin, and it takes time for the depot to fill and get any useful information from testing. Doses are based more on the nadir (the lowest reading in the cycle...where the Lantus is kicking in it's best) than they are on Pre-shot numbers.
From the Lantus Tight Regulation Sticky:
"General" Guidelines:
Hold the initial starting dose for 5 - 7 days (10 - 14 consecutive cycles) unless the numbers tell you otherwise. Kitties experiencing high flat curves or prone to ketones may want to increase the starting dose after 3 days (6 consecutive cycles).
Each subsequent dose is held for a minimum of 3 days (6 consecutive cycles) unless kitty earns a reduction (See: Reducing the dose...).
Adjustments to dose are based on nadirs with only some consideration given to preshot numbers.
Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.
Reducing the dose:
If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
If an attempted reduction fails, go right back up to the last good dose.
Try to go from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely.
You might want to take a look at both the Tight Regulation protocol and the Start Low, Go Slow (SLGS) and decide which one is best for you, and then I'm sure the wonderful people here will be happy to share their knowledge and suggestions with you to help get Peter under better control.
Keep asking questions!! After reading the Sticky's at the top of this page, you might have a lot of them! Everyone here wants only the best for Peter and will always make his safety their first priority.
You sure have had a lot of challenges with Peter! I wish only the best for you both! You're in the right place though!!