17/1/15 Lucy PMPS=275 +6=175 +9=175 +11=232 PMPS=254

Status
Not open for further replies.

Voula

Member Since 2014
We are now two days after Lucy had her dental work done with two teeth extracted and a teeth cleaning too. The dental vet reduced the AM dose and I also reduced the PM dose on the day of the dental procedure. Yesterday I went back to our current dose of 2.75f units. After the PM dose Lucy is sitting in blue numbers up to +9 which is good. I am a bit anxious to dose at lower glucose levels at the moment because we have just had the dental done and I worry about too low glucose levels occurring due to the dental work being done. But maybe if that is going to happen it might not happen yet as Lucy's gums will still be healing at the moment. I am very happy as she is eating really well too though she has always eaten well as she loves her food. :cat::)
My previous post:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...glucose-monitoring-after-dental-today.131491/
 
I think you'll be able to cope with things if she gets under 50 as a result of healing. I'd think that change would be somewhat gradual. It won't be any worse than it was for you on the 8th when she got into the 40's, and you did great then! It's also likely that she'll give you some lower numbers that will let you know that she's headed into green numbers. Like on the 8th she gave you a 121, then the 59 - so it was like a little bit of an advance warning system of where she was going.

I think of the 40's as the "take action zone" - they are safe as long as you're monitoring and take action when you see them. I'm glad to see those blues tonight - WOOHOO! I'll be your so glad to have the dental behind you.
 
I think you'll be able to cope with things if she gets under 50 as a result of healing. I'd think that change would be somewhat gradual. It won't be any worse than it was for you on the 8th when she got into the 40's, and you did great then! It's also likely that she'll give you some lower numbers that will let you know that she's headed into green numbers. Like on the 8th she gave you a 121, then the 59 - so it was like a little bit of an advance warning system of where she was going.

I think of the 40's as the "take action zone" - they are safe as long as you're monitoring and take action when you see them. I'm glad to see those blues tonight - WOOHOO! I'll be your so glad to have the dental behind you.
Thank you Julie. I have noticed from studying others' spreadsheets whose cats have had dentals that the lowering of the glucose levels has been more gradual as you said. I really am relieved the dental is over with now.
 
I have a question. Is there any reason to lower the current dose because of the dental work being done and the possibility of lower blood glucose levels or continue at the current dose of 2.75f units? Thank you.
 
typically it doesn't work to reduce in advance. You want to actually see a number under 50 before you reduce. I wouldn't reduce her dose in advance - I had the experience that punkin developed infections post-dental so he actually needed more insulin. You may not have that happen, but i still wouldn't reduce in advance.
 
Thank you Julie. That helps my anxiety a lot and your experience with the infection is good information to keep in mind too. I will give Lucy her regular dose until I see lower blood glucose levels and then reassess again. Thank you again.
 
Neko had her dental 10 days ago. I kept the dose the same for 6 cycles, to build the depot back up after the lower dose for her dental, then increased. I don't think she has infections, she had antibiotics for a week - she just needed more juice. Follow what the numbers tell you, it's impossible to guess in advance.
 
I was spying on Lucy's spreadsheet this morning and was very happy to see her back in the blue last night. I agree with the others fire away with the full dose until the numbers tell you otherwise - you did shoot this morning didn't you, her spreadsheet doesn't say.
 
Neko had her dental 10 days ago. I kept the dose the same for 6 cycles, to build the depot back up after the lower dose for her dental, then increased. I don't think she has infections, she had antibiotics for a week - she just needed more juice. Follow what the numbers tell you, it's impossible to guess in advance.
Thank you Wendy. Pats and purrs to Neko from me and Lucy too.
 
I was spying on Lucy's spreadsheet this morning and was very happy to see her back in the blue last night. I agree with the others fire away with the full dose until the numbers tell you otherwise - you did shoot this morning didn't you, her spreadsheet doesn't say.
Thank you Serryn. We are on a late dosing schedule so I haven't given Lucy her morning insulin yet but I did a blood glucose test earlier to see where the glucose levels were so I could have time to post with any questions. I will stay at our regular dose of 2.75f units.
 
You had me confused because you already had a number in the AMPS column- now I see it was actually a +11 - which means it should be in the +11 column for the previous cycle ;) Good planning to be ready in advance with your questions - big gold star for you :)
 
hi Voula

I'm glad Lucy's dental went well. I also think it's a good idea to just hold her current dose and see how she does. Dentals do not always result in the dose needing to come down.

Paws crossed the dental helps the numbers ...gradually. ;)
 
You had me confused because you already had a number in the AMPS column- now I see it was actually a +11 - which means it should be in the +11 column for the previous cycle ;) Good planning to be ready in advance with your questions - big gold star for you :)
Thank you Serryn for the gold star and I will amend the spreadsheet thank you again. :)
 
hi Voula

I'm glad Lucy's dental went well. I also think it's a good idea to just hold her current dose and see how she does. Dentals do not always result in the dose needing to come down.

Paws crossed the dental helps the numbers ...gradually. ;)
Thank you so much. I think I still feel somewhat anxious after the dental appointment so thought I would ask about the dose.
 
Always ask! No one minds and that's how you learn. The more you understand, the less anxious you will feel.

We all asked tons of questions too, especially those of us who are posting to you. Lol I think we were the Queens of Questions!
 
Always ask! No one minds and that's how you learn. The more you understand, the less anxious you will feel.

We all asked tons of questions too, especially those of us who are posting to you. Lol I think we were the Queens of Questions!
Thank you Julie. You are always so kind.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top