? 16/08 Bailie amps 390+2 343+7 311

Hi Nancy, I'm sorry your vet is treating you this way! Will she not listen to you at all?

What do you want to do on the dosing front?

Are you feeding Baillie only with the shot?
 
Ya she’s told me she can’t work with me . Mainly Bailie only eats with shot but he does get churu and also sometimes some lunch . I gave him 3.50 this am but it’s not enough I don’t think .
 
If he eats only with the shot, he might not need even 3.5U. Let's see what he does today.
I’m so upset about not having a vet for my animals. I just don’t know what to do. I want to stay at that vet clinic because they were so sweet to me and everything. I really like them, but I don’t even know if another vet there will see me.
I’m so sorry to hear of your vet struggles, Nancy. It’s so wrong of these vets that behave this way.
You’re doing such a great job advocating for Bailie.
Wishing you strength and support :bighug::bighug:
Thats so kind of you I appreciate the moral support . Thank you :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Congratulations, Nancy :kiss: When my vet fired me I started working only with FDMB's advice and I must say it brought a lot of peace to my mind. I no longer had to hustle between two very different views.
But seriously, I'm sorry you were abandoned like that! I second @Staci & Ivy that it0s really wrong to treat you like this.
I don't know about you but I believe that everything happens for the best. I'm certain that there's another vet out there that would be the right one for you.
But that's me. I never give up until I find the practitioner that is willing to work with me. It took me many vets before I found the one we're working with now. Don't despair.
Sending you love and encouragement :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Congratulations, Nancy :kiss: When my vet fired me I started working only with FDMB's advice and I must say it brought a lot of peace to my mind. I no longer had to hustle between two very different views.
But seriously, I'm sorry you were abandoned like that! I second @Staci & Ivy that it0s really wrong to treat you like this.
I don't know about you but I believe that everything happens for the best. I'm certain that there's another vet out there that would be the right one for you.
But that's me. I never give up until I find the practitioner that is willing to work with me. It took me many vets before I found the one we're working with now. Don't despair.
Sending you love and encouragement :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Yeah, I think I’m gonna go back to my other vet that I had a few years back and this time I won’t make the mistake of giving her the spreadsheet access to the spreadsheet I mean. So I will just say that he does have diabetes, but I have it under control. Hopefully, she won’t pry too much. And hopefully she will work with me. But I’m just wondering what my current vet is going to put in with the records in the reason why she won’t work with me. That’s my only concern. Thanks so much for your positivity. It really means a lot thank you so much.
 
Yeah, I think I’m gonna go back to my other vet that I had a few years back and this time I won’t make the mistake of giving her the spreadsheet access to the spreadsheet I mean. So I will just say that he does have diabetes, but I have it under control. Hopefully, she won’t pry too much. And hopefully she will work with me. But I’m just wondering what my current vet is going to put in with the records in the reason why she won’t work with me. That’s my only concern. Thanks so much for your positivity. It really means a lot thank you so much.
Don’t worry about the records, Nancy. They don’t put in there the reason since it really doesn’t reflect well on them.

if it helps, here’s what I do: I always ask for a copy of any test results. That way I’m not dependent on any vet and can leave whenever I want without explaining. I just don’t waste my time anymore. FD is time consuming enough.
It also allows me to share data immediately when I go to a clinic/hospital. When I go to a vet it gives them an immediate picture of what’s going on and all vets I went to so far loved it. No one ever asked me what happened to the other vet. Who cares?!

At first I too shared the SS. I dont! Only if the vet shows openness and also interest. I nice scheduled with a vet from England because he was highly recommended. When I told him about the forum and research of TR he told me”don’t believe everything you read in the internet”. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry from the disgusting insult this man just threw at me. He never bothered to ask anything about the forum and made no effort to inquire why I trust the information. Mind you, I was a researcher in the academia so I do know how to read published papers. But he just treated me like a stupid five year old. Well I work with children and never treat them like that but you get my point.

The SS is not so straight forward and it takes time to explain. When my current vet heard I’m in the forum she said she always refers people to the forum so it told me she’s a rare kind. I shared with her the SS but she couldn’t understand it. We sat together and I shared with her how it works. But she knows I have it under control and she trusts me!!!! And that’s the key. A vet needs to trust you because you’re no dumb. You’re doing so much for Bailie and taking such good care of him so a vet should lean into that. since I stearate approaching a vet like that I had hardly any problems.

You did nothing wrong, Nancy. I know it can feel bad and even intimidating when the vet abandons you. But you did nothing wrong! You’re an amazing mum to Bailie and as Staci said his great advocate. The vet’s shortsightedness is not on you. And we have your back :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Don’t worry about the records, Nancy. They don’t put in there the reason since it really doesn’t reflect well on them.

if it helps, here’s what I do: I always ask for a copy of any test results. That way I’m not dependent on any vet and can leave whenever I want without explaining. I just don’t waste my time anymore. FD is time consuming enough.
It also allows me to share data immediately when I go to a clinic/hospital. When I go to a vet it gives them an immediate picture of what’s going on and all vets I went to so far loved it. No one ever asked me what happened to the other vet. Who cares?!

At first I too shared the SS. I dont! Only if the vet shows openness and also interest. I nice scheduled with a vet from England because he was highly recommended. When I told him about the forum and research of TR he told me”don’t believe everything you read in the internet”. I didn’t know whether to laugh or cry from the disgusting insult this man just threw at me. He never bothered to ask anything about the forum and made no effort to inquire why I trust the information. Mind you, I was a researcher in the academia so I do know how to read published papers. But he just treated me like a stupid five year old. Well I work with children and never treat them like that but you get my point.

The SS is not so straight forward and it takes time to explain. When my current vet heard I’m in the forum she said she always refers people to the forum so it told me she’s a rare kind. I shared with her the SS but she couldn’t understand it. We sat together and I shared with her how it works. But she knows I have it under control and she trusts me!!!! And that’s the key. A vet needs to trust you because you’re no dumb. You’re doing so much for Bailie and taking such good care of him so a vet should lean into that. since I stearate approaching a vet like that I had hardly any problems.

You did nothing wrong, Nancy. I know it can feel bad and even intimidating when the vet abandons you. But you did nothing wrong! You’re an amazing mum to Bailie and as Staci said his great advocate. The vet’s shortsightedness is not on you. And we have your back :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Shelly I can’t thank you enough for being so helpful and kind . You are really making me feel a whole lot better . I was so upset that my vet was telling me that I was going to kill my cat and that Bailie was in hypo a lot of the time and that she even consulted my old vet that moved to Ottawa and she agreed I was putting Bailies life in danger ,that I was going to kill him ! I couldn’t believe it . To be honest with you they scared me . But I know they obviously don’t know what they are talking about . With the protocol that the vet gave me she told me not to shoot under 180 that’s crazy isn’t it ? And obviously she didn’t really know how Lantis actually works because when you skip shots, they automatically shoot up in numbers anyway thank you so much. I really appreciate you. I’ll keep you in the loop as to how I make out with getting a new vet. I’m just really concerned that they don’t have a vet as we speak right now. It kind of makes me feel uneasy. On a sidenote, I’m having trouble copying this thread onto my new thread today. Don’t I just copy the address bar? I’m trying that and it’s not working.
 
I agree completely with everything @Fistuk & Shelly said!! She’s absolutely right and so eloquently articulated what goes on with vets we may use.
You will find another vet and just share what you need to with them.

None of the vets I’ve worked with have seen my spreadsheet. I don’t even mention it.
The vet I currently use told me I’m very well versed in FD when he just asked what I do about “her sugar”
I said she wears a Libre and I blood test if she goes low.

I laughed to myself when he said that since I feel very insecure about my knowledge and heavily rely on this forum for answers. Learning every single day here!

Not one of my docs seem to think it’s necessarily to test all the time (but my current one thinks that the Libre is great that I’m using it and apply it myself to be in control).

And they all seem to think 300 is a fine number to stay above. (Nope)

Oh well, I think they aren’t used to pet parents who are actively involved in managing FD on a daily basis.
Keep doing what you’re doing!! Bailie is much better for your dedication :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I agree completely with everything @Fistuk & Shelly said!! She’s absolutely right and so eloquently articulated what goes on with vets we may use.
You will find another vet and just share what you need to with them.

None of the vets I’ve worked with have seen my spreadsheet. I don’t even mention it.
The vet I currently use told me I’m very well versed in FD when he just asked what I do about “her sugar”
I said she wears a Libre and I blood test if she goes low.

I laughed to myself when he said that since I feel very insecure about my knowledge and heavily rely on this forum for answers. Learning every single day here!

Not one of my docs seem to think it’s necessarily to test all the time (but my current one thinks that the Libre is great that I’m using it and apply it myself to be in control).

And they all seem to think 300 is a fine number to stay above. (Nope)

Oh well, I think they aren’t used to pet parents who are actively involved in managing FD on a daily basis.
Keep doing what you’re doing!! Bailie is much better for your dedication :bighug::bighug::bighug:
Thank you so much for all your support I really appreciate it . It makes me feel so much better .
 
Back
Top