15/08 Bailie amps 520 +2 385 +6 351

Nancyco*

Very Active Member
@Bandit's Mom Hi Bhooma so here we go again except it’s now reversed. He’s 57 The vet forbids me to shoot under 180 she says it’s better to be high than too low . This is just a vicious cycle .Sp now he will sky rocket today .I have no clue why she thinks 180 is too low to shoot she obviously doesn’t know what she is taking about . I’m so ticked off. She knows I’m testing all the time so why does she think it’s so dangerous,
 
I thought you would see green or lime at AMPS today! He has cleared the bounce and it's his usual MO to drop at the end of the cycle.

Vets don't want to risk hypoglycemia since most people don't home test. That's why they prefer that a cat stays in higher numbers. A lot of them are also more familiar with "in and out" insulins rather than depot insulins. That's why they dose based on preshots (and not nadirs) and suggest feeding only twice a day with insulin.

Why not try 3.5u as suggested by your vet (from tonight)? Maybe he won't drop as low as he does on 4u and that way you could give insulin twice a day.
 
I thought you would see green or lime at AMPS today! He has cleared the bounce and it's his usual MO to drop at the end of the cycle.

Vets don't want to risk hypoglycemia since most people don't home test. That's why they prefer that a cat stays in higher numbers. A lot of them are also more familiar with "in and out" insulins rather than depot insulins. That's why they dose based on preshots (and not nadirs) and suggest feeding only twice a day with insulin.

Why not try 3.5u as suggested by your vet (from tonight)? Maybe he won't drop as low as he does on 4u and that way you could give insulin twice a day.
My goal is to get him the best he can be. Do you think if I drop him to 3.5 there’s a possibility he could still get good numbers AM and p.m.? Also he has been getting 4 so if I drop to 3.50 would that give him new NDW?
 
Last edited:
I thought you would see green or lime at AMPS today! He has cleared the bounce and it's his usual MO to drop at the end of the cycle.

Vets don't want to risk hypoglycemia since most people don't home test. That's why they prefer that a cat stays in higher numbers. A lot of them are also more familiar with "in and out" insulins rather than depot insulins. That's why they dose based on preshots (and not nadirs) and suggest feeding only twice a day with insulin.

Why not try 3.5u as suggested by your vet (from tonight)? Maybe he won't drop as low as he does on 4u and that way you could give insulin twice a day.
Wondering if Custom should be written at the top of the SS instead of TR? I am kind of confused with this TR information myself though. It says...

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
So which is it? Decrease .25 if it drops below 40 or if it drops below 30?
 
Wondering if Custom should be written at the top of the SS instead of TR?
Nancy was following TR but is now trying dosing as per the advice of her vet. So I guess it should say "As per vet"?

So which is it? Decrease .25 if it drops below 40 or if it drops below 30?
There is no separate rule for below 30. It's "below 40" or "into the 30s" which is the same thing. :)
And a drop below 40 is almost always a full reduction. ("There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.")
 
Last edited:
Wondering if Custom should be written at the top of the SS instead of TR? I am kind of confused with this TR information myself though. It says...

The TR Protocol is an aggressive method in itself. The modified version of the protocol is slightly more aggressive. Let's keep all our kitties in the Lantus, Levemir, & Biosimilars ISG safe by taking reductions when appropriate.
  • If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit.
  • Alternatively, attempt a reduction when the cat regularly has its lowest BGs in the normal range of a non-diabetic healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL) while staying under 100 mg/dl overall for at least one week.
  • Please do not let yourself become complacent or blasé about drops into the 20s or 30s. Please ask for advice immediately.
  • If your cat drops into the 30s, a full reduction of 0.25u is recommended. There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.
So which is it? Decrease .25 if it drops below 40 or if it drops below 30?
Good point
 
Nancy was following TR but is now trying dosing as per the advice of her vet. So I guess it should say "As per vet"?


There is no separate rule for below 30. It's "below 40" or "into the 30s" which is the same thing. :)
And a drop below 40 is almost always a full reduction. ("There are few exceptions given to caregivers who have collected years of data and KNOW their cat's response to the combination of insulin and food backwards, forwards, and inside out.")
Oh gotcha! You're right! Below 40 IS in the 30's... duh... My mind was reading it as drops below 30 for some reason. Thanks Bhooma!
 
Hi Nancy :)
I'm so happy you're reaching out for help here. You're such a good mum to Bailie!
I'm sorry that you're struggling with your vet. ;most vets don't like it that their clients know more than they do. My current vet, who is a rare find I think said something so beautiful. She said that she needs to know about so many conditions that she can't be an expert on just one such as diabetes as I am. In my option it should be a collaborative effort to help Bailie. And you're doing so well in helping Bailie getting to regulation.
I Bailie comes back safely from his trip to the moon and that you find a decision that makes you feel peaceful :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Hi Nancy :)
I'm so happy you're reaching out for help here. You're such a good mum to Bailie!
I'm sorry that you're struggling with your vet. ;most vets don't like it that their clients know more than they do. My current vet, who is a rare find I think said something so beautiful. She said that she needs to know about so many conditions that she can't be an expert on just one such as diabetes as I am. In my option it should be a collaborative effort to help Bailie. And you're doing so well in helping Bailie getting to regulation.
I Bailie comes back safely from his trip to the moon and that you find a decision that makes you feel peaceful :bighug::bighug::bighug:
You are so sweet I really needed to hear this to be perfectly honest , you picked the best time !Thank you so kindly for the support :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
 
You are so sweet I really needed to hear this to be perfectly honest , you picked the best time !Thank you so kindly for the support :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful::joyful:
I'm happy it's what you needed! I wrote to you so many versions and kept on deleting because I wanted to be supportive and you don't always know how things will land. But I really didn't have much of a good experience with vets and those who are invested in controlling their clients and scarying them for no good reason raise my alarms.
This forum is a live and breathing human and cat library. No vet has seen so many diabetic cats as the experienced people in this forum.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
I'm happy it's what you needed! I wrote to you so many versions and kept on deleting because I wanted to be supportive and you don't always know how things will land. But I really didn't have much of a good experience with vets and those who are invested in controlling their clients and scarying them for no good reason raise my alarms.
This forum is a live and breathing human and cat library. No vet has seen so many diabetic cats as the experienced people in this forum.
:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Ah thank you so much you are the best . It’s so nice to connect with real people going through the very same thing as I am :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:My vet fear mongers something horrible . I think I may look for another in due time .
 
Back
Top