15/08 Bailie AMPS 504 +2 419 +4 365 +6 412

Nancyco*

Very Active Member
@Bandit's Mom Hi Bhooma I haven’t posted the last couple of days. I went to see the vet on Friday and she told me that I was going to kill my cat. Because of all the low numbers i was shooting him on and told me to not shoot over 180 she told me if I didn’t listen to her. She can’t work with me anymore. Can you please take a look at his chart and tell me what I should do? Is there anyway if I gave him a token shot when he’s under 10 it would help out with the amps ? he’s high in the Amps and low in amps and great in the first cycle mostly the last few days .
 
Last edited:
Hi Nancy, Baillie's numbers are looking amazing considering that he's getting insulin only once a day for the last 5 days! Looks like 4.5U was a breakthrough dose for him and he flipped some switch towards regulation!

Does your vet want you to continue with 4U even though he dropped to 40 yesterday? Have you changed anything on the food front? Are you feeding only with insulin? Many vets ask people to feed only twice a day.
 
Hi Nancy, Baillie's numbers are looking amazing considering that he's getting insulin only once a day for the last 5 days! Looks like 4.5U was a breakthrough dose for him and he flipped some switch towards regulation!

Does your vet want you to continue with 4U even though he dropped to 40 yesterday? Have you changed anything on the food front? Are you feeding only with insulin? Many vets ask people to feed only twice a day.
Hi Bhooma I most feed with insulin but sometimes he’ll have a snack in between. So in your opinion, do you think he should drop down to 3.75 ? Should I just stay with the four units and follow her directions for another week because she told me to follow these directions for two weeks to see how he gets on? Do you think that’s OK?
 
Should I just stay with the four units and follow her directions for another week because she told me to follow these directions for two weeks to see how he gets on? Do you think that’s OK?
I would suggest you call her today and ask her whether to continue with 4U given his drop to 40 yesterday.

Rather than stress yourself trying to figure out whether to follow the FDMB protocol or your vet's, I suggest you follow your vet's protocol for 2 weeks and see if that works for Baillie.
 
I would suggest you call her today and ask her whether to continue with 4U given his drop to 40 yesterday.

Rather than stress yourself trying to figure out whether to follow the FDMB protocol or your vet's, I suggest you follow your vet's protocol for 2 weeks and see if that works for Baillie.
OK, that’s what I’ll do. Do you mind if I still post here whilst I am following her advice?
 
I would suggest you call her today and ask her whether to continue with 4U given his drop to 40 yesterday.

Rather than stress yourself trying to figure out whether to follow the FDMB protocol or your vet's, I suggest you follow your vet's protocol for 2 weeks and see if that works for Baillie.
But he’s so high this morning he’s 504 I wonder why he’s going so high ? It’s the skipped dose in the pm right ? Should I ask her if I could give a token dose in the pm ?
 
Do you mind if I still post here whilst I am following her advice?
Not at all! :bighug:

But he’s so high this morning he’s 504 I wonder why he’s going so high ? It’s the skipped dose in the pm right ? Should I ask her if I could give a token dose in the pm ?
Yes. The reason you give insulin twice a day to cats is because it doesn't last 24 hours in them due to their faster metabolism. You could ask your vet what to do about the swings that she wanted to avoid! He is dropping low by PMPS and then zooming really high by AMPS.
 
Not at all! :bighug:


Yes. The reason you give insulin twice a day to cats is because it doesn't last 24 hours in them due to their faster metabolism. You could ask your vet what to do about the swings that she wanted to avoid! He is dropping low by PMPS and then zooming really high by AMPS.
Bhooma he’s not going down that much. Do you think this is going to affect his neuropathy?
 
:banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead::banghead:@Bandit's Mom Can u have a look at his numbers today and tell me if you can figure out what’s going on. I don’t understand why he went down a little bit and now he’s going back up again. I’m really worried. And I can’t get in contact with my vet. This is one of the reasons why I wanted to go with you guys cause you’re always there for me and she’s never there when I need her. I don’t want to see him go high like I’m terrified that his neuropathy is going to get back to the way it was before .
 
He's just bouncing from the lime yesterday. His numbers have been pretty good lately, so I wouldn't worry about the neuropathy.

You will drive yourself crazy toggling between the FDMB protocol and your vet's protocol and wondering which way to go. Can you leave a message for your vet and will she get back to you later today/ tomorrow?
 
Since your vet says you need to follow her advice I would do as Bhoona suggested and keep asking her how to handle Bailie’s fd. Two weeks of this and then have her look at the spreadsheet and see if it looks better before or after the two week period. I’m guessing changing vets is not possible.
The neuropathy will likely get worse if the bg remains high and if over renal threshold could long term effect the kidneys. Two weeks won’t do that. I’m sorry your vet is so difficult and feel your pain.
 
Last edited:
He's just bouncing from the lime yesterday. His numbers have been pretty good lately, so I wouldn't worry about the neuropathy.

You will drive yourself crazy toggling between the FDMB protocol and your vet's protocol and wondering which way to go. Can you leave a message for your vet and will she get back to you later today/ tomorrow?
I did I just hope she calls me back do you think I should ask her if I could shoot him if he’s five or over?
 
Since your vet says you need to follow her advice I would do as Bhoona suggested and keep asking her how to handle Bailie’s fd. Two weeks of this and then have her look at the spreadsheet and see if it looks better before or after the two week period. I’m guessing changing vets is not possible.
The neuropathy will like get worse if the bg remains high and if over renal threshold could long term effect the kidneys. Two weeks won’t do that. I’m sorry your vet is so difficult and feel your pain.
Thank you so much . I’m so sorry she won’t let me do what I have been doing she thinks I’m shooting too low and will kill him . I haven’t killed him yet.what would the renal threshold be ? So I will continue with her protocol for another week and see what happens. But if it’s bad, obviously I’m just gonna have to go back to the FDMB, I don’t care.
 
Thank you so much . I’m so sorry she won’t let me do what I have been doing she thinks I’m shooting too low and will kill him . I haven’t killed him yet.what would the renal threshold be ? So I will continue with her protocol for another week and see what happens. But if it’s bad, obviously I’m just gonna have to go back to the FDMB, I don’t care.

Renal threshold varies but I believe it’s around 200-240. You can check the urine with strips to see if there’s sugar.
 
Renal threshold varies but I believe it’s around 200-240. You can check the urine with strips to see if there’s sugar.
Yeah, he’s been in the 20s the whole day which is sort of disappointing. So I reached out to my vet and she told me to take him down to 375 or 3.50 and she told me that I cannot shoot below 10 because I asked her if I could possibly give him a token dose so he wouldn’t be so high in the morning, but she told me that being high is better than being too low. Makes me so mad. I don’t want him skipping doses because it just puts him all off.
 
Back
Top