? 14April2020/Maxi/AMPS172!

Sleep? Yesterday? How about for the last 6 weeks? :blackeye:

oh yah... I see what you mean lol - I just looked back at your SS!

upload_2020-4-14_12-20-30.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-4-14_12-20-30.png
    upload_2020-4-14_12-20-30.png
    139.2 KB · Views: 94
Will you let me know when/if to increase the Lantus?
Let's hold this dose today. From the TR protocol:
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

Maxi is not new to blue, but this is now serious blue. Plus it's day 16 of cabergoline, so a degree of caution is warranted. Another thing to note, when the numbers are low enough you don't need to give R, that's significant.

Just double checking, you have a hypo kit with high carb food/karo/syrup?
 
Let's hold this dose today. From the TR protocol:
if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

Maxi is not new to blue, but this is now serious blue. Plus it's day 16 of cabergoline, so a degree of caution is warranted. Another thing to note, when the numbers are low enough you don't need to give R, that's significant.

Just double checking, you have a hypo kit with high carb food/karo/syrup?

Thank you, Wendy.

Tonight will be Maxi's 10th cycle at 7.5 units of Lantus.
What should I do tomorrow morning and beyond?

Yes, I have high carb food and syrup and syringes to squirt them into his mouth.
 
Let's see what today does first. It's too hard to predict what kitties will do, and they aren't very good at telling us their secret plans.;)


So, does this mean at PMPS you will see what his number is and let me know tonight what to do tomorrow morning?

Thank you
 
No, but I might be able to give you some possible scenarios.

Hmm, ok, without guidance what I will do is increase the Lantus by 0.25 unit.

And now I'm back to a question I've asked twice before in different iterations: Maxi's +9 is 298 -- a number worthy of a dose of R, 0.75 or 1.5, and since he hasn't had any R since yesterday, I'm inclined to give him some; his PM is 3 hours away. I guess I'll give it another cycle before I give up on getting that one answered, and without guidance what I will do if this comes up again is give the lower dose of R.

Thank you
 
The guidance would depend on what he does tonight, too hard to predict that in advance. If you give R at +9, you won't be giving any at PMPS.
 
The guidance would depend on what he does tonight, too hard to predict that in advance. If you give R at +9, you won't be giving any at PMPS.

But you said you wouldn't see what his PMPS is...? So this means no guidance...?

Also, I was hoping for advice on what dose of Lantus to give since Maxi is (over)due for an increase.

You mentioned 'scenarios.' That would be good. Like: If this, then that. Some kind of paradigm to work with would be very helpful.

How often is one allowed to give R?

Thank you
 
Last edited:
But you said you wouldn't see what his PMPS is...?
No, I didn't say that. I will try to post something later once I see how the PM cycle is going.

Learning when not to give R is as important, or even more so than when to give it. I wouldn't give it more than 4 times a day. What really helped me understand when to and not to use R was to do some graphing. I'd draw Neko's typical cycle, showing onset and nadir, and what she often did at those times. Then I'd layer the R cycle on top of it, and try to come up with a curve that showed the cumulative results. It really helps if you have an idea of Maxi's patterns over several cycles and are able to at least slightly predict what it going to happen next.
 
I think you have room for a small increase if you want to try 7.75 units. I am being conservative because of the possible cabergoline effect.
 
Back
Top