NoahFL
Active Member
Stalling for 30, but if he’s under 200 on the AlphaTrak, should I shoot knowing his history? Many times he’s gone near hypo. We’re at .75U.
@Deb & Wink
@Deb & Wink
Your 3 options are:
No matter what you decide to do tonight, I think that Max is ready for an even lower 0.5U dose in the AM on 7/7/20. NOT traditional, or according to the dosing protocol. But taking some of Max's history into consideration, I think another dose reduction is in order.
- Token dose. 10-25% of the 0.75U would be about 0.1U to 0.2U.
- Lower the dose to 0.5.
- Skip the shot.
If Max was your cat, which option would you do?
I would do anything in the world to have the issues you are having....I feel a remission is in your near future, good luck young lady!!
I'm thinking that Max may need another dose reduction. Next step downward in the dose is 0.25U. Let's see how Max does tonight.
My reasoning is that even the 0.5U dose dropped Max into the very low, barely over 100 blue ranges last night. That's kind of low for an Alphatrak meter.
My second reason is that with a steroid induced diabetes situation, like Max, sometimes the doses need more frequent reductions.
If Max falls into the greens tonight, or very close to that 100, like he did last night, then even the 0.5U dose may be a bit too much for him. It's why I suggested you wait and see how Max does tonight with the 0.5U dose. On the other hand, the 0.5U dose may be ok for a few more cycles. Not "counting our chickens before they hatch" with that wait and see approach.
Max can drop from the low yellows and mid-range blues down very quickly to the low greens.
Third, you are propping up Max's low BG levels quite often with more food. Max has some real momentum going, on trying to "kick the juice" or get off the insulin. If he wasn't dropping so low so early in the cycle, you wouldn't need to prop up those BG levels by feeding him at +1 and +2. And he's been in this same pattern, for day after day, cycle after cycle, with only that 3 cycle bounce 7/4/20 PM through 7/5/20 PM and then he cleared that bounce the next morning, 7/6/20.
So Max is clearing bounces fast, and then dropping down pretty low on the next PM cycle, even though you have propped up the BG levels in the AM cycle by feeding at +1 and +2.
So that is some of my reasoning. For Max.
I'm sorry.. whats LC?BG +2 is 105. Gave 1 tsp of LC. Will check again at +4.
Good luck!! This is exciting!158 at AMPS. Went with the .25U per Deb’s advice. Feeling hopeful today.![]()
I'm sorry.. whats LC?
Ah! I knew that, LOL When she said "tsp of LC" I thought it was some type of.. IDK something else. Thank you!LC is low carb food, generally the rule of thumb for LC food is under 10% carb or lower......