14.11 Missy Dosing advice, 49mg/dl +6

Vanlora Light

Member Since 2021
Hi!

I've been taking alot of glucose tests for the past 2 days now, and he is having small numbers all of a sudden.

I have only taken glucose tests 2 times per day for some weeks/months because life got very difficult with my dog who is also facing a serious health issue(many vet visits and all my energy and time went on him), he had to be my priority. Also because my cat seemed good and stable enough to focus on dog only until he got better enough where I can multitask and do both.

Now my dog is stable and I got curious about my cat again to see how he is doing in the middle of the day.

Few days ago I just started to give him NAC supplement twice a day,not sure if this is why because I read nac can help with insulin resistance.

Now I just got a 49mg/dl +6 reading,in the past when he went low like that and I was advised to lower his insulin dose,it never worked out because his glucose went high again and he couldn't stay on the smaller dose.

I'm just seeking advice what to do now again, he is in alot of greens and wondering if he could be headed towards remission?
 
First of all with SLGS a reduction is earned every time the BG us under 90. Start tonight.
I can’t access your spreadsheet. Permission is needed. I want to see it so I know whether a larger than .25 reduction is needed going forward.
 
First of all with SLGS a reduction is earned every time the BG us under 90. Start tonight.
I can’t access your spreadsheet. Permission is needed. I want to see it so I know whether a larger than .25 reduction is needed going forward.
I hope now you can see it:) I'm so afraid it's going to happen again where I reduce the dose and he goes up again, also I'm using human meter.
 
I can see it now. Reduce tonight to .25. Do a curve in 7 days but try and get a second test when you can each cycle. The .50 dose will likely effect the next 4-6 cycles but can clear quickly if he has a big depot. Do get extra tests. Vary the times and again when possible.
I hope your dog is doing well. :bighug:
Please add the date and her name to the subject.
 
I can see it now. Reduce tonight to .25. Do a curve in 7 days but try and get a second test when you can each cycle. The .50 dose will likely effect the next 4-6 cycles but can clear quickly if he has a big depot. Do get extra tests. Vary the times and again when possible.
I hope your dog is doing well. :bighug:
Please add the date and her name to the subject.
Thank you, I'll do the 0.25 tonight then:) I hope he will stay on that dose.

Both of my pets are seniors, when one is doing well the other one isn't, constant stress. Right now everything seems stable and I hope it stays that way haha.
 
I can see it now. Reduce tonight to .25. Do a curve in 7 days but try and get a second test when you can each cycle. The .50 dose will likely effect the next 4-6 cycles but can clear quickly if he has a big depot. Do get extra tests. Vary the times and again when possible.
I hope your dog is doing well. :bighug:
Please add the date and her name to the subject.

Now +8 he is 76mg/dl(he ate 2 hours ago right after low reading).
 
I can see it now. Reduce tonight to .25. Do a curve in 7 days but try and get a second test when you can each cycle. The .50 dose will likely effect the next 4-6 cycles but can clear quickly if he has a big depot. Do get extra tests. Vary the times and again when possible.
I hope your dog is doing well. :bighug:
Please add the date and her name to the subject.
I have one more question, I was wondering if 50-120 is considered normal glucose range why does 49 mean I have to reduce when it's almost 50(normal?) I want to understand it better:)
 
I have one more question, I was wondering if 50-120 is considered normal glucose range why does 49 mean I have to reduce when it's almost 50(normal?) I want to understand it better:)
Any BG under 50 is a reduction. If you are doing SLGS the reduction point is 90…if you are doing TR (tight regulation…which is a more aggressive dosing method) the reduction point is 50.
You are correct, the normal range for a cat is 50-120 but there has to be a cut off point and that cut off point is 50.
 
Back
Top