13th August - OTJ Day 12 - Karre AMBG 5.9/106

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good morning, LL!

After Karre's 11th OTJ Day (Including Funny Signage Pics) yesterday, we took some extra time to re-read all the great feedback we got regarding Karre's feeding routine. All our cats free-feed, as you know, and always have.

Karre's individual free-feeding rhythm runs roughly in 4-hourly intervals. He'll come in, have a few moutfuls of FF, sit outside for a couple of minutes, come back in and have another few mouthfuls. Then he goes back to napping, mostly, or patrolling his territory :cool: He'll eat about one third to one half of a can each time he comes in to eat. In 1 day, he'll typically eat between 1.5 and 2 cans of FF. His weight has been stable.

What with it being winter down here, and with Karre being 16 years old and just slower and less active throughout the day, we've noticed that in the past couple of months, he's been a little lax about coming in to eat as he normally regularly does. He sleeps curled up under a blanket on Jack's desk, and he seems a bit reluctant to leave his warm comfry cave to come over here and have his meals. I suspect that his eating a little less, and with the intervals between meals being greater than normal (up to 6 hours), has been affecting his BG in a not-so-great way. And then, as some of you pointed out - THANK YOU! - feeding him every couple of hours added to the overall apparent picture of BGs creeping up. Also, as we were reminded by you guys, when testing as much as we have been over the past couple of days, one can again end up with an impression that may not be as useful (or accurate) as it would be to stick to the OTJ guidelines:

TEST AMBG. If GREEN, wait until PMBG to test.
If BLUE (or other), FEED and retest 3-4 hours later.
If then GREEN, wait until PMBG to test.
If then BLUE (or other), repeat feed/retest routine.
HOLD THIS for 14 days. If BG almost always stays sub-120 for 14 days:
PARTY!


Did I get that about right?


As of today, I am going to watch and see if he comes in every 3-4 hours. If he doesn't, I'll go and feed him at the 4-hour marks. Hopefully, that will help keep him a little more firmly grounded in the green again. Thank all of you for your input! Here's the overview:

12th August
AMBG 5.7/103 --- Ate 1 TSP of FF
(+2) 5.2/94 --- Fed ca. 4 TSP of FF
(+4) 5.2/94 --- Fed ca. 4 TSP of FF
(+6) 5.6/100.8 --- I'm *so* counting that as green :mrgreen: Karre ate ca. 2 TSP of FF on his own at (+6).
(+8) 6.0/108
(+10) 6.9/124 --- No food given.
PMBG 6.1/110
13th August
AMBG 5.9/106 --- As per OTJ-protocol, fed and re-tested 3 to 4 hours later due to blue AMBG.
(+3) 5.4/97 --- :mrgreen: No food given. Will wait to see if he comes to eat within an hour; if not, will feed at (+4).

If any of you have other thoughts on this, please go ahead and share them. We love being able to consider different perspectives. Hopefully, the "monitored free-feeding/meal-feeding" routine will get us safely (and mostly greenly) through these last couple of trial days, so that we can then all celebrate together!

Happy Monday!
Jane
 
Good luck with the new strategy Jane. No thoughts on what will work, but I think part of the OTJ trial is to help the bean learn to ease off on the testing too! :-D
 
Wendy&Neko said:
Good luck with the new strategy Jane. No thoughts on what will work, but I think part of the OTJ trial is to help the bean learn to ease off on the testing too! :-D

Ain't that the truth, Wendy! I'm surprised I haven't earned a wet noodle yet! :mrgreen: Thanks for visiting!
Jane
 
Thanks Carla! Here's how it's going so far:

13th August
AMBG 5.9/106 --- As per OTJ-protocol, fed and re-tested 3 to 4 hours later due to blue AMBG.
(+3) 5.4/97 --- No food given. Will wait to see if he comes to eat within an hour; if not, will feed at (+4).
(+4) No test. Fed 0.5 can FF (1.5oz / ca. 40g). Next feeding at (+8).

Jane
 
Hi guys,
:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Good plan. Let's see how it goes! When you see green, stop testing for a while!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Jane, good luck with your food plan! Karre's looking great though, and I had to laugh at what Wendy said about the testing. :-D Have a wonderful day. Have a wonderful day. :-D

Congratulations on OTJ Day 12!!
 
Hi Jane,
KArre is still looking good!
Interesting on the entire feeding thing!
I hope this new strategy works for Karre!
Happy Day 12! :mrgreen:
 
Yes, there can be too much testing! Catching every bump stresses you and I imagine the frequent tests may stress Karre too, although many cats seem to be fine with it. Still looking good!
 
J & J--As you have been around for a long time, we all used to free feed here when you first came...Then more recently the timed feedings became protocol, and seems to work also..No wet noodles here, they dont even know what that is :lol: :lol: :lol: (Jojo & her wet noodles!) :lol:
But you two get GOLD STARS for your loving work on your sweet boy--Moonie is also 16, sleeps a lot, eats when she feels like it, actng more like Karre does.. Since I started the Adequan for her arthritis, I see her a little more peppy, so that's good...You are doing a Fantastic job with him..Cats sleep like 20 hrs a day, so he's pretty normal for his age.. All I can say is
CONGRATS ON DAY 12 DAY 12 DAY 12!!!!!!1 flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat flip_cat YOU ARE DOING FABULOUSLY!!
HUGS & LOVE FROM US!!!!
 
Jane, Karre looks great, OTJ agrees with him! :mrgreen: Your feeding plan is interesting, sounds like it builds on his natural food rhythms. We are free feeding too that made it a bit harder to know if we are seeing typical trends, food spikes etc, so another reason to test a lot ;-) A treat with every test might also affect appetite. I have not studied OTJ guidelines yet, glad to hear it helps condition the bean to ease off testing!
 
Hi guys, sounds like you have a good plan to go by .. and it looks like karre is enjoying it as well by showing off some greens! Have a great day!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top