13-Feb: Tyler &M : AMPS=302: PMPS=367

Status
Not open for further replies.

PussCatPrince - GA

Member Since 2017
Tales of Tyler the Tabby Terrificizimo - Yesterday

Today was the vet visit follow up. Didn't go quite how I thought and only one block of 20mins was booked in so we ran out of time.

There was a lot of discussion about the current issue over very loose stools alongside Ty's other issues of Diabetes;CKD; the pancreatitis; possible liver issues.

What didn't happen was a blood test to see if pancreatitis was still an issue & I have now finished the temgesic doses for this.
What did happen was a B12 shot although it seems Tyler has not been tested for B12 deficiency.
What didn't happen was a further discussion on pain relief for Tyler.
What did happen was a time and date for Tyler to go into the clinic for needle biopsies under sedation .
What didn't happen was my being able to raise the diabetes 'protocol', renal threshold etc.
What did happen was a small stool test direct from the anus which ruled out possible parasites.

I took in a bit of a spreadsheet with the BG numbers I have taken since he was discharged from hospital. On that I noted about the protocol and diet thoughts.
The vet prefers numbers to be around 288 pre-shot. He calls that not too high. Not too low.

There was mention of steroids - prednisone - and he would have possibly suggested that straight off but for the diabetes.I think I have remembered that correctly.

Tyler seems to have had a bit of a squinty eye since coming back from the hospital. We ran out of time for this so he will check it on Friday. He asked about cat flu/herpes. Tyler has never had this to my knowledge, nor ever had a squinty eye until the last few days however I have asked my pal whose cat gave birth to Ty if she knew anything about such a thing.

I love my Ty's eyes. I want the squinty to go. Mind you I want the squitty to go too. I have a lot of wants right now. :rolleyes:

I have placed an old sheet under the bed and an old towel from the shower room door to the bedroom. That should make any flooring clean up easier. I can just bung that into the w/m. Tyler's tail on the other hand is another matter. Very hard to get completely clean and is now bald of fur in one area.

Anyway. I will edit if I remember something more or differently.

@HWright . Thank you for your post yesterday. I will certainly follow this up. Nothing to lose is there really at the moment.

Tyler in himself is as fine as a cat in his situation can be. He is eating, sleeping, having little walks , trying to clean the bits he can reach, purrs and................eerrrmmmssss ................... poops.
 
Last edited:
Tales of Tyler the Tabby Terrificizimo - Yesterday

Today was the vet visit follow up. Didn't go quite how I thought and only one block of 20mins was booked in so we ran out of time.

There was a lot of discussion about the current issue over very loose stools alongside Ty's other issues of Diabetes;CKD; the pancreatitis; possible liver issues.

What didn't happen was a blood test to see if pancreatitis was still an issue & I have now finished the temgesic doses for this.
What did happen was a B12 shot although it seems Tyler has not been tested for B12 deficiency.
What didn't happen was a further discussion on pain relief for Tyler.
What did happen was a time and date for Tyler to go into the clinic for needle biopsies under sedation .
What didn't happen was my being able to raise the diabetes 'protocol', renal threshold etc.
What did happen was a small stool test direct from the anus which ruled out possible parasites.

I took in a bit of a spreadsheet with the BG numbers I have taken since he was discharged from hospital. On that I noted about the protocol and diet thoughts.
The vet prefers numbers to be around 288 pre-shot. He calls that not too high. Not too low.

There was mention of steroids - prednisone - and he would have possibly suggested that straight off but for the diabetes.I think I have remembered that correctly.

Tyler seems to have had a bit of a squinty eye since coming back from the hospital. We ran out of time for this so he will check it on Friday. He asked about cat flu/herpes. Tyler has never had this to my knowledge, nor ever had a squinty eye until the last few days however I have asked my pal whose cat gave birth to Ty if she knew anything about such a thing.

I love my Ty's eyes. I want the squinty to go. Mind you I want the squitty to go to. I have a lot of wants right now. :rolleyes:

I have placed an old sheet under the bed and an old towel from the shower room door to the bedroom. That should make any flooring clean up easier. I can just bung that into the w/m. Tyler's tail on the other hand is another matter. Very hard to get completely clean and is now bald of fur in one area.

Anyway. I will edit if I remember something more or differently.

@HWright . Thank you for your post yesterday. I will certainly follow this up. Nothing to lose is there really at the moment.

Tyler in himself is as fine as a cat in his situation can be. He is eating, sleeping, having little walks , trying to clean the bits he can reach, purrs and................eerrrmmmssss ................... poops.
Dumb question as I’m sure you’ve tried it but what do you use to clean his butt? When Silver has the squitts for a month I used pet wipes. They really did work which surprised me. I had puppy pads EVERYWHERE which worked until he tried to bury the poop and turn the pad over. Squishing poop into my hardwood floor. I hear your pain. I literally used to sit down and cry as both cats had it at same time.
 
Last edited:
oops . To add:
When the vet suggested the start dose of 1 unit after Ty came out of hospital. He meant 1 unit per day. Not sure if 1/2 and 1/2 but he did mean 1 unit.
I went and started 1 unit twice a day, as per the habit to test feed and shoot twice a day. So Tyler ended up with double the amount but the numbers still did it for the vet - who is a lovely chap. :smuggrin:

Edit....
Having looked through the invoice I cannot see where he was given his blood pressure meds whilst in hospital.

I can see he was given both Baytril & Noroclav injections during the days he was in there.
Might that have a bearing on his poop.

Hoping none of the above is a reason for the onset of the closing eye thing
 
Last edited:
Dumb question as I’m sure you’ve tried it but what do you use to clean his butt? When Silver has the squitts for a month I used pet wipes. They really did work which surprised me. I had puppy pads EVERYWHERE which worked until he tried to bury the poop and turn the pad over. Squishing poop into my hardwood floor. I hear your pain. I literally used to sit down and cry as both cats had it at same time.

I have some flannels which I boil afterward and a cat clean spray.
I pick a moment he is sort of relaxed and then spray around and under the tail with water and a little of the cleaning spray. I then dab with the flannels or wrap and hold.
He doesn't like any sort of wiping , rubbing motion. Not surprised after all this time.

I have to go out tomoz for an old war wounds check up. I can visit some pet supply places and try for pet wipes. :) Would maybe be a whole lot kinder. Thank you.
I'll try and remember to look for puppy pads. I just googled and they look great. I was thinking when I saw the words they were like babies nappies. :rolleyes:
Not that I managed to complete any babies. Rather failed in that department what with one thing and another and so ended up with ducks and cats.
 
I hope you can figure this all out for Ty. Poor kitty.

If you ever need to start steroids, do prednisolone, not prednisone. In a cat's body, they have to convert prednisone to prednisolone before it can be utilized. It's better to skip the middleman and go straight to prednisolone.

With the diarrhea, how is Ty's weight? Is he holding steady or is he losing weight?
 
Your vet visit sounded much too short, I hope you are able to have another consult, in person or by phone, so you can address all of your concerns.

We use cat wipes too, they have regular ones, which are usually scented, and specific bum wipes. I don't know if you have such options, but if the skin is raw and irritated, I would skip anything that is scented because it might burn and make things worse.

Toki got runny eyes and sneezing after a vet visit once, lucky for me it cleared up in about a week. Hope the same for Ty. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Tales of Tyler the Tabby Terrificizimo - Yesterday

Tyler in himself is as fine as a cat in his situation can be. He is eating, sleeping, having little walks , trying to clean the bits he can reach, purrs and................eerrrmmmssss ................... poops.
Terrificizimo! Yay for an inspirational kitty! And that's where the joy is and Ty letting you know that he knows you're doing everything you can. :bighug::joyful::bighug:
 
The vet may have said prednisolone. Can't quite remember now and didn't scribble it down so may have got that a bit wrong.
Tyler is holding his weight at the 5kg giver or take a bit . He goes from 4.9kg/5.3kg.

I won't be getting a vet to talk with me over the phone unless at the very end of a day. Even then more likely a vet nurse will note the question and then speak with a vet as and when , then phone me back at the end of a day.
I think the vet nurse/tech booked the one block rather than the two. Anyway, I shall be seeing this vet on Friday. His rotation means he is off public consults until Thursday afternoon now. Likely he will be out in the field somewhere. Farm or conservation. He won't be in the practice , even for surgeries.

I can think of just one place for pet wipes . I cannot do scented anything . Makes me heave , so hopefully they have something and it is plain. No smell.
 
Hoping none of the above is a reason for the onset of the closing eye thing

Cats have fragile eyes (more than humans). Quintus got a herpes virus or something at some point, and he periodically gets squinty eye. Often it just goes away after a day or so, but he does tend to scratch it and get ulcers. Cats get corneal ulcers much easier than humans. So, squinty eye should mean fluoresceine test (either a drop or a thin strip of paper that has it on the end) to check if there is ulceration or not. As in humans, a few drops of eye-compatible saline can help clear things if it's due to dust or something. Even if it's viral/bacterial, washing the eye with neutral drops will physically remove some of the nasties. Obviously if it's bacterial you'll end up with antibiotic drops. Anti-inflammatories can help, but there is only one kind that can be used if there is an ulcer. Here we have a super expensive but magical thing called clerapliq for reconstructing the layer that has a hole in it when there is an ulcer. The cheaper version is vit A. cream or a thing called oculotect.

My apologies if you were already up-to-date with the feline eye briefing! Hope it's nothing major and it can be dealt with easily.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top