13.01. Simba PMPS 106 +1 117 +2 79 +2.5 67 +3 65 +3.5 85 +4.5 92 +5.75 94

Can you monitor? Have enough strips and HC/MC food?
If yes, shoot the full dose. Hold the 3U dose for now. Let's see what he does today.
 
Can your mom test, if needed, in that window?

They somehow know we have plans and pick those days to go low.
 
Can your mom test if needed in that window?

They somehow know we have plans and pick those days to go low.
I’ve just asked her and she’s said yes! I will leave the 10%+ food out with the hypo note and everything just in case. I held a “hypo briefing” for my parents yesterday. Hopefully they won’t have to put their skills to the test today though!
 
Last edited:
We are running 15 minutes behind on the usual shooting schedule, will it be possible to move it back to "normal" in the evening or are we stuck with an odd time?
 
Okay! I panicked and gave him 2tsp of 18%. He has a bottomless stomach :D
Better to be safe. And his stomach sounds like mine! :smuggrin:

We are running 15 minutes behind on the usual shooting schedule, will it be possible to move it back to "normal" in the evening or are we stuck with an odd time?

You can shoot up to 30 mins here and there per day. So you can shoot at your normal time in the evening.
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/getting-back-on-a-12-12-shot-schedule.101059/
 
You can shoot up to 30 mins here and there per day. So you can shoot at your normal time in the evening.

Okay, perfect! We've been on a very strict schedule, I'll relax it a bit. We went a bit wonky last night with my syringe experimenting too. I guess that only really affects the testing times during the day, if we've started off late. 35mins to go until +1!
 
Okay, perfect! We've been on a very strict schedule, I'll relax it a bit. We went a bit wonky last night with my syringe experimenting too. I guess that only really affects the testing times during the day, if we've started off late. 35mins to go until +1!

So you used syringes to shoot last night and this AM? There is bound to be some difference in the dose between a pen and a syringe. Just note that you started using a syringe in your SS comments.
 
So you used syringes to shoot last night and this AM? There is bound to be some difference in the dose between a pen and a syringe. Just note that you started using a syringe in your SS comments.
Yes, I did. I already like the syringe better. It's nicer not to have to hold Simba still for 10 seconds after shooting and I'm not left doubting whether the full dose got administered with little drops of insulin forming at the tip of the pen.
 
+1 196. Maybe I overdid the HC food? I can check his +2 and +3 and go from there. Mum will have to check +4 and +5 for me. ;)
 
Looks like he could be bouncing. If he is still higher at +2 or +3, he is definitely bouncing. Feed LC from here on.
Okay! I'm thinking if he's still bouncing at +3, I leave it to his nan to test at +4 and feed LC. Simba is sleeping with all four paws up in the air and a toy mouse as his pillow :D
 
+3 135. Should I give him some more LC? Mum will check his BG in an hour and message me, awaiting instructions on what to do.
 
Sorry I didn't see your post in time. An hour from now is fine. He's just about dipping his toes in normal numbers. You need to test every half hour only when he's closer to 50.
Okay! That's good to know. He's still got a while to go until 50. Do you think I should raise him to 3.25 units starting tonight after all?
 
He got a little mix of both :) I'll check back in an hour. He has almost 4,5 hours to go until his PM shot, so I can give another MC snack 2 hours prior if required.
 
Does manipulating the curve work both ways? Say, if he goes on another bouncy adventure... could I give him my lowest carb food on those days? I've got some 1.6%-1.9% in the pantry too, his usual LC is around 7%.
 
I remeber you commenting on my thread a few days agod that you haven't seen the greens....look at you both now! :) Well done simba!
I know that ECID, but I am surprised vets in Europe are so reluctant to give Lantus....
Jinxed myself! Same goes for thinking I'd have a peaceful night last night :D Simba is definitely reading what I write here... so listen up, Sim! We are headed for REMISSION! Now that's out in the universe. :cat:

I joined a local FD facebook group with around 100 members and Protaphane seems to be the choice of insulin quite often. It was a bit shocking to read some of it actually, how nonchalant people were about "my cat got 4 hypos but she's fine, I don't test her BG" :nailbiting: I am armed for a hypo when Simba dips into 100's already!
 
Last edited:
Does manipulating the curve work both ways? Say, if he goes on another bouncy adventure... could I give him my lowest carb food on those days? I've got some 1.6%-1.9% in the pantry too, his usual LC is around 7%.

I don't think so. I have found that when Bandit is bouncing and is in yellows and pinks, it doesn't matter whether I feed her 1% carbs or 5% carbs.
 
+8 92. In 1,5 hours it's the cutoff point for food prior to measuring his PMPS BG. Should I give some LC? Or MC now? Or wait an hour/1.5hours? So many questions! I want to make sure I can shoot the normal dose in the evening.
 
+8 92. In 1,5 hours it's the cutoff point for food prior to measuring his PMPS BG. Should I give some LC? Or MC now? Or wait an hour/1.5hours? So many questions! I want to make sure I can shoot the normal dose in the evening.

His normal LC should be fine. What a lovely cycle today. I would hold the dose for now. Won't be surprised if he earns a reduction soon!
 
Should I give him LC now or a bit later? You have no idea how happy that's made me :bighug:

Will you be testing him again at +9.5 or so? That would give you a good idea of whether he has begun his bounce (in which case food is not needed) and if he still flat or lower, then feed him some LC.
 
Back
Top