? 120 BG before feeding

Status
Not open for further replies.

WhitneyG

Member
I just tested Stewie and his BG was 120 before eating. 12 hours earlier before eating his BG was 313. What should I do? I know after he eats it will go up but should I give him insulin yet or retest in 30-40 minutes?
 
I just tested Stewie and his BG was 120 before eating. 12 hours earlier before eating his BG was 313. What should I do? I know after he eats it will go up but should I give him insulin yet or retest in 30-40 minutes?
What did you decide to do? From the ProZinc user's guide:

When in doubt, ask the Forum or your vet for advice BEFORE dosing your cat.
  • The proper sequence for dosing insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle. NOTE: Because pet-specific meters (such as theAlphaTrak2) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using an AlphaTrak2 or other pet-specific meter.
 
Hi Whitney and Stewie! If you could get a spreadsheet set up so we can see your data, it would really help! Giving dosing advice requires seeing more than just one or two numbers as we look for patterns to be able to tell if a cat needs more or less insulin.

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/fdmb-spreadsheet-instructions.130337/

That's the link to get the spreadsheet going. If you run into any trouble with it, just ask and we can get someone to help you!
 
Sorry we weren't here this morning, Whitney! I'm usually around pretty early during the weekday...but not on the weekends. I'll be here early tomorrow morning if you need anything!
 
What did you decide to do? From the ProZinc user's guide:

When in doubt, ask the Forum or your vet for advice BEFORE dosing your cat.
  • The proper sequence for dosing insulin is: Test/Feed/Shoot. In the beginning, if your cat’s BG is not up to at least 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, if your schedule allows, you can stall (without feeding) for 20+minutes, then retest the BG. You are looking for a number that is rising, not falling and up to 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}. If you stall once, but can’t do another round of stalling and your cat hasn’t reached a BG of 200 mg/dL {11 mmol/L}, you’ll need to skip the dose and wait until the next cycle. NOTE: Because pet-specific meters (such as theAlphaTrak2) often read higher than human meters, you may want to adjust the NO-SHOOT number to 225 mg/dL {12.5 mmol/L} or even 250 mg/dL {14 mmol/L} This gives you an added margin of safety when using an AlphaTrak2 or other pet-specific meter.
@Kris & Teasel - I'm going to hijack this post a little. I just got a 102 at 11+ and give Keaton some freeze dried chicken treats (get a poke, get a treat). I assume if I check again in a hour or so, that won't be affected by the food he just ate?
 
@Kris & Teasel - I'm going to hijack this post a little. I just got a 102 at 11+ and give Keaton some freeze dried chicken treats (get a poke, get a treat). I assume if I check again in a hour or so, that won't be affected by the food he just ate?
Those treats are very low carb so probably won't affect BG much.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top