12/9 SUMO PMPS 177

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Good morning, so since is something new here! I was shocked to see Sumo's bg so low. I am not clear on how to dose??? I waited 5 min and recheck is 67 Any suggestions. Sumo has only been in under 100 maybe 4 times !!! I know I am learning to "shoot low" but this is a little scary as we are still fairly new to Lantus (day 28)
Current dose 3units BID

Thanks, Mary
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

Hi Mary, I'm not a dosing expert but I think the first thing someone will ask is can you stall? You will need to shoot 12 hours after this shot. You can wait and test every 20 minutes and see when he starts to go up. Don't feed! You don't want food to influence the reading.
Liz
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

And don't forget to breathe! It's a little heart-stopping, especially the first few times. :smile:
Liz
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

20 min recheck number is 84. Should I continue to stall for possible meter variance??
Thanks Mary
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

yes, recheck in another 20-30 minutes. don't worry too much about the meter variance - you'll make yourself crazy. just wait til you see a number that is shootable - i don't have time to look at your spreadsheet to see what you've shot before. in general, we say over 150 for a kitty that's newly diagnosed.

are you able to monitor sumo in the next few hours? home, have enough strips, have high carb food?

eta: you can also skip if you can't handle changing your schedule to 12 hours later for the shot tonight.
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

A couple of questions...

  • Have you fed? if not, don't.
  • Can your schedule accommodate your stalling Sumo's shot? If you delay now, your PM shot will be 12 hours from now.
  • Are you going to be home for a while in order to monitor?
  • Do you have strips and HC if needed?
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

I have to leave for an appt in 2 1/2 hrs, but just for about 40 min. Lot of strips etc. Just concerned about giving full 3 units. A few more minutes and I will update bg reading.
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

OK 20 min recheck bg 94 He sure is taking his sweet a** time coming up. I am not mad at him, just thinking about dosing and the effects of this evenings dose. I will make it work. Any thoughts on what number is OK for me to shoot? I can recheck in 15min.
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

Be careful what you ask for. :smile: I've seen Zener zoom up 100 points in 15 mins. You're doing a great job.
Liz
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

This is actually a decent rise over a small amount of time. How about getting another check and if Sumo is over 100, go ahead and shoot. I would definitely get a +1 and a +2. If his +2 is lower than his pre-shot and you need to run out for a bit, leave HC food out and make sure Sumo eats some HC before you leave.

I may not be around before you have to go out. If you have questions or need more help, please post. Also, remember to take the "help needed" out of your subject line if you're comfortable with shooting (or wait until the next test).
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

I will be on for a bit--Sienne has given you good advice... Just monitor as you can--
You have had some good blue numbers and that is great. As Sienne said, leave out some hc just in case
Keeping our babies safe is important Watching for your next number
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

Hi 25 minute recheck was 94 right ear 90 on left ear. So numbers are remaining low and flat. Is the plan to continue to check every 20 min and once over 100 to shoot?
thanks, Mary
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMBG 63 **need help please

20 Minute recheck 111, Dosing 3unit will get +1 and +2 and follow previous advice. THANK YOU EVERYONE !!
Mary
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111

Time to SHOOOOOT!!!! Great job today, just monitor at +1,+2 I usually do a +3 as that's when the insulin really takes effect--Then you can do hourly if he drops some, If he goes low just post it in you subject line...--GREAT JOB !!!
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111

nice shooting! Do you have your +1 and +2 yet? And just to help me get caught up, how long did you end up stalling this morning (how late was his shot?).
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111

New update, I ended up stalling for 2 hrs before dosing Sumo. I finally dosed when he got over the 100 mark. I shot when he was 111 +1 161 so I felt OK going to my appt. Rechecked at +2.30 min when I returned and BG 95 now his +3 is 82. I will continue to watch.
Thanks Mary
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82

Very nice!!

You can give Sumo a small amount (e.g,. a teaspoon) of LC to keep him surfing the day away.
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82

+ 4 was 58, a little scared I brought out the gravy lovers food and gave 2 or 3 teaspoons. Recheck in ?? minutes.
thanks, Mary
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82 +4 58

Just tested! +5 is 63 This is after I gave him a few tsp of HC food one hour ago.
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82 +4 58 +5 63

I hope someone with more experience comes along, but this is a safe number as long as you can keep him there.
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82 +4 58 +5 63 +6

These are absolutely gorgeous numbers!!

FWIW, I would have given some LC at +4 and re-tested in 30 min. (The 58 and the 63 are pretty much the same number.)
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82 +4 58 +5 63 +6

great job handling the day, mary! this is an awesome set of numbers for sumo!
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82 +4 58 +5 63 +6

MARY!! SUMO!! You did great today!!! Whooo Hooo!! cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 +1 161 +2.5 95 +3 82 +4 58 +5 63 +6

Hello everyone, and thanks for keeping an eye on Sumo today. +9 was 128 and soon I will be getting his PMBG. He was 380 last night when I dosed his normal 3units. AMBG this morning was 63 "HOLY COW" !!! I would love nothing more than to see his numbers remain low, but I know better ;-) Anyway, as far as tonights dosing goes, if he remains above 100 would you recommend dosing his normal 3units ? ( I know with time, and low numbers, this 100 thing should be a non issue) and 2nd question, can I dose him 15 minutes earlier than I did this AM.? I recall reading that I can start doing this to get him back on track with his regular dosing time. Thanks

Recap at 20 min intervals
AMBG 63, 67, 84, 94, 94, 90
AMPS 111
+1 161
+ 2 95
+3 82
+4 58
+5 63
+6 96
+9 128
 
Re: 12/9 SUMO AMPS 111 PM dosing question, non urgent

I think you can safely shoot if Sumo's numbers are above 100.

You can move shot time by 15 min. twice a day or 30 min. once a day. If Sumo's numbers are staying in a good place, I'd opt for the 15 min.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top