12/9 Snickers AMPS NS, +5 79, +6.5 71, +9 89, +10.5 98, PMPS 104, +2 80, +4 87

Snickers and Chrissy

Member Since 2019
Hi, I don't usually post here, more like lurk. I posted in the main forum earlier today but can't delete it (I think only moderators can do that?). Here is the link:
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/question-about-depot-and-snickers-bg.284413/

Basically, we went away for the night so skipped Snickers PMPS yesterday and her AMPS this morning. Came home expecting it to be high and it's been in the normal range all day.

She normally gets one unit of Lantus. Her usual evening shot time is about one hour away. I'm not sure what to do because I'm not sure why her numbers are normal. Do I give her the normal dose? Do I skip? I'm leaning towards a reduced dose. Going from one unit to remission seems unlikely, but shouldn't the depot have drained by now? Or am I misunderstanding how the depot works?

I need some advice from someone who knows more than me (which is probably everyone here) :)
 
Last edited:
No need to delete your post on main. It’s good you supplied the link though. Looking at your spreadsheet and seeing all green and nadirs under 80 except for a few preshors, Snickers has earned a reduction to .75. Do you know why she fell out of remission?
Can you monitor tonight and so you have supplies? If so you can shoot if over 50 . Tge depot will be in play but she has t gone under 50 so I think you will be fine.
When was she diagnosed the first time? That would be her diagnosis date.
 
No need to delete your post on main. It’s good you supplied the link though. Looking at your spreadsheet and seeing all green and nadirs under 80 except for a few preshors, Snickers has earned a reduction to .75. Do you know why she fell out of remission?
Can you monitor tonight and so you have supplies? If so you can shoot if over 50 . Tge depot will be in play but she has t gone under 50 so I think you will be fine.
When was she diagnosed the first time? That would be her diagnosis date.
Hi, thanks for the reply. We're not positive why she fell out of remission but, I have a theory. I think it had to do with a combination of weight gain plus spinal arthritis that she was diagnosed with at roughly the same time that she fell out.

There were a few weeks where she seemed depressed and stopped jumping on anything. Took her to the vet and diagnosed the spinal arthritis. She has started on Solensia for it and is feeling much better and much happier. More like herself. I think the physical and emotional discomfort from the arthritis got to her. But that's just my theory :)

She was first diagnosed about 4 years ago and spent 3.5 years in remission . I'll find the exact date and update my spreadsheet. Thanks!
 
No need to delete your post on main. It’s good you supplied the link though. Looking at your spreadsheet and seeing all green and nadirs under 80 except for a few preshors, Snickers has earned a reduction to .75. Do you know why she fell out of remission?
Can you monitor tonight and so you have supplies? If so you can shoot if over 50 . Tge depot will be in play but she has t gone under 50 so I think you will be fine.
When was she diagnosed the first time? That would be her diagnosis date.
Forgot to say that yes, I have my hypo box and can monitor. :)
 
Thanks for the info. So she’s a long term diabetic that came out of remission. You might want to change your signature to give show original do date and out of remission as 10/15/23. She earns a reduction by being green fur 7 days or if the bg falls under 40. Pain sure could have raised the bg as can weight. I’d try a reduction. I’m hoping she’s going to go into remission again very soon.
 
Thanks for the info. So she’s a long term diabetic that came out of remission. You might want to change your signature to give show original do date and out of remission as 10/15/23. She earns a reduction by being green fur 7 days or if the bg falls under 40. Pain sure could have raised the bg as can weight. I’d try a reduction. I’m hoping she’s going to go into remission again very soon.
Okay thanks. We're going to check BG again in 15 minutes for her PMPS then do the .75. I'll start posting here more regularly. I have read the TR regulations so many times but I guess I still get confused on when to reduce if her numbers are mostly green except with a few blues. I will update my signature as you suggested. Thanks again!
 
Back
Top