12/9 Pumbaa says, "What goes down must go up!"

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pumbaa

Member Since 2012
I'm cross-posting here. This is also on the Levemir board. Pumbaa and I can use all the help we can get. :)

NOTE: Pumbaa's spreadsheet is no longer in reverse order. Have I mentioned lately how I hate scrolling????

I forget who first told me, "Cats bounce until they don't," but I was so praying that Pumbaa would never again have a morning like he did this morning. :sad:

After such a nice string of blues and greens starting PM 12/6/12, and having him clear a small bounce quickly on 12/7, this morning's numbers make me very sad.

I assume that I missed some greens last night (12/8) between +6 and +10, which would explain his AMPS this morning of 201. And I was praying really, really hard that he wouldn't go above 250 this morning. But...he did.

At AM +5, I got a reading of 398, and immediately retested, and got a 293. Between then and the +7 reading, I got new batteries and replaced the meter battery just in case it was going bad. I didn't retest after the +7 367, because going up 74 points in 2 hours was more plausible than going up 185 points in 2 hours (although Pumbaa has, in the past, on Lantus, gone up 200 points in an hour...he just doesn't do this on the Levemir).

Now I am nailbite_smile thinking Pumbaa will dive tonight, instead of coming down gently. During the 12/6 PM cycle, he went from 252 to 46. And he might have gone lower than 46, but I didn't test/catch it. I think he was already on the rise when I caught the 46, because it only took some LC food to bring him up to 81.

I was so hopeful that the 3.0U dose was going to be his magic dose, and stop this bouncing. Maybe it still will, if I give it enough time. We're only on the 7th cycle, and I fully intend to give him the full 72 hours to clear this bounce before making any dosing decisions. He's had some absolutely beautiful numbers at this dose, and I hope he continues to have beautiful numbers at 3.0U once he really settles in to it.

How did it get to be Sunday night already? I only accomplished about half of the things on my immediate "to do" list, because there were so many "to do's" that I had to take care of for mom. Wish I was triplets! Twins would be okay, too! haha_smiley

Suze
 
Welcome aboard! Great to see you over here.

(Tilly Tilly Tilly ;-) )

I agree there may be some green in the near future with the flat yellow. I'd discard the single pink (meter error or stress?) that looks out of place. You just need to keep chugging along. Hold this dose for 5-7 days (total) then increase. He's making progress. The last thing you want to do reduce this dose for any reason now except a hard earned reduction.

And take another look at Chip's SS (scroll up) if you need more encouragement. :smile:
 
Thank you for the welcome, Chippendale's!

Don't worry, I'm not reducing. Even if Pumbaa hits 20 tonight, I don't think a reduction would be in order...not until he settles down in this dose and I have real data for how he responds to this dose. And it may take more than 14 cycles, as Chip has taken at times.

You have done a wonderful job with Chip, and haven't caved to increases/decreases without letting him totally settle in to a dose that is good for him and his pancreas. That's the whole point, isn't it? To find a dose that will allow the pancreas to heal and start taking over?

Pumbaa's 367 today was within a normal range of what his activity could have been, so I am not discounting that he bounced that high. Especially since I replaced the meter batteries before that reading.

Chip's SS is like my daily bible. I look and what you have done with him on Levemir, and try to figure out Pumbaa, based on Chip's results. Thank you for going first! And for being so diligent in testing every hour or so!

Suze
 
Lovely to see you here, Suze! Wanna come back? :lol: :lol: Oh my! Dont be too hard on Pumbba. He's ding nicely with all those green & blue. Of course they'll bounce they have a liver which is working great. :lol: :lol: As long as they are clearing those bounce, they are fine. Relax my friend. What goes up will come down too.
 
Thank you, Helen! (((HUGS)))

I just wish that Rosey and Pumbaa would stop that bouncing stuff!

I'm never hard on Pumbaa...he reacts how he does. But I do feel bad that I haven't found the "perfect dose" for him yet, that will stop this bouncing and diving and get him regulated. Maybe I never will. But I'll keep trying, for his sake!

Suze
 
It was me who said that cats bounce until they don't.

I'll be honest, I'm finding your SS incredibly hard to read with it in reverse order. We've typically asked people who have opted to use this format for their convenience to publish a version in the usual order. It's much harder to identify trends when 99.9% of SSs here use the oldest date first arrangement. I look at too many SSs to try to switch things around in my head and the reverse order isn't logical -- at least for me. It will make it exceptionally difficult for me to respond to your questions.

That said, this doesn't seem to be an anomaly. This is what Pumbaa does.
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
It was me who said that cats bounce until they don't.
That's funny, I actually looked this up since Suze seems to get credit for the phrase. I seemed to recall someone telling her that.

You frequently said "cats bounce until they stop."

It might have first been suggested to Suze around 6/20 by Jill:

Jill & Alex said:
Pumbaa said:
Jill, I appreciate your taking the time to type all of that and give us another Levemir user's input.

I wish there were a simple test to see which insulin our cats would do the best on. Just like Dale, and everyone else here, I want what is best for my cat. And I think some of us feel helpless not knowing what the best is, regarding the insulins. So the more we read about the experience of others, and data that you all have supplied, the better our decision making process, at least regarding is it worth the expense and work to switch insulins...especially when ECID and there are no guarantees.
((( suze ))), i feel your frustration in your posts. i think libby made some astute observations and offered some sage advice in your 06/09 thread. kitties bounce... until they don't. as much as we want to, we can't go any faster than their bodies allow. i've looked at pumbaa's spreadsheet more than once. i see improvement. imho, it's too soon to throw in the towel and declare lantus a failure.

Suze picked up on that and repeated it ad nauseam and soon it spread like wildfire. :smile:

After Suze, Marje may have repeated the exact phrase (or variations of "until they don't") more than anyone else. Marje may have actually coined the phrase? Or picked it up from someone else. I only searched back to the time I joined the forum.
 
Huh, and all this time I'd been thinking it was just one of Newton's Laws of Physics. ;-)

Hi Suze, nice to see you:-)
Carl
 
With each new dose, or even a food adjustment, Blackie bounces. A bounce can last for a few days, or even less, depending on the kitty.

Good luck, and have a nice day. :smile:
 
I actually think it predated any of us. I think someone very few people here know, Jojo, actually may have first stated it. Either Jojo or Jill may have been the first and it's way before the time of anyone you mentioned. Jojo was in the process of disengaging from the board over 3 years ago when I arrived. Who said what first is less important than the "truth" in the observation behind the statement.
 
I didn't think I was getting credit for the phrase. I just repeated it often because it always made me laugh, and described Pumbaa to a "T"! I'm still waiting for the day when he becomes a part of the "don't" gang. *tapping my fingers...adjusting my patience pants...*

Sienne: When I reversed Pumbaa's SS order, it was to save me precious time, and I said from the beginning that, if it was a problem and caused problems for those whose advice I am seeking, I could always change it back. Some have gotten used to it, some haven't. I am lucky because I've always had to look at spreadsheets top to bottom, bottom to top, left to right, and right to left, due to the type of information that I use spreadsheets for. That said, trying to eke out some extra time in my life to make up for the time I spend caring for Pumbaa shouldn't compromise the input I need to care for Pumbaa. And, doing two different spreadsheets is counter-productive to the reason for reversing it in the first place, which was to save time. *LOL* So...I guess I am going to have to find time to switch his SS back to the old way one of these days.

Suze
 
Angela & Blackie & 8 Others said:
With each new dose, or even a food adjustment, Blackie bounces. A bounce can last for a few days, or even less, depending on the kitty.

Good luck, and have a nice day. :smile:
Angela, Blackie must be in the "don't" gang these days 'cause I only see a handful of yellows in his entire 2012 SS! He has absolutely beautiful numbers!

Thank you for the good luck...we need it! :)

Suze
 
Pumbaa said:
*LOL* So...I guess I am going to have to find time to switch his SS back to the old way one of these days.

Suze
That was fast!

Thanks for switching it back. I can see the "waves of action" better now.

Pumbaa is doing even better than I thought, those are great numbers. :mrgreen:
 
I switched it back, but I didn't say I wouldn't ***** and moan about the f'ing scrolling time. haha_smiley
 
The way I deal with that is just leave them open all the time.

Chip's and the others I view everyday, I just leave them all open.

The shared ones update in real time and scroll with generally little problem when you leave them at the bottom.
 
I just leave my SS open in a separate tab and it stays where last used. or you can quickly get to the bottom of the page w/ the scroll slider, then command + up arrow (it's probably not called command on a PC, I'm a Machead, but there should be a key for keyboard shortcuts) will take you to the last filled cell in a column.
 
Ann, I'm on a Mac, too, and command plus the up arrow sends me to the last filled in cell in whatever column I have clicked on. I guess that would get me close enough.

But frequently I have to refresh the SS page because certain options go inactive on me until I refresh, then I have to wait for all of the rows to load again.
 
Sienne, et al: You are welcome! I tried it for a month, and hoped that people could adapt like I did, but help with Pumbaa's care is more important than me saving minutes of time every day.

I thought of something today, which may explain why I didn't have problems reading Pumbaa's data in reverse then reading another SS that wasn't in reverse. This is something that I forget about because I have just been dealing with it for 55 years. I'm ambidextrous, which is both a curse and a blessing. A blessing because I don't have one dominant side of my brain like most people do. One side of our brains deal with data and mathematical issues, and the other side of the brain deals with more creative issues. This allows me to be creative as well as very technical, and also to do many things both right and left handed. For example, it used to drive my playing partners nuts when I played racquetball because instead of changing body position to return a difficult shot, I just switched the racquet to my other hand. *LOL*

It's a curse because frequently I have failed at manual tasks until I figured out to switch hands and try again. I write right-handed (the nuns in 1st grade got tired of me coming in and writing with a different hand every day, and forced me to pick one), but can still write legibly left-handed. I knit left-handed. When I was younger and had softball in PE class, I never, ever, ever connected bat to ball until I turned around and tried batting lefty. I play ping pong left handed. My left hand is quicker than my right hand on the keyboard. If you and I are in a car and you ask me if you should turn left or right, I really have to stop and think about it, 'cause I never learned left from right. But I initially, still, pick up a tool/device and try to use it in my right hand first. (Damn those nuns. *LOL*)

Anyway, I think this might have something to do with my ability to adjust/adapt to the data, no matter what order it was presented in. I tend to forget that not everyone has this affliction. :(

Suze (still hates scrolling and loading times. *LMAO*)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top