12/9 - Pip - AMPS 302 +1 284 +10 212, PMPS 247 +2 229

SarahJeanne

Member Since 2025
yesterday

Good morning everyone and their kitties :)

Pip had a good night, he was HUNGRY this morning and got 2 cans of tiki and I'm gonna wait for his +1 to see if I leave out DM or a higher carb food (Blue wilderness changed their recipe in canada and has potatoes in it now and i'm stuck with a pack of 24 cans lol).

I have 2 boring classes today and wish I could stay home but I must be a good student... I can dooo it!

Have a wonderful day!
 
yesterday

Good morning everyone and their kitties :)

Pip had a good night, he was HUNGRY this morning and got 2 cans of tiki and I'm gonna wait for his +1 to see if I leave out DM or a higher carb food (Blue wilderness changed their recipe in canada and has potatoes in it now and i'm stuck with a pack of 24 cans lol).

I have 2 boring classes today and wish I could stay home but I must be a good student... I can dooo it!

Have a wonderful day!
Please know I'm still new to this, so my question might seem stupid to others, but here it is. Why possibly leave out higher carb food? I only saw 1 day with need under 200, and that was barely. But today as previous days looks to be pinks and yellows. I was just wondering.
Go learn & safe surfing to Pip! 💕
 
Please know I'm still new to this, so my question might seem stupid to others, but here it is. Why possibly leave out higher carb food? I only saw 1 day with need under 200, and that was barely. But today as previous days looks to be pinks and yellows. I was just wondering.
Go learn & safe surfing to Pip! 💕
I was warned that when the deposit builds Pip might suddenly go down in the greens or even possibly hypo and I bave to be prepared for it :)
 
Anybody who hasn't seen this yet, please read these two stickies about hypos, and the importance of having a hypo kit.

How to treat hypos - they can kill
jojo and bunny's hypo tool box

This is why I was asking for advice for you on Sunday afternoon, SarahJeanne, not to cause you stress, but to make sure there's no need for stress. Because Pip is new to Lantus and it's not known yet how he'll use it. Fortunately, so far he's been in upper numbers but not extremely high.
 
Pip was at 212 when I got home, it's definitely his lowest +10 reading yet, I hate that I don't know if he dropped lower and or too low during this cycle.

Tomorrow I get home by noon so I can test his +1 and his +6 onward

Also I had ordered an alphatrack 3 when pip was first diagnosed, and cancelled the order and got it refunded, but lo and behold it just arrived through the mail.
Not too sure what to do with it, all the spreadsheets are for human meters and the test strips for it are soooo expensive, but maybe I could keep it for backup or to give my vet an alphatrack reading once in a while to make him happy haha
 
247 at PMPS so I just fed mr Pip and gave him his shot

Y'all got me a bit worried about possible hypo, should I test at +1 to +4 every hour perhaps?

At least I am here with him.

I know those are regular numbers I'm just brand new at this and Pip's been in the pink for his AMPS and PMPS since dx day.

big hugs everyone!
 
I would not worry too much about Pip's BG while you were at school earlier today. It's great that you'll be at home tomorrow for his +6.

If you like you can donate the Alphatrack. I do so with meds, food and equipment to Animex here, and they're always grateful for the help.
 
247 at PMPS so I just fed mr Pip and gave him his shot

Y'all got me a bit worried about possible hypo, should I test at +1 to +4 every hour perhaps?

At least I am here with him.

I know those are regular numbers I'm just brand new at this and Pip's been in the pink for his AMPS and PMPS since dx day.

big hugs everyone!
Regarding testing, Lantus starts to kick in around +2. I know you can't do that right now, but that would be when you'd normally want to test. Depending on your cats's preshot numbers. If they're high, then testing starting at +3 is fine.

Pip is nowhere near being in low numbers for any worries.
 
And no, you should not test every hour.

Normally you would test at preshot, +2 (while you're starting out always do this so you can see what Pip's itentions are), +6, and preshot.

Since you're both getting used to Lantus, it's a good idea to test a bit more, so a +4, +9.

The only time you'd be testing a lot is if Pip is low, and then you carb him up as needed and then test in 20 minutes to see if he's going up.
 
Nice to see Pip spent some time in the lemon tree today :). Maybe he’s going to try out the beach next?

1765322807113.jpeg
 
I'm glad he gave you that 247 tonight instead of this morning!

I was warned that when the deposit builds Pip might suddenly go down in the greens or even possibly hypo and I bave to be prepared for it
And sometimes cats will give you a hint of what that dose can do on the first cycle of it. Never trust a cat to be consistent.
 
SarahJeanne, I want to make two suggestions, as they might be helpful.

First, to keep making notes on what you're feeding Pip. Not only because you're changing his diet, but for seeing patterns and trends, and possible ingredients he's sensitive to.

The other thing is to see if, with your schedule, following SLGS might be a better option right now. You can always change to Tight Regulation, if you get a work-from-home job when your courses are done, for example. It's really up to you, of course, but worth considering.
 
Adding to Christie's comment: you're doing wonderfully!

When I started here with my first diabetic cat in 2013, I found it overwhelming, and also felt like I couldn't learn enough quickly enough, or understand half the things that people were telling me. Then I realized that I had this whole team of people here who had my back: cheerleaders and wise advisors, and people who'd simply pop in daily to say hi and send me some sunshine so I knew I wasn't in it alone.

You too have here a bunch of people who want to see you succeed in every way. So take things at your pace.
 
Yeah will just chime in and say, the first couple months (or more) are really like drinking from a firehose. It is so so stressful, so be super kind on yourself. The experienced folks here will often give you direct advice and a lot of valuable information at once, and it can be overwhelming, but it is not at all a critique of what you are doing, they've just seen a lot over the years and are trying to distill what will be useful for your cat. For me, it sometimes takes awhile to fully digest, and I'm the type of person that can only tackle one thing at a time.

You're doing great!!
 
We have plenty of people who follow Tight Regulation and have a full time job, Or going to school full time. See if this post has any ideas that might help. A lot of then are good regardless of dosing method being followed.
Is Tight Regulation Possible with a Full Time Job? Yes!

The first couple months are like getting your master's degree in feline diabetes, but after that, it does become easier. :bighug:
 
Back
Top