12.9 Ovie PMPS:240,+2:62,+2.5:81+3.5:88,+5:109

Status
Not open for further replies.

KATIE&ovie

Member Since 2017

Attachments

  • IMG_2633.JPG
    IMG_2633.JPG
    87.6 KB · Views: 111
It is looking that way. I'm sure he'll be back in the green soon.:cool::D

I'm wondering too.. his insulin is a month old. How do you tell when it's starting to go bad? It doesn't look cloudy yet.

My parents have a porch but some of the bottom screens are loose and he leaves through there. Ovie doesn't care it's rainy either he'll peace out :joyful:
 
I'm using insulin that is nearly 6 months old. IDK how much longer to expect it to last, but it looks good. It will last longest if you keep it in the fridge without allowing it to freeze and you take measures to not contaminate it, such as wiping the top with alcohol, not pulling a dose and injecting back into the vial, etc.
 
I'm using insulin that is nearly 6 months old. IDK how much longer to expect it to last, but it looks good. It will last longest if you keep it in the fridge without allowing it to freeze and you take measures to not contaminate it, such as wiping the top with alcohol, not pulling a dose and injecting back into the vial, etc.
Okay. I take those measures. :)
 
He’s still looking pretty good at this dose even with the blue PSs. That almost looks like not enough duration.

When they are in blue, you can tell the difference because with a bounce, they might stay blue the entire cycle and then come down to green the next. For example, if he has a day like 11/28 where he stayed in blue all day and then came down the next, that was obviously a bounce.

He was pretty close to green last night so today looks a bit like lack of duration to me since he came right down to green as soon as he onset.

Nuances...I know.

He is sooooooo cute!!! Brown tabbies are the bestest!
 
He’s still looking pretty good at this dose even with the blue PSs. That almost looks like not enough duration.

When they are in blue, you can tell the difference because with a bounce, they might stay blue the entire cycle and then come down to green the next. For example, if he has a day like 11/28 where he stayed in blue all day and then came down the next, that was obviously a bounce.

He was pretty close to green last night so today looks a bit like lack of duration to me since he came right down to green as soon as he onset.

Nuances...I know.

He is sooooooo cute!!! Brown tabbies are the bestest!
Thank you for your input. :bighug:

His PMPS is 240. If there is lack of duration does that mean he may come to need a higher dose?

I wish I was testing on the back end of the AM cycle to see when he started on the incline.
 
Thank you for your input. :bighug:

His PMPS is 240. If there is lack of duration does that mean he may come to need a higher dose?

I wish I was testing on the back end of the AM cycle to see when he started on the incline.
We will have to see how the next couple of cycles play out. Sometimes, it is just one cycle because of less absorption or the barometric pressure changed (seriously...this can happen) or he’s just being a cat. It just looked to me like he ran out of duration last night but then he came right back down today.

Yes, it would have been great to have a +10 test to see how fast he was headed up. Usually with lack of duration (aka BIPO or big insulin poop out), numbers go up fast......much faster than they would with a bounce. But don’t be fooled by that PMPS because if it is a duration issue, he’s likely to come right back down tonight after he onsets.
 
We will have to see how the next couple of cycles play out. Sometimes, it is just one cycle because of less absorption or the barometric pressure changed (seriously...this can happen) or he’s just being a cat. It just looked to me like he ran out of duration last night but then he came right back down today.

Yes, it would have been great to have a +10 test to see how fast he was headed up. Usually with lack of duration (aka BIPO or big insulin poop out), numbers go up fast......much faster than they would with a bounce. But don’t be fooled by that PMPS because if it is a duration issue, he’s likely to come right back down tonight after he onsets.
Hmm. We did have a cold front come through. And there was some stressful stuff going on today. My mom was blaring Carly Simon and cleaning and moving stuff around, a Christmas tree made its way into the house.

I can totally see if it weren't duration how stress maybe could have been in play. I moved his PS time too so we are back on schedule with what he original shot time was 8:30EST
 
Holy guacamole! Ovie on drums, bringing the drama! :eek:

@Marje and Gracie I had never read that about duration. It makes total sense, looking at Ovie's SS (I don't think Asia has that issue). What do you do about lack of duration if it's a constant problem (other than stop feeding after nadir)?
 
Holy guacamole! Ovie on drums, bringing the drama! :eek:

@Marje and Gracie I had never read that about duration. It makes total sense, looking at Ovie's SS (I don't think Asia has that issue). What do you do about lack of duration if it's a constant problem (other than stop feeding after nadir)?
It depends on how low the BG is getting and for how long, if you take feeding past nadir out if the equation.

If the kitty is just barely coming down into high green and shooting right back up (also assuming it’s not being fed anything but LC), then the dose likely needs to be tweaked (fined tuned by adding a little fat to the dose) if lack of duration is a consistent thing. If the cat is in higher numbers and losing duration fast, then you follow the protocol on increasing the dose.

Make sense?

BIPO is hard to see. Many, many people mistake it for a bounce. I learned early to spot it thanks to my mentor and the fact that Gracie would do it.

Here’s my next prediction for Ovie.

08F2B4C5-1366-4DFC-8811-FCE78E63D7A2.jpeg
 
Thanks Marje :bighug: I do sometimes leave him a little LC food out of he's in the green and I can't hang for the pj party any longer. Otherwise I stop feeding after his +3.

When you say fine tuning the dose by adding a little fat to it. What do you mean there? I know we wouldn't say duration a consistent thing quite yet.

Thank you for all of your help

His +5 is 109.
 
You’re welcome!

Thanks Marje :bighug: I do sometimes leave him a little LC food out of he's in the green and I can't hang for the pj party any longer. Otherwise I stop feeding after his +3.

When you say fine tuning the dose by adding a little fat to it. What do you mean there? I know we wouldn't say duration a consistent thing quite yet.

Thank you for all of your help

His +5 is 109.
Let’s say a kitty is on 0.25u and he’s low blues with a dip into green for a couple hours but he doesn’t have a nice long surf for a normal duration. Under the protocol, you would hold the dose and it’s fine to do that.

But there’s probably also room to just increase the dose a tiny bit by adding a drop or two to fine tune it. It would probably be too much to increase by 0.25u. If you were using calipers, you might want to increase it by 0.1u to see if you could extend the duration and have a longer run of green.
 
You’re welcome!


Let’s say a kitty is on 0.25u and he’s low blues with a dip into green for a couple hours but he doesn’t have a nice long surf for a normal duration. Under the protocol, you would hold the dose and it’s fine to do that.

But there’s probably also room to just increase the dose a tiny bit by adding a drop or two to fine tune it. It would probably be too much to increase by 0.25u. If you were using calipers, you might want to increase it by 0.1u to see if you could extend the duration and have a longer run of green.
I looked at digital calipers online. Is lowes or homedepot the place to get them? Although I could probably add a drop or so. This morning Ov was 177.
 
I looked at digital calipers online. Is lowes or homedepot the place to get them? Although I could probably add a drop or so. This morning Ov was 177.
I got mine at Harbor Freight. You can get any but the Calipro are the ones I have so you could see if Lowe’s or Home Depot has them or something similar.

You would be amazed at the difference between each syringe in a box and that might be why you are seeing him be wobbly BG wise. It made a huge difference in Gracie’s BG when I started using calipers. The doses were very, very consistent.

I assumed you were using them so it might be why his duration changes.
 
I got mine at Harbor Freight. You can get any but the Calipro are the ones I have so you could see if Lowe’s or Home Depot has them or something similar.

You would be amazed at the difference between each syringe in a box and that might be why you are seeing him be wobbly BG wise. It made a huge difference in Gracie’s BG when I started using calipers. The doses were very, very consistent.

I assumed you were using them so it might be why his duration changes.
I second this, Asia was a mess pre calipers and I think it made all the difference with consistent dosing. I had some syringes that easily had a .5 dose before the zero line! :confused:

I think these are the same ones harbor freight sells, if you happen to be an Amazon addict like I am:

https://www.amazon.com/FineSource-E...ring/dp/B073N7F2CK/?tag=felinediabetesfdmb-20
 
Thank you guys. I will have to order them. That makes sense as to why he's wobbly. Sometimes it does look the like .5 marks are closer together than they should be.
 
You guys may have to give me a run down on how to use them when I get mine. I see they are for measuring but how do you translate it to measuring doses?
 
Thank you guys. I will have to order them. That makes sense as to why he's wobbly. Sometimes it does look the like .5 marks are closer together than they should be.
I should have taken photos, I had some syringes where all lines were printed on a slight diagonal (hmmm, should I dose with the left side of the line, or the right)? o_O Some look like they got double stamped and the lines were twice as thick as the others. But most of the time, it was the zero line wasn't on the zero.
 
You guys may have to give me a run down on how to use them when I get mine. I see they are for measuring but how do you translate it to measuring doses?
It's very easy, if you can use a ruler, calipers are pretty much the same thing, just more exact. Marje wrote an awesome thread about dosing with calipers, but I was still confused with my FD clouded brain and didn't use mine for a couple weeks after I got them. The short of it is: you find the best syringe in the lot where the lines are printed nice and the zero line is at zero, draw up a 1 unit dose (using the syringe lines) of food coloring, soda, water, whatever (but it's easier to see with a colored liquid), flip the numbers to the back and measure that amount with the calipers, write the number down, do the maths (divide by 4) to calculate how much .25 measures from that 1 unit dose you measured, and then once you have your .25 measurement, you multiply accordingly to get your dose (for Ovie, right now it would be the .25 measurement in mms times 5). It probably sounds way more complicated than it actually is, but once you wrap your head around calculating the dose, it's simple and you can use that math forever unless you change syringe brands.
 
I should have taken photos, I had some syringes where all lines were printed on a slight diagonal (hmmm, should I dose with the left side of the line, or the right)? o_O Some look like they got double stamped and the lines were twice as thick as the others. But most of the time, it was the zero line wasn't on the zero.
Oh dang! That is bad. o_O
 
It's very easy, if you can use a ruler, calipers are pretty much the same thing, just more exact. Marje wrote an awesome thread about dosing with calipers, but I was still confused with my FD clouded brain and didn't use mine for a couple weeks after I got them. The short of it is: you find the best syringe in the lot where the lines are printed nice and the zero line is at zero, draw up a 1 unit dose (using the syringe lines) of food coloring, soda, water, whatever (but it's easier to see with a colored liquid), flip the numbers to the back and measure that amount with the calipers, write the number down, do the maths (divide by 4) to calculate how much .25 measures from that 1 unit dose you measured, and then once you have your .25 measurement, you multiply accordingly to get your dose (for Ovie, right now it would be the .25 measurement in mms times 5). It probably sounds way more complicated than it actually is, but once you wrap your head around calculating the dose, it's simple and you can use that math forever unless you change syringe brands.
Thank you for the explanation. I will order one today.:)
 
With so many tests you do I would increase and take it from there. There is room to do that. 0.25 or just a drop.....you shall decide that. You can even hope for a remission as he responds pretty good. I believe eyeballing works well enough.
 
Katie

Let me know if you have specific questions on how to measure your dose when you get the calipers. You can always PM me on that since it is not a dosing advice issue.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top