12/9 Oscar PMPS192.6 +3-108 13/9amps279

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Joan & Oscar! :mrgreen: Welcome!
I have been reading your past posts...my goodness, you two have been through a lot! :o
Seeing those nice blues on your SS yesterday makes me happy that you lowered his dose.

Now, about the constipation. I have used tuna oil with great success and they usually LOVE it. We have Miralax here and some of us use 1/4 teaspoon mixed with water in the food. They do need extra water when you give them that though....

Have you seen the Janet & Binkly's Food Chart
It is important to select a brand that you can find there that is LC(low carb) and also, for special times you will need a supply of HC(high carb 16-18%) with gravy. (we use the gravy alone to raise their numbers when they go low...only the gravy so we do not fill them up with the solid food from the can in case we need to keep giving them something to keep raising the numbers.) You might also have karo syrup (I see you have used honey before, right?)
You might find these pages interesting about the raw food diet too. Making Cat Food by Dr. Lisa Pierson I use Feline Future powder and mix it with raw chicken.
For urinary health, we suggest feeding fish only once per week.

I have noticed that my two kitties only need the Litter Box every other day now that they are eating the raw which I mix with Wellness canned.I find if kitties are constipated, their numbers can be a little higher. It is important to watch for LB action....constipation that persists can be very dangerous as you probably know. The switch to the raw meat might have upset him a little...hopefully with some tuna oil or something from your vet, that will be resolved.

I am so happy that you are here...sorry if I woke you, I know you are sleeping now so I will tiptoe back out...see you later! :mrgreen:
 
the numbers are very good. :smile:

Sorry about the constipation. I have also used Miralax for Lucy from time to time with Lucy.
 
Yeh!! Finally got to the big town with shops and bought Fancy Feast selection, he had Flaked Trout tonight and it's the first time in days I've seen him enjoy food. I emailed Purinna Australia last week and they gave me a list of low carb with %, I managed to get quite a few of them. Yet to see how it effects his numbers but just glad to see him eating something. Also gave him a decent dose of Paraffin Oil (got from the pharmacy -it's what I have given the dogs when in trouble) via syringe so maybe we will get him on the move again. Glad I finally got to the shops! I did go to the vet for laxative but a bit disappointed they tried to give me a sugar based product :-(

I am going to our capital city Adelaide on the weekend so I will get equiv to Miralax if oil no good. I should have thought about tuna oil, only have brine or springwater in cupboard - on next shopping list.

Thanks for support.
Cheers Joan
 
Hi Joan,

glad you got him something to help move things through. I hope it works.
even if it does work, it might be good to get some miralax equivalent and add a little to his food as prevention in the future.

Nice to hear he is eating the FF.

nice numbers --- would love to see where he is at around +6ish.

best,
 
Thanks Cheryl,
He just tested PMPS 153 I'm trying not to get too excited but things do look a lot better than a few days ago.
Will try for a +6 Friday as don't think I'll be close by tomorrow and next day at that time. It's hectic in the bush (boonies).
Cheers Joan
Just wanted to add he has my backup team while I'm away but still can't get them testing yet!
 
hey, oscar...my unclebean used to work for Peter Allen...he hailed from down under, and is the reason i'm such a judy garland fan!

hope you're feeling well 2day, mate!

binks (sometimes known as dorothy, but if you know who Peter Allen was, you'll totally understand that!)
 
Looking good Oscar! :thumbup Tess gets 1/8 tsp Miralax daily as a preventative as she isn't regular daily.

Have you seen the link to Non-US foods on Janet and Binkys list? It's all the way down on the bottom http://binkyspage.tripod.com/nonusfd.html She would probably appreciate the list you got too. Janet is a member here and you can PM her.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top