12/9 Oscar PMP360, +3-322, 13/9 AMPS 162

Status
Not open for further replies.

Joan & Oscar

Member Since 2010
Oscar just tested 360 pre shot but that was after some food (not dry) I gave him .5u and he's gone to sleep. Cheryl, thanks for all the tips and I will get laxative from vet on Tuesday plus some FF. Might post Aus time as it indicates when his night and day is - if that makes sense? He must be feeling a bit better as before sleep he jumped to the top of his scratching pole 9foot!
No he doesn't have teeth trouble but have had in previous Burmese so on the look out. That's fine if giblets etc. do the job -sounds good.
Cheers Joan
 
Re: 9/12 PMPS 360 Oscar (Aust.)

Welcome, Joan & Oscar! We're newbies here too...and boy, are we thankful we found this forum. There's a vast amount of knowledge and support available here...(and quite a bit of humor, too)

My sister spent 2 years in your neck of the woods...she'll be thrilled to hear you've joined...

good luck!

Celi & Binks
 
Re: 9/12 PMPS 360 Oscar (Aust.)

Welcome to Lantus Land Joan & Oscar!!!

We're new hear too and making the the Lantus journey, lots of wonderful folks to help us out along the way!!!

Read the stickeys above they are chock full of great information on the action of lantus and what to expect.

And ask, ask, ask...folks here have been wonderfully patient with Atlas & me.
 
Re: 9/12 PMPS 360 Oscar (Aust.)

It's great to hear that Oscar is feeling better.

We link our previous day's condo (i.e., each cat's daily thread - one condo per cat per day) to the new condo for the day. It allows us to easily go back and find information that may be helpful. Here's your link: Oscar's 9/11 Condo.

I want to encourage you to get as many spot checks throughout the day as you can. The minimum that will be helpful include your pre-shot test and at least one test per 12-hour cycle. Getting data at this stage of the game, especially as your transitioning Oscar off of dry food is important. You want to be able to gauge when Lantus onset and nadir are along with how much duration you're getting.

When you have a chance, can you note the amount of insulin you gave this morning? Also, is the PMPS of 360 not on your SS yet?

Please visit our condos and take a look at our spreadsheets (SS). In addition to asking questions, looking at what's happening in other condos is a great way to learn. And like others have said, please don't hesitate to ask questions.
 
Re: 9/12 PMPS 360 Oscar (Aust.)

Hello Oscar and welcome to LL so happy to have you with us so much help and wonderful information here the wonderful people here have done so much to help Do Lou and I. Take time to read all the Sticky's at the top of this page honestly you cannot read them too many times and take time to look at the food chart it will help with canned food feeding and once again welcome hope to see you posting regular cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 9/12 PMPS 360 Oscar (Aust.)

Thanks for all the welcomes. I will try to keep up with tests so I can get this right. Also not sure how to link last Condo - it took me 2 weeks to workout spreadsheet - however 'necessity is the mother of invention' in other words when I was desperate yesterday soon got it sorted so...bear with me and I'll get there. Yes sorry the last post didn't have my updated spreadsheet as I was on a different computer and forgot password. Glad to hear from other newbies as wow! it is a whole new world. Oscar is good tonight, still yet to test before bed it's 10.40pm here. I will post in my am your pm.
Once again thanks to all mine and Oscar's new friends.
Cheers Joan
 
Re: 9/12 PMPS 360 Oscar (Aust.)

To link your condos, all you need to do is copy the "http" info from the top of your browser that shows the location of the old post and paste it into your new condo. I fancied it up so all of the code didn't show.
 
Re: 9/12 PMPS 360 Oscar (Aust.)

When you are composing your post there is a row of "buttons" between the subject and text boxes, click the URL button and paste the Url from yesterday's condo between the brackets (the cursor will bet there right after you click the button, so just paste). this makes it an active link. If you want to fancy it up like Sienne did, just ask. Don't want to throw too much at you at once.

You also have the option of previewing rather than immediately posting , click the preview button next to the submit button. If it looks OK then submit. Play around w/ the different buttons and preview the results to get used to things.
 
Just test AM shot relatively happy. He still isn't eating much but I will be going to the shops tomorrow and will get a few things to help constipation hopefully that will make him a happy kitty. Seems like .5u might be OK for a few days?
Thanks for all the tips on condos etc. Just for this morn I have edited last nights post but I will post each morning (your PM). Great to have help!
One of Ocar's ears is a little sore, slightly red and a little warm - so I will leave that one for a day or two. Maybe some antibiotic cream do you think? Any tips for ear placement tests would be appreciated, his ears are quite fine so not much to puncture.
Any thoughts appreciated.
Cheers Joan
 
Hi Joan & Oscar! Welcome! :mrgreen:

Antibiotic cream (we use Neosporin here) on the ears will help. So happy that you are here!
I am being quiet so I don't wake you. LOL....see you tomorrow!
 
Seems like .5u might be OK for a few days?

I would hold it for 3-5 days and wait until you have the food changes and constipation issue figured out before re-evaluating. (unless, of course numbers get very low) getting some spot checks around nadir ( +6 ) would be great.
have you checked out the *typical* curve yet in the sticky?
wait I will cut and paste for you:

Example of a typical curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.


of course ECID ;-) the nadir certainly varies from cat -cat.
since his dose is still settling and he has only been on lantus a short time, a mini curve won't really mean much for a couple days. but getting spot checks great idea. finding the time of his nadir is a good goal.


Any tips for ear placement tests would be appreciated, his ears are quite fine so not much to puncture.
Any thoughts


Here's a link that has some great ear photos on it that show the vein and *sweet spot* (best place to poke )
I hope this helps.
http://www.felinediabetes.com/phorum5/r ... sg-1817358
 
Nice AMPS! :-D The sweet spot is the easiest when you are learning, but anywhere between the vein and the edge of the ear works, not just the outer edge. That gives a lot more areas to test I switch ears and always try to move the spot around. Do you hold the lancet in your hand or use the pen? I like freehand for more exact placement . Poke at a 45° angle. I mix a drop of Vitamin E oil in w/ the antibiotic. It helps healing and prevents scarring.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top