12/9/Oberon +8 217, AMPS 297, +3 390, +6 330, +9 382, PMPS 411, +3 407, +5 409

Remind me please, did you put together a new R scale, should the need arise?

Not formally. My current plan is to try 0.5 U if he's above 300 (and meets all the other conditions, like not doing it during a dose increase or breaking a bounce). Previously I was giving 1.25 if over 300, and 1.5 if over 450 (rare). Though he's been coming down the Lantus dosing ladder so quickly maybe I should backtrack further and test 0.25 U first just to be safe. If he's still high tomorrow morning I may give that a shot- I can monitor the whole cycle if needed.
 
Sort of random question: Oberon was initially diagnosed a year ago this week. He was on Lantus for two weeks; a diet change to low carb put him into remission for months. He was out of remission by late July (probably before that, but I wasn't testing). Does he now count as a long-term diabetic, or should I count it from July when he actually started needing insulin?
 
Sort of random question: Oberon was initially diagnosed a year ago this week. He was on Lantus for two weeks; a diet change to low carb put him into remission for months. He was out of remission by late July (probably before that, but I wasn't testing). Does he now count as a long-term diabetic, or should I count it from July when he actually started needing insulin?
Good question. I'm inclined to say count from original diagnosis, but I honestly don't know. @Wendy&Neko may know.
Are you concerned because of the differing reduction criteria for newly diagnosed vs. long term diabetics under TR?

What do you think threw him out of remission?

Not formally. My current plan is to try 0.5 U if he's above 300 (and meets all the other conditions, like not doing it during a dose increase or breaking a bounce). Previously I was giving 1.25 if over 300, and 1.5 if over 450 (rare). Though he's been coming down the Lantus dosing ladder so quickly maybe I should backtrack further and test 0.25 U first just to be safe. If he's still high tomorrow morning I may give that a shot- I can monitor the whole cycle if needed.
I agree with 0.25u and only if red.

Now that the R threat is firmly in place, lets see what happens:p:cool:
 
Good question. I'm inclined to say count from original diagnosis, but I honestly don't know. @Wendy&Neko may know.
Are you concerned because of the differing reduction criteria for newly diagnosed vs. long term diabetics under TR?

What do you think threw him out of remission?

I agree with 0.25u and only if red.

Now that the R threat is firmly in place, lets see what happens:p:cool:

Yeah, I happened to see a conversation about it on someone else's thread and it got me thinking.

He had mild pancreatitis (possibly feline triaditis) in late July. That's what brought us to the vet (low appetite, vomiting, some weight loss). Fructosamine was 845 so he'd clearly been out of remission for a while. So I'm not sure whether the pancreatitis was cause or effect. I also have suspicions about his teeth but nothing definite. He's never had a dental or a really proper exam w/xrays. It's on my list of things to tackle when life settles down a little.

Still high this evening... I'll do one more bedtime check. Then R it is, if he's still this high in the morning!
 
FWIW BK when we took BK in off the street I got him right to a vet and had bloodwork done. He was diabetic and who knows for how long. He was on insulin from February 2008 to October 2009, well over a year, so definitely crossed over into long term . I never waited for '3 times under 40'. IAA makes it all different.
 
Yeah, I'm already mucking with the TR threshold- 70 instead of 50, to have a bigger safety margin. Though usually when he drops he's going below 50 anyways. I think there's only a couple of times so far that I've taken reductions that wouldn't have happened under normal TR rules.

Speaking of which... he's a bit overdue for a reduction, given his recent pattern of plummeting ever 6 cycles or so. Maybe that means I should expect some action tomorrow. In which case tomorrow morning might not be the best time to mess with R. Hmm.
 
I think there's only a couple of times so far that I've taken reductions that wouldn't have happened under normal TR rules.
At one point I had a BCS turn into the new dose.
Speaking of which... he's a bit overdue for a reduction, given his recent pattern of plummeting ever 6 cycles or so. Maybe that means I should expect some action tomorrow. In which case tomorrow morning might not be the best time to mess with R. Hmm.
Exactly. The last time we discussed a new R scale was 12/02, after nearly 48 hours of pink and red. Next thing you know he turned yellow and earned another reduction the following day. That's the R threat :p
 
A long term diabetic is one that was diagnosed at least one year ago. I ignored the reductions for long term diabetic rule too. They are made for "regular" diabetics, who generally don't hold reductions as well if you just reduce at under 50. If Neko went under 50, she held the reduction. At some point when she was on tiny doses I tended to shave the reductions, and that seemed to work better. But not when she was in dose free fall.

At one point I had a BCS turn into the new dose.
More than once I had temporary reductions (for whatever reason, often to catch up on sleep), turn into permanent ones.

You are now seeing fully what the 5.0 unit dose can do, the 5.5 unit depot is gone. He could still be bouncing from the long streak of green on the 6th. If you don't see bounce clearing tomorrow, I might think about whether this is a failed reduction. It may mean time to go to under 50 for reduction point. Or maybe not. Up to Oberon. :cat: Tonight might be the high before the low.
 
Back
Top