12/9 Henry AMPS 115 +2 160 +11 99 PMPS 92 +1 91 +2 62 +3 49 +3.5 70 +4.25 75 + 5.5 95

Morning, nice low blue to start.:cool:

Though you have taken the dose down, the depot of the 3.75u will still be in play, that means that you may still see BG numbers that are driven by the 3.75u dose.
I would recommend, given that he doesn't appear to have bounced, testing at +1
If the number is about the same or lower, you may need to monitor again at +2 or earlier, depending on what BG he is at +1

If he has a significant food bump, then you can probably wait till +3 or +4.
I'll check in on you at +1 to give you a hand should you need it.

G
 
Nice work last night, Team Henry.:) Fantastic start for him this morning, too!:cool:
Good for you for trying out TR, Robert. I think it's wonderful that you did that. Now you know what it's like. You always have the option to try it again should testing Henry ever become a one person job.

Not sure if anyone mentioned this: do you have any neosporin to put on his ears? If you think they are sore or scabbed up, buy some neosporin healing ointment (not cream) and dab it very sparingly on his ear where you tested.
 
Nice work last night, Team Henry.:) Fantastic start for him this morning, too!:cool:
Good for you for trying out TR, Robert. I think it's wonderful that you did that. Now you know what it's like. You always have the option to try it again should testing Henry ever become a one person job.

Not sure if anyone mentioned this: do you have any neosporin to put on his ears? If you think they are sore or scabbed up, buy some neosporin healing ointment (not cream) and dab it very sparingly on his ear where you tested.
Yes we have neosporin and does speed up the healing but when poke Henry so much even that can't keep up
 
Yes we have neosporin and does speed up the healing but when poke Henry so much even that can't keep up
Henry is looking beautiful :cat: And I saw on yesterday's thread you use the AT Lancet - I use that one too and you are right it's 28g. I bought some ReliOn 30g lancets from Walmart - I personally still like using the 28g especially if it's night time and I'm tired and trying to test :p But I'll use the 30g when I have more patience. And if you buy a higher gauge lancet, you don't need a new lancet device (unless you want one) - they lancet needles are pretty universal (I just plugged the ReliOn 30g into my AT lancet).
 
Henry is looking beautiful :cat: And I saw on yesterday's thread you use the AT Lancet - I use that one too and you are right it's 28g. I bought some ReliOn 30g lancets from Walmart - I personally still like using the 28g especially if it's night time and I'm tired and trying to test :p But I'll use the 30g when I have more patience. And if you buy a higher gauge lancet, you don't need a new lancet device (unless you want one) - they lancet needles are pretty universal (I just plugged the ReliOn 30g into my AT lancet).


OK I'll check out Wal-Mart

Does the 30g make it more difficult to draw blood or is it a matter technique
 
OK I'll check out Wal-Mart

Does the 30g make it more difficult to draw blood or is it a matter technique
Matter of technique and how willing the ears are to bleed - the 30g will of course make a smaller hole than the 28g.
 
Have you tried applying gentle pressure with a cold compress after poking. It reduces bruising.
I used a 28, intact I started with a 23, and tested a lot, just have s look at his ss. We had no problems.

One thing that can make it more uncomfortable for them is if you are not getting the sweet spot and are hitting the main vein.

Do you know what I mean by the sweet Spot?
 
Have you tried applying gentle pressure with a cold compress after poking. It reduces bruising.
I used a 28, intact I started with a 23, and tested a lot, just have s look at his ss. We had no problems.

One thing that can make it more uncomfortable for them is if you are not getting the sweet spot and are hitting the main vein.

Do you know what I mean by the sweet Spot?

No I have no idea what a sweat spot is?
 
Have you tried Weruva or Soulistic cat foods? They are lower in calories and many cats like them. I was all alone having to care for Max. Granted he was a docile cat, but he sure hated fluids. I got him to accept them with a special favorite treat. What was interesting was he was not food oriented until he became diabetic. I hope you can figure out a routine to make testing easy because TR does give the best chance to reach remission.
 
No I have no idea what a sweat spot is?

From the link shared by @Gill & George

4395c545-36bf-4aba-bec7-4392fcdb191c-jpeg.48119
 
My vet taught me to test freehand using 25g needles . I tried lancets but stuck with the Terumo needles. They are very sharp and I always got plenty of blood, sometimes too much. Max didn’t mind
 
I guess no matter what this is a definite reduction of 0.25 units at AMPS tomorrow

3.50 to 3.25
 
What the heck is going on here. Henry's last 8 cycles or so have broke into another pattern???
 
Sandy good news BG reading @ +4.25 is (75)

Now in (1) hour - Henry will get his normal meal of LC (2%) wet
Which is fed (4) times daily
 
What the heck is going on here. Henry's last 8 cycles or so have broke into another pattern???
LOL :D when did you ditch the dry?

Now in (1) hour - Henry will get his normal meal of LC (2%) wet
Which is fed (4) times daily
I think its a good idea to test once more before you feed that meal. Depending on the number, you may want to give him something higher than 2%

Is the PM+5.5 meal his last meal until AM shot time?

Under normal circumstances when do you like to call it a night?
 
LOL :D when did you ditch the dry? About a week ago


I think its a good idea to test once more before you feed that meal. Depending on the number, you may want to give him something higher than 2% ==> We can feed 5% if necessary

Is the PM+5.5 meal his last meal until AM shot time? ==> Correct his next meal will be 6.5 hours later AMPS

Under normal circumstances when do you like to call it a night? ==> Midnight ==> but can do +7 (1:00am) to give everybody confidence that Henry's OK so they too can call it night
 
OK Sandy

Henry's BG Reading @ PMPS + 5.5 is (95) which is 11:30pm EST
He is on the rise with no food since PM+3.5. Feed him his normal meal and get some shut eye.
If you can swing it, a PM+11 would be nice. That way when you get your AMPS you will have some idea of whether he is on his way up or down.

AM dose is 3.25u :cool:
 
He is on the rise with no food since PM+3.5. Feed him his normal meal and get some shut eye.
If you can swing it, a PM+11 would be nice. That way when you get your AMPS you will have some idea of whether he is on his way up or down.

AM dose is 3.25u :cool:

Thank You staying up
 
Back
Top