12/9/20 - Squeaky! AMPS 313 +6=206 PMPS=275 +6=150

Yes it’s fine. Only reason I thought a +2 was if he didn’t drop she would not need the +6.

True.

I thought Squeaky would clear the bounce and head lower at night, but looks like he might do that in the second half of this cycle (so a later nadir) and we might have a lower AMPS. I could be wrong. Again!
 
I’d still do a +2.
Or feed him at +2 and do a +3 or +4.
Elise, if testing is such a challenge, okay if she saves the pokes for later in the cycle?
Yes it’s fine. Only reason I thought a +2 was if he didn’t drop she would not need the +6.
True.
I thought Squeaky would clear the bounce and head lower at night, but looks like he might do that in the second half of this cycle (so a later nadir) and we might have a lower AMPS. I could be wrong. Again!

Thanks for your discussion and for caring! I was asleep before I got to read your posts. It's now 4 am and he just tested 150 at +6.

He's getting neurotic about it. Hiding after the alarm goes off, making me drag him out from under the desk, and he has a nervous system twitch when he's wishing he could run away. It's very active, much more than before. Also he couldn't relax when I took him outside yesterday.

I really can't do any tests that aren't totally necessary.

He has food all the time, except 2 hours before shot. So when I awoke, I could see that he had been eating. I think, I am going to have to trust him most of the time to eat when he needs. He very rarely eats a big meal, mostly large snacks.

Elise, if I had done a +2 and then if he had dropped, that would have been 2 tests. If I had just waited for him to drop, only one. I really can't test any more than necessary.

Anyway, I doubt he is going to drop 100 points between now and the morning, since this is nadir. He just ate some treats -- he won't take them from my hand any more, only near his food dish.

He's getting traumatized and neurotic. Not a nice outcome. And I get it. The pricks hurt. The shots hurt. The medicine (buprenorphine) hurts. Not much to look forward to.

I can also tell a lot by how much water he drinks. It's pretty easy to tell if he's high.

Sigh, not easy. Well at least he doesn't hate me. We have had some of the nicest purr-fests lately. (When he knows he's not at risk of getting pricked.)

Thank you for your help!!!!!
 
Jan, he might drop later in the cycle since he is clearing a bounce. Nadirs are often later in such cycles. Squeaky has done this before.

Again, just be mentally prepared for a lower AMPS and a green number to shoot.
 
Jan, he might drop later in the cycle since he is clearing a bounce. Nadirs are often later in such cycles. Squeaky has done this before.

Again, just be mentally prepared for a lower AMPS and a green number to shoot.

Yes, I'm expecting it. And I know it's a good thing! So I'm thinking of a few strategies to try to minimize shots. One is to test every 1-1/2 hours instead of every hour. Another is just to feed him steadily a little bit every hour, and not test, if he doesn't seem too low.

I know that some cats don't follow tight regulation, but they go into remission anyway. Without hourly tests. I have a friend whose cat did that. She gave him his insulin twice a day and didn't test at all. I'm not going to be like that, but I really need to minimize the tests.
 
Jan, he might drop later in the cycle since he is clearing a bounce. Nadirs are often later in such cycles. Squeaky has done this before.

Again, just be mentally prepared for a lower AMPS and a green number to shoot.

Hi Bhooma, 178 this morning. He is doing better since I didn't test much last night. He isn't quivering like he was yesterday.

I think we can do this with a minimum of shots. I just need to be cautious and watchful.

Thank you for all your input.
 
@tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom

Oh, one other thing I learned from the last two days that you might find interesting.

Usually we get the blood on one prick for the BG test. I feel happy that I've gotten better at it.

Yesterday, however, it was two pricks all day long to get enough blood for BG reading, just like at the beginning when we started doing all of this. It was really frustrating to have this be more difficult yesterday, along with seeing his distress......, then I realized it's because he's in FOF and the blood is elsewhere.....

So I learned when he's upset, in FOF mode, his ears have less blood. Making it more challenging.

This morning, back to one prick again! Happy.
 
Back
Top