? 12/8, woke up to vomiting at +5.5 am, BG 179 +6, trip to hide him, and dosage?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Nat & Fluffy

Active Member
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...-to-low-200s-past-5-days.169085/#post-1834236

^ I believe this is my previous post from several days ago.

Sigh. Woke up to Fluffy vomiting at +5.5 am today (5:45). He last vomited at 11/26. This is the absolute worst time...

Yesterday, I got an unexpected message from our landlord that our property is going to be shown to another person this morning at 11:30 am (+3.25) and I am lucky my boyfriend who lives a few minutes down from me is able to take him and watch him for a few hours. I ALSO have to take my last final today at 11:30. I really cannot afford to do badly on this test and retake the class. My grades have been slipping as well as my sleep since Fluffy has been staying with me :( I just want him to get better numbers sooner... He's never thrown up so often before.

Today I was expecting from the look of how fast his numbers were dropping that today they'd maybe reach a green but how can I tell, since I will be away!?! This is just a frustrating day... they want to make us sign the ridiculous lease form that we will be staying from August 2017 to June 2018 ASAP. This early. How can we tell where we're going to live for that entire time!!!!?

My roommates and I are looking for pet friendly apartments. We think we can find one, but our lease now is until the end of July 2017 as we signed it. I don't know how many times I will have to drive Fluffy back and forth to my boyfriends to hide him this semester. It's not at all a long trip or anything, but it's stressful for Fluffy I bet.

As far as dosage go, how long should I keep him on 3? He's on Tight Regulation just starting out.




I hope you and FDMB are doing okay. Please everyone keep Wendy and Neko in your prayers and kind thoughts... I wish I could give Neko such a big hug. I wish our lovely sugar babies lived as long as we did. All I have for Neko is love. I can only imagine what you, Wendy, are going through. Infinite, infinite hugs and love.

:( :bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Part of me is wondering also why he was throwing up... was it because his numbers were so high for the past couple of days!? The last time he threw up was about two weeks ago on thanksgiving when he possibly ate a crumb.

I really hope it isn't some underlying problem. His throw up looks like the same consistency when his numbers are so high, like white, clear, and mucusy... :( (sorry for the graphics!)
 
My kitties will throw up a little clear or foamy substance in the wee hours of the morning, if their stomachs are empty. I usually give them a little before bed snack, and they usually have a little food left in their bowls when I go to bed, and it's empty in the morning. If I forget, then I sometimes get the wee morning hours throw up.
Best of luck with your final.
 
As far as dosage go, how long should I keep him on 3? He's on Tight Regulation just starting out.
INCREASING THE DOSE:
  • Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
    • if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.
    • when your cat starts to see nadirs under 100, hold the dose for at least 10 cycles before increasing.
Since you saw some blue recently, you would need to hold the dose for 8 - 10 cycles. Today is cycle 10. If you don't see any green, I'd increase his dose to 3.25 units tonight.

Sorry about the vomit and the craziness with your apartment. I hope Fluffy doesn't get too stressed about the trip to your BF. :bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
@LizzieInTexas <3 thank you Lizzie!!! :bighug:Ahh sorry I'm not acquainted with the acronym SEB, what is that? :bookworm:

@Dyana
:bighug::bighug::bighug: Ahh thanks dyana <3! I've been advised to take his food away around after +4, and especially past +6, but I feel like that's too long between meals to eat. Fluffy usually has just a little bit of leftovers that he tries to eat around +8 if I leave them out as I used to before, as he eats most of his food between AM and +2-3, but maybe should I give him a small snack around +11, an hour before his AM and PM shots?

@carfurby :bighug:
:bighug:
Thank you so much! I need to print those instructions and tape them to my head because I am going to get confused with numbers and cycles. I'm going to try and see if I can wait until 10:15 (+2) to see how far he dips, and get out of my apartment pronto for our escape. I'm hoping he'll be around under 100 by then. If he does hit those greens, the plan is that I reduce to 2.75 tonight!

@Carol & Murphy
Fluffy doesn't act sick at all! He meowed a little more than usual after he threw up, but he's acting absolute fine. He cleaned his coat, and then jumped on the chair and onto my desk to look out the beautiful view outside the window :) :rolleyes::rolleyes:
 
Second the opinion re stomach acid from an empty stomach!
Question, why are they showing a place you signed a lease for thru July??
I'm not sure they can be doing that?
I'm no legal expert but I'd question that one..
So sorry this week is so jumbled for you when you need to focus on your exams:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:
Glad you have a place to squirrel Fluffy away while your landlord shows the place....still seems not righto_Oo_Oo_O

ETA: SEB slippery elm bark, available at health food stores or fancy grocery stores or, on Amazon!
 
Ahh sorry I'm not acquainted with the acronym SEB, what is that? :bookworm:
@Gussie's mom nailed it. Slippery Elm Bark I got mine from Amazon. I put a scant 1/8 teaspoon in a bit of water and dissolve it and add the slurry to his food.
https://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000UE25XQ/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Some have reported that their cats turn their noses up at it - and it was suggested to mix with about a teaspoon of baby food (Gerber stage 2 formula) to mask the flavor.

Here is detailed info on SEB (mid-page, scroll down).
http://www.felinecrf.org/holistic_treatments.htm

How often are you feeding? Smaller, more frequent meals will help also.
 
Some cats are grazers. If so, you don't need to withhold food past +4. In order to avoid extra carbs slowing down the insulin late in the cycle, you can always leave some zero or very low carb snacks out overnight, such as freeze dried meat. Some people put it in an autofeeder, then have the feeder turn to an empty spot at +10 so the preshots is not food influenced. I found if I gave Neko a before bed snack, her tummy was usually fine overnight.

BTW, good thing you described the vomit, or someone here would have asked!:p
 
TODAY WAS SO HECTIC! Exam done, then got lunch quickly, and just took Fluffy back home!! (Props to my boyfriend, almost broke up with the man because he overslept a little lol)
Poor Fluffs, you could tell he was so stressed out!!! I checked his BG when we had about 15 minutes to settle in, @ +5.5, first time 86, then gasped, then checked again and got 74!

Then I checked at +9 and it was 68 *______* !!! I have never seen him this low! Now if he could stay near this area that would be great!!!!

FIRST GREENS!!! I think Fluffy is due for a reduction tonight down to 2.75! I gave him a very small portion of his food to snack on as a reward at +5.5, and at +9 . :eek:
But I'll be watching vigilantly, since it looks like he's going steadily lower. I've got some FF Chicken Classic to feed him in case of hypo, and some very high carb treats if necessary, but I'm also afraid when his shot is due in a couple of hours... I will need some eyes on this board to help me because who knows what his PMPS shot is going to be :confused::confused::confused:

@Carol & Murphy :D! yeah I'm guessing it's because I feed him and let him feed and take it away past +3 or +4.... He's at 15 lbs, just the right amount for his size since he is just a lean large cat. He usually eats during the morning 3/4 of the can (1 can of his food is 200 calories, and then another 3/4 at night. My problem is how to divide it amongst the day, since it looks like he kinda starves for much of the afternoon and evening... I am now done with finals, which means I can finally dedicate to him for a whole month without most interruptions! I am going to see if I can get a automatic feeder which will be very helpful when I start school next semester.

And @Gussie's mom <3<3<3 YEAH oh let me tell you, we signed this apartment from August 2016 to July 2017. About several weeks ago, they told us they wanted us to sign by the end of November if we were going to be signing another year from August 2017 to July 2018. We didn't sign it, because we have no clue what is happening that far in the future this early. Like how the heck are we going to know that far in advance!!!!!!??? My roommates and I are very upset about this, because it is WAY too early to be showing the apartment to other people... we are looking into really complaining about it. And I really don't think I can just keep moving Fluffy in and out every time someone is interested, it's pretty stressful on him and his bean xD But thank you so much for the support <3<3<3 exams are done, I can rest... just a wee bit...

Lizzie thank you!!! <3 <3 <3 I will be sure to buy it!! And I mentioned to Carol I let him free feed from the start of his shot and take it away around +3 or +4, where there's about a 1/4 or so left, which I freeze and use for the next meal. Scared me to see him vomit again :( I'm not trying to starve you Fluffs!!!



IMG_0214.JPG

Here he was earlier today for his drive back to home!! Why can't the landlord be nice and let him stay put, he doesn't harm anyone and only brings joy and happiness to everyone who comes across him :)
 
Some cats are grazers. If so, you don't need to withhold food past +4. In order to avoid extra carbs slowing down the insulin late in the cycle, you can always leave some zero or very low carb snacks out overnight, such as freeze dried meat. Some people put it in an autofeeder, then have the feeder turn to an empty spot at +10 so the preshots is not food influenced. I found if I gave Neko a before bed snack, her tummy was usually fine overnight.

BTW, good thing you described the vomit, or someone here would have asked!:p

:bighug::bighug::bighug: So glad to see you Wendy :bighug::bighug::bighug: Do you have any suggestions for zero carb snacks I could buy?

Hahaha yes it wasn't pleasant to describe, nonetheless awaken from slumber to hear a retching sound from my closet :blackeye:
 
:D:D:D
Great to see green! Well done Fluffy and Nat:D:D:D

Are you doing slgs or TR? I can't remember what you decided, don't see it on your Sig block.

SLGS yes he earned a reduction.
On TR he earns the reduction when he drops below 50.
Midnight for me so I'm heading to bed, but I would suggest you get a test at +11.5 and get some advice/support just incase he is green at preshot.

Finally I just want to say omg look at those fluffy feet, I want to pick him up and smooch him:D:D:D
 
:D:D:D
Great to see green! Well done Fluffy and Nat:D:D:D

Are you doing slgs or TR? I can't remember what you decided, don't see it on your Sig block.

SLGS yes he earned a reduction.
On TR he earns the reduction when he drops below 50.
Midnight for me so I'm heading to bed, but I would suggest you get a test at +11.5 and get some advice/support just incase he is green at preshot.

Finally I just want to say omg look at those fluffy feet, I want to pick him up and smooch him:D:D:D

@Gill & George !!!! :bighug:
:bighug: AHH he would love that, he loves people and attention :joyful::joyful: He's on TR! Right now he's on his tenth cycle of 3 units, does that mean if he doesn't reach 50 or lower, do I have to bump him up to 3.25? :nailbiting: Too soon to tell though, can't know if he's going to bounce anytime soon... Okay will do!! :D




I really got to get his spreadsheet organized ugh :rolleyes:

***(If anyone knows any better templates, let me know haha!)
 
No don't bump him up just yet as he has only just seen green.

But the reduction would be earned if he drops below 50.
Can you update the thread title with the most recent tests and write something to highlight that you are green heading into ps, just so you get more eyes. I really have to go to bed I have a long day.

Some reading for you
Tr sticky on shooting and handling low numbers

http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...regulation-shooting-handling-low-numbers.147/
 
You want to stick with the 3u right now. If he goes below 50 you will reduce, if his nadirs stay in a nice range like today you will hold the dose. You will only increase if the nadirs get out of a good range. *Note chances are Fluffy will bounce from today's green because he's not used to it. Bounces can take up to 6 cycles to clear. When a kitty gets into a good range and then bounces you wait for the bounce to clear before considering increasing - you want to see if the same dose can get them back into the good range after the bounce has cleared
 
A little plain meat can be a good no carb snack late in the cycle. But I also note that it is okay to free feed lantus kitties (with the exception of taking the food away at +10 so you know that your PS test isn't food influenced and it's safe to shoot). Many people front load the food into the first part of the cycle to stop the kitty zooming up after food at the end of the cycle but it isn't necessary with all kitties. With Fluffy we don't know yet. Until/unless you get evidence that Fluffy is one of those that zooms from food given after +? I wouldn't be too worried about giving snacks later in the cycle (before +10). Vyktor was one that was always free fed.

Also please be sure that Fluffy is getting enough calories. If he hasn't eaten sufficient calories by +3/+4 then you have to give more later in the cycle. And it does sound like you will have to in order to avoid vomitting anyway, we have plenty of kitties that can't go without food for too many hours or they get the acid tum.

ETA: anything other than complete food (canned or raw with the appropriate additives) should not make up more than about 15% of a kitty's diet or they will suffer nutritionally.
 
Last edited:
Yay!!! Green!:D:D

Such an achievement. Love, love, love the picture. Do you transport in a carrier? It might be less stressful, it might me more stressful depending on him.

This is what I give Gizmo (3-5 nuggets at +7) for zero carb.
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B00YWPIFBU/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Here is the auto feeder I use:
https://smile.amazon.com/gp/product/B000GEWHNS/ref=oh_aui_detailpage_o02_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

How much does he weigh?

Gizmo is around 10#s. I feed him 9 oz/24hr period.

He gets a bit more food preshot then what I call snack @ +2, +4, +6 and his freeze dry nuggets @ +7.
^^ that is both cycles. This works out perfect with the feeder (per cycle). So about 1 1/2 oz @ preshot and about 1 oz/snack.

Congrats on finishing school (for now). This next month will help you get a good routine down and allow you to get more tests in so you can start to see patterns with his cycles.

Keep asking questions. :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top