12/8 Khan +10/42, +10.5/49, +11.5/98,+18/337

Status
Not open for further replies.

pepperthecat1969

Member Since 2010
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=31573

Last night Khan ventured out to play in the couch! and then hang out by the front door and came to watch tv in the middle of the living room. This is good stuff!

Khan never woke me up and yet this morning he was purring and looked really happy. His paws were doing the squeezing thing on the comforter. His eyes were squinting.. like he was giving a big smile. I fed him at 630am (+10) 1/3cFF Low Carb-waited then fed more 1/2 hr later. I then gave Fancy Feast seafood gravy-1/2 teaspoon. Then at +11.5 gave 1 teaspoon HC Fancy Feast Gravy with 1cFFLow carb.. I had to leave for work so I didn't want his number to drop again.

I don't have the SS updated since I didn't bring the BG booklet with me this morning. I'll update after I go home in 2 hrs.

I do believe Khan's body is moving along in a positive direction with the BG keeping under 200 as best as possible. His back bone is not so predominate- so I am hoping he is beginning to gain weight.
 
Re: 12/8 Khan +10/42, +10.5/47, +11.5/96-no shot for today

My friend is giving me a scale so I'll have a rough idea if Khan is gaining or losing wt. I'll weigh myself then add him in after I know my weight.
 
Re: 12/8 Khan +10/42, +10.5/47, +11.5/96-no shot for today

I'm glad to hear that he is acting so happy, and seems to be feeling better. His numbers are better overall, so I'm sure that's helping. I understand why you wouldn't want to give his shot at a low number like that when you need to leave, just be prepared that his number may be pretty high tonight, ok?

Khan earned a dose reduction with the 42, so your new dose is 1.0u...congrats on the dosecrease!

Great that you will be able to weigh him soon, I hope you're right and he is gaining now.
 
Re: 12/8 Khan +10/42, +10.5/47, +11.5/96-no shot for today

AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! your posting every day is what I wait for. your advice means so much to me. :) WOW .. a dose reduction.. YIPEEEE>....!!! we maybe on our way to.... (I won't say it to jinx it)... I can only keep hoping.

I just had a discussion with my vet yesterday on how frustrating this is and he told me to hang on since everything he has heard and read is so positive for cats with Lantus. Just hold on since things are about to turn for the better. He was very positive to me. I'm so happy he didn't play into my negative attitude. He just was positive.

I'm wondering if anyone has ever used a short acting insulin along with the Lantus? It would help when a Lantus shot could not be given but yet help bring the high number down. It is done all the time with humans. My vet was wondering the same thing.

Briquette (grandma) seems to be doing much better today as well. I kept at her yesterday with food.. and that is definitely the key.. however it wasn't the best food (Fancy Feast mixed with a/d-mostly gravy fancy feast) but she ate and that is what is important right now. I will work at offering low phosphorus foods and continue to offer the Renal prescription wet foods mixed in with it. I will also continue providing the Sub Q since that can mean a big difference.

The sad part of all of this is I'm watching my cancer cat go down hill. I listened to her breathing this morning and was just saddened since my gut tells me we are rounding a corner.. if you know what I mean.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top