12/8 Josie AMPS 315 +5 247 PMPS 436!!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

eccentricfuzzyme

Member Since 2011
Josie is at 315 this morning.
Sort of odd numbers yesterday. Went from 286 to 211 to 365.
Hoping she will stabalize a little on this dose, at least enough to know if I should bump it up or not.
 
Re: 12/8 Josie AMPS 315 +5 247

Looking at Josie's ss, it looks like the numbers are leveling off nicely in yellows and that's better than before. I think I'd like to see if Josie can hold these yellows and maybe come down a bit soon.
Is food low carb wet? Any other things that may be affecting numbers, like dental needs, other meds?

What are you thinking about how it's going?

ETA: Forgot to add, if you can't get a test after +5 that's no problem as it's around about mid cycle, yes?
you have been doing fine by testing at different times to get an idea of how it's going. It would be good to get the bedtime check as on 11/23 and 11/29 the ps was pink but there was a drop down to blue later on.

I do like to see the level yellows..... how's Josie acting lately? Any better or the same.
 
Re: 12/8 Josie AMPS 315 +5 247

her pmps is my bedtime, it is 11 pm. that is the only time i can do 12 hours apart every day of the week.
she is on grain free high protien evo dry food, that she eats wet, mushed up with water and her b12 pills.

she is acting the same i think, seems happy, purrs, follows her brother around.

her hind leg neurapthy isnt getting any better yet though, and she occasionally poops outside the litter box.
 
There are some cats that are very carb sensitive. If my Shadoe gets even a mouthful of just a few pieces of dry food.... you guessed it, she soars into the 400s. See if you can cut out the dry and see if her numbers are better.


I am not clear about your shot times..... you have to shoot at 11am and 11pm? Are you home for only 12hrs?
would it be at all possible to have earlier shot times? That way you would be able to see what her numbers are doing overnite and then you will know why she is high in the mornings.

ETA: you get up to test overnite then?

I'd like to see numbers not affected by the dry food, even just to test for a few days or so.
 
For the neuropathy, can you ask your vet for a vial of B12 and you can give Josie shots which may help her quicker.
 
11 am and 11 pm are the only times i can always be home 12 hours apart. several nights a week i cant get home til 10:30 or so so i cant move it any earlier. and i cant move it any later as it is already at my bedtime.

i am not interested in switching to wet food for many reasons. i will add this to my sig line.
 
Ah ok that makes sense then.... about the shot times.

I guess the food could maybe be juggled by time? What do you think? See if you can spread out the food when it's given? Some people don't give any more or less food, but adjust when the main meals are and when the snacks are given. You could try something like that maybe.
 
Yes, you are pretty much correct.

You should try to take up any food in the 2hrs before ps.... you want to try and get the most pure number, one that is not influenced by food.
Next you would test at ps and let's say the numbers was a bit lot so you delayed the shot and tested again.
The 2nd number was good so you go ahead wit the shot... you don't give any food until you have decided to give the shot or skip the shot. Then you can feed.

if you wanted, you don't have to give the whole big main meal when you give the shot - you could always give half that meal then wait an hour or so and give the other half of the meal. It could be a way to stagger the foods and lessen the big jump in BG at ps time.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top