12/8 Fred AMPS 52, +1 83, +2 74

Valerie & Fred

Member Since 2023
12/7

Back at it again with a low amps @ 52 (meter check). He’s eating his breakfast now and I’m gonna give his food like 15 minutes to kick in until I shoot :nailbiting:

being this low at pre shot how often should I be spot checking? Every 20 minutes? 30?

updates:
+1 83 so far so good :joyful: let’s keep it green today
+2 74
+3 132 not as low but can’t be mad about it
+4 129
 
Last edited:
I'm not an expert but I looked at your spreadsheet and saw that this is the first time he's been so low at pre-shot. Normally I would stall (no food, no shot) for 15-20 min then re-test to see which way he's going. You don't wanna feed at first cause you don't want to influence his number with food.
Also of you're home with him all day and can monitor it would probably be safe to shoot but I would get a +1 and +2 to make sure he's not dropping too low.
If you're leaving for work and noone is with him I wouldn't give a full dose. Also keep in mind you're not shooting the number he's at right now but the number he will be at when he reaches his nadir. Also partial dose is always better than no dose.

I'll tag few more experienced members and hopefully they see it and can help you out.

Also read this if you haven't already

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo

Ps I love his profile picture! So cute:cat:
 
I'm not an expert but I looked at your spreadsheet and saw that this is the first time he's been so low at pre-shot. Normally I would stall (no food, no shot) for 15-20 min then re-test to see which way he's going. You don't wanna feed at first cause you don't want to influence his number with food.
Also of you're home with him all day and can monitor it would probably be safe to shoot but I would get a +1 and +2 to make sure he's not dropping too low.
If you're leaving for work and noone is with him I wouldn't give a full dose. Also keep in mind you're not shooting the number he's at right now but the number he will be at when he reaches his nadir. Also partial dose is always better than no dose.

I'll tag few more experienced members and hopefully they see it and can help you out.

Also read this if you haven't already

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...y-to-shoot-handle-lower-pre-shot-numbers.147/

@Bandit's Mom @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee @Angela & Cleo

Ps I love his profile picture! So cute:cat:
Thank you!! :cat:

went though this a couple days ago with a not AS low amps but still lower than he’s used to. Ended up stalling for an hour but his numbers were about the same. fed and shot after that and gave a reduced dose and his numbers shot up to the moon after that.

This low of a number worry’s me more but I was advised I can shoot over 50 on TR. And i’ll be here all day today thankfully, so I guess this will be the real test to see how he responds :D


I’ll definitely update at +1 and 2, he already came up to 58 a bit ago so so far so good!
 
Thank you!! :cat:

went though this a couple days ago with a not AS low amps but still lower than he’s used to. Ended up stalling for an hour but his numbers were about the same. fed and shot after that and gave a reduced dose and his numbers shot up to the moon after that.

This low of a number worry’s me more but I was advised I can shoot over 50 on TR. And i’ll be here all day today thankfully, so I guess this will be the real test to see how he responds :D


I’ll definitely update at +1 and 2, he already came up to 58 a bit ago so so far so good!

Purrrfect
If you're home all day and are comfortable shooting then go ahead but please keep an eye on him and do random spot checks to see how he reacts. It will be great to gather more data so that way next time he's low you'll know how he will react.
I know it's scary shooting this low for the first time (trust me we all have been there at some point) but that's why we're all here, to help each other out during those times.
Good luck and keep us posted :cat::bighug::cat::bighug:
 
@Valeriemichellee CONGRATS on shooting your first GREEN!!! and what a green that was.

upload_2023-10-4_18-3-49-png.67725
 
Is the Libre reading higher than the ear prick? That’s unusual. Good job shooting your first green.
 
Is the Libre reading higher than the ear prick? That’s unusual. Good job shooting your first green.
They are today, I haven’t seen that happen before libre has always read lower than the ear prick! Hope he hasn’t gone lower than 50 and I just didn’t catch it :nailbiting:

as of +2 he read 74 (80 on libre) so not as dramatic of a difference now
 
Come on Fred, show us how shooting low leads to low flat (safe) cycles please. :D

one question: I was due to up Fred’s dosage tonight so I’m going to assume this it one of the instances where I would hold his dose now for 5 days(10 cycles)? Is that the way to do it?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top