Georgette and Clare
Member Since 2014
Good afternoon, Lantus Land neighbors!
We're sending out lots of hugs and skritches to all the kitties and beans in the neighborhood today.
Last Post
Today's news:
AMPS 312
+2 355
+4.5 329
I didn't post yesterday. We were preparing for a dinner party. We'd invited over Clare's sub caregiver, Jenna, and two of DH's friends, who all work with him at the local Y. DH, who is a wonderful cook, was making spaghetti and meatballs for dinner.
All was in readiness, the salad made and chilling, dessert cooling, and the sauce simmering on the stove, when I noticed that I hadn't heard from Clare in awhile -- and I knew she was awake. I went into the kitchen and ACK! ohmygod_smile she had somehow pushed a meatball out of the sauce (which was on the stovetop in a wok-type pan) onto the floor and was eating it! She ate about a third of it.
The rest of the night, as you can imagine, her BGs were very high. This morning they were coming under control; but we lowered her dose in preparation for leaving for the night for a trip to Madison. Jenna's trying out a new protocol and doing the testing, at least at PS, for the first time. We lowered Clare's dose to 0.1 last night (the plunge-and-release method gives us about that on our syringes).
So it's been quite a time for Clare. She seems unfazed: waking us up at the usual time, wanting to go for walks in the snow about every 10 minutes, hungry and thirsty, and just her 5 lbs., 15-oz. of amazing self.
Blessings to everyone -- I know we get our share, for sure!
Georgette and Clare
We're sending out lots of hugs and skritches to all the kitties and beans in the neighborhood today.
Last Post
Today's news:
AMPS 312
+2 355
+4.5 329
I didn't post yesterday. We were preparing for a dinner party. We'd invited over Clare's sub caregiver, Jenna, and two of DH's friends, who all work with him at the local Y. DH, who is a wonderful cook, was making spaghetti and meatballs for dinner.
All was in readiness, the salad made and chilling, dessert cooling, and the sauce simmering on the stove, when I noticed that I hadn't heard from Clare in awhile -- and I knew she was awake. I went into the kitchen and ACK! ohmygod_smile she had somehow pushed a meatball out of the sauce (which was on the stovetop in a wok-type pan) onto the floor and was eating it! She ate about a third of it.
The rest of the night, as you can imagine, her BGs were very high. This morning they were coming under control; but we lowered her dose in preparation for leaving for the night for a trip to Madison. Jenna's trying out a new protocol and doing the testing, at least at PS, for the first time. We lowered Clare's dose to 0.1 last night (the plunge-and-release method gives us about that on our syringes).
So it's been quite a time for Clare. She seems unfazed: waking us up at the usual time, wanting to go for walks in the snow about every 10 minutes, hungry and thirsty, and just her 5 lbs., 15-oz. of amazing self.
Blessings to everyone -- I know we get our share, for sure!
Georgette and Clare