12/8 Charlie +5:375, Amps:436, +4.5:241

Status
Not open for further replies.

Charliemeow

Very Active Member
+5:375 (not sure why his +5 on an empty tummy was higher than his pmps-maybe his liver dumped some glucose)
Amps:436, 6u

The amps test was done with my spare freestyle lite meter because I ran out of relion strips. I will be using the freestyle meter for a while.


viewtopic.php?f=24&t=31596
 
Re: 12/8 Charlie +5:375, Amps:436, 6u

If you have the 2 meters and don't mind a bit of a test, when you have strips for both meters, you could try to compare the two for a day or so.
For each time you test, do twice - once with each meter. Record all the numbers and you may see that one tests higher than the other most times.

I compared my Bayer contour and OTU to see which gave me the lower numbers, and it was consistently the Bayer, so since I need to keep about 100 for my cats, I went with the Bayer. my OTU is still used as our backup, but I know the numbers I get from it are likely a wee bit higher than the Bayer.
 
Re: 12/8 Charlie +5:375, Amps:436, 6u

+4.5: 241
I'm really happy with that 200 point drop! I'll test in a couple hours to see if maybe he'll go a little lower.

Gayle- I did a few comparison tests between my ultima and freestyle. With high numbers like my Charlie tends to run, the ultima tests a bit higher, but with normal numbers (me and dh), the ultima tests a little lower. I'd love to use my freestyle all the time because it makes the numbers look nicer, but those strips cost an arm and a leg! so I tend to stick mostly with the ultima.
 
Re: 12/8 Charlie +5:375, Amps:436, 6u

looking good claudia. :-D
 
Wow. That's all I gots to say on the current numbers.

Strips. I loved my Freestyle Lite too! One I learned how to turn on the beep when it had gotten enough blood it became my fav.

On the strips there are several places I shopped from:
http://www.hocks.com
http://www.diabetespeoples.com
http://www.healthwarehouse.com
http://www.americandiabeteswholesale.com

Often diabetespeoples had the best price [after shipping] but I ran into some issues trying to reach their customer service. Health Warehouse seemed to be very professional. I think I only bought once from AM D wholesale.

Also check the coupon sites - particularly for Health Warehouse and Hocks.
http://www.retailmenot.com - my first go to
http://www.couponcabin.com

Don't forget to click on the Hocks.com link/ad/banner at the top of the forum before you place your order there so the board can get a commission.
 
Pmps:433, 6u

Thanks everyone! What a good day for charlie's numbers! I'm going to hold at 6u tomorrow. I was planning to hold there anyway because tomorrow is my anatomy scan ultrasound and I didn't want one more thing to have to think about. But these good numbers make me want to hold the dose now. I've been snowed in with nearly a foot and a half of snow, so I'm excited to get out of the house tomorrow! I hope everyone has a great night.
 
Go Charlie! What a great day. :-D
The longest I've been snowed in was 4 days... five years ago when we were blessed with 5 feet of snow and drifts. The worst part was I had no ingredients in the pantry to bake any goodies. ohmygod_smile
Hope you have a great night!
 
just an fyi, don't forget about ebay for strips. fortunately with the freestyle meters, the strips work well waaaaaaaay past the expiration date so i even look just for expired ones 'cause i know they'll work and they're usually a really good deal

for instance, i recently picked up 200 for $55 that expire this month but then i found another deal and picked up another 300 for $35. the guy was clear they were a few months expired and i told him that's no problem as i know they work past the date and i'll be danged then if he didn't tell me he had a whole bunch that were expired and i got another 1000 from him for $60 so now i'm so well stocked with strips i shouldn't have to worry about them for a very long time. LOL!!

fwiw, i've used strips in the freestyle as far as a few years expired and on comparison tests with fresh unexpired strips, they were within 5 points sooooo :-)

i've used expired strips with other meters and they've been fine too. the only one i know of that you for sure can't use expired strips with is the aviva meter unless you disassemble it, do some soldering to it and trick it :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top