12/8 Alex AMPS 314,+3-186,+5-91

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hmmm I don't like this 314 this morning but I think it's probably (maybe)? because I started Alex on Flagyl last night?

Other than that, he is purry pants. He ate all of his breffis(I only wish Jackson did...I have no idea what's wrong with him :sad: ), all p's are in order and he's getting ready to settle into a nap.

After that, I'm sure he'll be ready to assist me with my job again....and I'll get more practice pressing the mute button :roll:

Have a nice day everyone :razz:

yesterday
 
Caryl --

With the TID dose schedule, how are you feeding?

Also, have you thought of trying FortiFlora before going right to Flagyl? I had the same knee jerk reaction with Gabby and Cyn reminded me to use FortiFlora. It set things right within a day or so.
 
Alex's spreadsheet is starting to look better!

Question (I'm trying to get up to speed here), I see the note on your spreadsheet that you are thinking of reducing the dose because of a bounce. I think one of the benefits of TID dosing for Alex would be the ability to get the insulin into him soon enough to cut the bounces down a bit, allowing you to finally get enough insulin into him without making him bounce worse. He did bounce to pink after the 91, but he came right back down (but not too fast like he used to). I'm not sure I would reduce the dose yet. The last couple of times he has given you yellow at preshot, he has had very nice cycles. If he can just start putting together more and more of those nice cycles in a row, then he might be getting somewhere.

You're able to test more and feed more frequently now, so I wouldn't be so quick to back off doses that give you green. You probably don't want him to get to 40 because he is still bouncing from there, but you can test often enough that you can catch his drops early and prevent him from getting to 40, right?
 
Sienne and Gabby said:
Caryl --

With the TID dose schedule, how are you feeding?

Also, have you thought of trying FortiFlora before going right to Flagyl? I had the same knee jerk reaction with Gabby and Cyn reminded me to use FortiFlora. It set things right within a day or so.

I'm feeding his normal times except I'm splitting breakfast and dinner. I'm giving him half of his breakfast at about 8 in the morning and the other half at about 11:00 ish when I get a break. Then he gets a smallish snack at about 1:30 when i get my lunch break. Then he gets a snack when i get my afternoon break which is when he gets his shot (in the 4PM area. Then he gets a little snack when I finish work at around 5:30. Then dinner part 1 at about 8-8:30 then part 2 at around 10-10:30. Then a snack before bed. (and liv-a-littles whenevah) :roll: If I feed too close to shooting time and i see the numbers are getting up there i will usually give a very small r booster just to control a food spike..like i did just now(cause I fell asleep watching tv and he was starving)

I do use a probiotic every day(not fortiflora) and it usually keeps him under control. I started flagyl yesterday because out of nowhere he just got a terrible case of liquid stools and he was already on Proviable (that's what it's called). I don't know why this has been happening to him but there's no apparent reason. He's had x-rays. His stool has been examined. His appetite is great. he hasn't lost weight. Maybe it's just a side effect of the hyper-t, his heart condition, diabetes, all the meds he's on or all of the above..who knows?
 
Libby and Lucy said:
Alex's spreadsheet is starting to look better!

Question (I'm trying to get up to speed here), I see the note on your spreadsheet that you are thinking of reducing the dose because of a bounce. I think one of the benefits of TID dosing for Alex would be the ability to get the insulin into him soon enough to cut the bounces down a bit, allowing you to finally get enough insulin into him without making him bounce worse. He did bounce to pink after the 91, but he came right back down (but not too fast like he used to). I'm not sure I would reduce the dose yet. The last couple of times he has given you yellow at preshot, he has had very nice cycles. If he can just start putting together more and more of those nice cycles in a row, then he might be getting somewhere.

You're able to test more and feed more frequently now, so I wouldn't be so quick to back off doses that give you green. You probably don't want him to get to 40 because he is still bouncing from there, but you can test often enough that you can catch his drops early and prevent him from getting to 40, right?
.

Hi Libby,

Yeah I was thinking about reducing just the morning dose back to 2.50. I just started working this week and already it's getting in the way of my life....not that I was being diligent about what I had planned out before. It seems as if Alex usually does go up at the end of his cycle and i was considering controlling that rise with r by shooting just a little bit at around +6.5 or +7, depending on his number...of course. for instance, I fell asleep after dinner tonight and Alex was starving when I woke up. he gets a shot at 12ish. I know he will spike from the 1/4 can of food he had and he was at 240 so I gave him appx .25r. He isn't real sensitive to it so it shouldn't do much if anything. I'm really just trying to keep him from going over 300.

It seems like 2.5 is too little and 2.75 for all 3 cycles might be too much (at least until I get him a little flatter). Unfortunately I really am not able to test more often than what I wrote in response to Sienne.I have to be present and accounted for except for break times even though I'm home. That's corporate America for you :( What do you think about making sure he has a little more food in the morning to keep those drops from happening...and trying to control his PS numbers the way i mentioned to try to flatten the curve? I'll keep the dose as is for the time being. 2.75/2.75/2.50

I never thought I'd say I didn't want to see green yet! (grasshopper is learning,right)?

Yes..I can keep him from getting to 40 lol! He has only gone there once since I've been doing this!!!! (unjinx unjinx) :-D :-D

THANKS!!! Please continue giving your input...we appreciate it !!!!♥

PS Hey Look.it worked like a charm :-D This Time lol
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top