Websterthecat
Member Since 2014
Yesterday's condo
Webster has some really high here lately. Hope to see these numbers come down. nailbite_smile
Webster has some really high here lately. Hope to see these numbers come down. nailbite_smile
Sandy and Black Kitty said:Good Morning![]()
![]()
AM+4 = 197 ... now that's more like it
Bounce over![]()
Sandy and Black Kitty said:Does he eat on the overnight cycles?
Also, I'm wondering why you increased on 12/05/AM. . .
Sandy and Black Kitty said:I am intimately familiar with DKA . Early on My Black Kitty went 2 rounds in as many months. Prior to the second instance his urine went from negative ketones to large in 24 hours - he was literally at deaths door.
My $0.02-
It's possible that that last increase has put his dose higher than his needs. Even with the skip on 11/30/PM followed by a bounce and reduction on 12/01/AM, he saw green on 12/04/PM. I know it's hard to sit on your hands in the face of a bounce, particularly with the threat of potential DKA looming. Frequent testing for ketones can bring peace of mind that he is safe while you wait. There are BG meters that check the blood for ketones as well. The strips are pricey however making just one test per day on a meter like that and using your regular meter for all the other testing would be well worth it. Much easier on the pocketbook than a trip to the ER and hospitalization. A stitch in time saves nine.
At this point being that he has a recent history of DKA I would not recommend reducing without a clear signal (BG <50 for newly diagnosed kitty). Your challenge now is to monitor closely to catch any lows you may be missing on the overnights.
From the 'hindsight is 20/20' dept.-
The 12/03/PM cycle is a good example. PMPS-489, PM+2-377, PM+3-285, PM+4-234. AMPS of 137 followed by a steady climb. It does not look like the PM+3 HC put the brakes on. Where did he go from there? That night would have been a night to continue monitoring and guiding with food. If that was not an option then leaving out some food (assuming he would feed himself) may have helped.
Regarding feeding ECID (and BK was very D) however FWIW I fed BK a full meal at PS times and mini meals (generally half of a full meal) at +4 and +8. The amount varied over the course of our journey since after the 2nd DKA he was down to 7 lbs and change and needed to regain the lost weight. When his weight stabilized a full meal was 1/2 can FF and the mini meals were 1/4 can. The schedule was the same for both AM and PM cycles. When he started (the very long trip) down the dosing ladder and guiding with food decisions where made it was always around the regular feeding/food schedule. I used a timed feeder, which was a lifesaver.
Hang in there - and hang in here. You are doing great. It's a steep learning curve under the best of circumstances. The added complication of DKA makes it a bit trickier.
I certainly was nowhere near the progress you have made after just one month following DX , however persistence prevailed.![]()