Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287
Sorry Sue! I work odd hours and had a lengthy meeting yesterday and just couldn't get back. The reason I suggested the switch to Levemir or (less enthusiastically) a dose reduction is because of days like 11/12. That is a very ugly drop for Lantus, and rather unusual since it's a pretty flat insulin - and you have many of these days on your SS. I'm sure initially you were like oh thank goodness a double digit! but in reality, that's not an optimal curve for this insulin. I kinda think of it as slingshot behavior.. with PZI or Prozinc, this would be normal, but still not optimal for a diabetic cat. The harder the drop, the harder the rise. The cat is essentially sling-shotting between highs and lows and it will blow your plan for regulation.
So why am I less interested in reducing him on Lantus than switching him to Levemir? Because I am concerned the Lantus is causing this behavior. In my opinion, some cats just can't handle Lantus, and often it seems to be the cats who have been diabetic for some time. So, for now, if you've got time and you can get both a few additional mid-cycle tests and ketone tests in, feel free to try a lower dose, but if it does not work, you may have a kitty who could do better on Levemir.
I hope this makes some sense to you!