12/7 Samwise AMPS 287 PMPS 449

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287

Hi Sue,
Are you on Lantus or Levemir? If Lantus.. have you thought about levemir? I'm also of the opinion that we might be looking at a too-high dose, or a reaction to this insulin. I'm sure it's a bear to measure!! :D
 
Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287

Vicky,
While I know how to do it, and you know how to do it, I'd love to see a post up about it, I think it could benefit many :D

EDIT - sorry I spelled your name wrong!!
 
Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287

Sam is on Lantus. I wonder what gives you the impression that Samwise should go to a way lower dose? He's never done will on .5u. I know he's a bouncy boy which could be from the stress around our house. Please explain. Thanks by the way!!! :-D
 
Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287

I have tried to put up a profile with all our info on it but when I do, it wipes out my google spread sheet. Why I don't know. Any body have any ideas?
 
Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287

Sorry Sue! I work odd hours and had a lengthy meeting yesterday and just couldn't get back. The reason I suggested the switch to Levemir or (less enthusiastically) a dose reduction is because of days like 11/12. That is a very ugly drop for Lantus, and rather unusual since it's a pretty flat insulin - and you have many of these days on your SS. I'm sure initially you were like oh thank goodness a double digit! but in reality, that's not an optimal curve for this insulin. I kinda think of it as slingshot behavior.. with PZI or Prozinc, this would be normal, but still not optimal for a diabetic cat. The harder the drop, the harder the rise. The cat is essentially sling-shotting between highs and lows and it will blow your plan for regulation.

So why am I less interested in reducing him on Lantus than switching him to Levemir? Because I am concerned the Lantus is causing this behavior. In my opinion, some cats just can't handle Lantus, and often it seems to be the cats who have been diabetic for some time. So, for now, if you've got time and you can get both a few additional mid-cycle tests and ketone tests in, feel free to try a lower dose, but if it does not work, you may have a kitty who could do better on Levemir.

I hope this makes some sense to you!
 
Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287

Until Sue gets back I will say that poor Sam also was crazy bouncy and did not do well on PZI.
I am a big fan of Lev. but just wanted to throw this in.....
It seems on PZI every trick we could think of was tried.
I hope someone brilliant can find the key for Sam to get somewhat regulated.
Lori
 
Re: 12/7 Samwise AMPS 287

I'll try lowering Sam's dose. I'll start him on .5 u tomorrow hold for a couple of cycles then drop down further. It is hard to determine what you are giving with the needles so small. The vet does want Sam in to check my meter and him. I'll schedule an appt after the holidays with her. Thanks for the info. :-D
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top