12/7 Question on reducing dose

Joyce and Kallie

Member Since 2019
According to SLGL, I am supposed to immediately reduce dose by 0.25 when her blood glucose falls under 90. Within this past week, I lowered it 3 times. She is at 0.25 and she has still consistently fallen below 90. I shot low last night at 91, but I have not reduced her insulin because I would have reduced it to zero. I just tested at +10 and got a disappointing 247.

I do not see any instructions for my situation.
Any advice?

thanks
 
They do strange things don't they? Could be a little bounce from all the greens, Looks like the AMPS came back down to 78? I can't give advice on what to do but an experienced member should be along with some advise. :)
 
Sandra, 78 is yesterday’s AMPS

Whoops! looked at the wrong line :)

Sandra, I don’t understand bounce... what exactly is it and how do you know if it’s a bouce?

When they get down into low numbers that they may not be used to their bodies will react and release sugars in defense to compensate, giving you a higher number. A bounce can last several cycles and is normal. (hope I explained ok)
 
I would still reduce to 0.1u and see how she does. She’s dropped below 90 a few times and you’ve skipped shots without reducing.

We have a few more things to try after that if she continues to bounce.

I have to take one of my own kitties to the vet here shortly but when I get back, I’ve got some other ideas for you. Just posting now so you can shoot.

Good luck with the reduction.
 
Back
Top