? 12/7 - Pip , AM 311, +3 248, +5 344, PM 349, +2 297, +3 268, cycle 5 of Lantus, cant test between AMPS and +9.5 the next 2 days advice please!

SarahJeanne

Member Since 2025
yesterday

Good morning everyone :)

Pip is doing well this morning, I went to buy him some tiki cat and he looooooves it :)

Since I started Lantus on a PM shot I tried to make it clear in my spreadsheet, let me know if I should do it another way!

Have a wonderful Sunday with your kitties!

Sarah and Pip
 
Last edited:
Good morning everyone :)

Pip is doing well this morning, I went to buy him some tiki cat and he looooooves it :)

Since I started Lantus on a PM shot I tried to make it clear in my spreadsheet, let me know if I should do it another way!

Have a wonderful Sunday with your kitties!

Sarah and Pip
Looks good!
Good luck with Lantus🌊🏄‍♂️
Hope you both have a wonderful Sunday 😻
 
Bonjour to you and Mr. Pip! I hope he likes his Lantus!

If you don't mind, can you change your subject line to just the date?
So change

12/6 - PIP day 2,​

to
12/7 Pip
because that's today's date. Then it's clear what day this post is for.

We're asked to put, at the top of each day's post, a link to the previous day's. It makes it easier for people to follow Pip's progression.

I hope you have a wonderful day ahead!

1765125239261.png
 
Bonjour to you and Mr. Pip! I hope he likes his Lantus!

If you don't mind, can you change your subject line to just the date?
So change

12/6 - PIP day 2,​

to
12/7 Pip
because that's today's date. Then it's clear what day this post is for.

We're asked to put, at the top of each day's post, a link to the previous day's. It makes it easier for people to follow Pip's progression.

I hope you have a wonderful day ahead!

View attachment 75607
Good morning :)

I have done the changes let me know if its ok :)
 
You can basically give him a break from testing for a few hours.
The sticky about dosing methods says,
  • Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir. Initially, blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9. More monitoring may be needed.
It's only Pip's second day on Lantus. He's still building up the depot, and he will figure out how he uses insulin on his own time. One of the saying here is that "it's a marathon, not a sprint". And you'll probably read at some point, like I did, that you have to put on your "patience pants".

But speaking of doing methods, did you have a chance to read about the Start Low Go Slow and Tight Regulation protocols, and which one suits your lifestyle and schedule best? There's good, and necessary info there about holding the starting dose, and building your hypo toolkit.

Over the long run, the goal is for Pip to get more accustomed to being in green and blue numbers, which are in the range where he can potentially best heal. Feel free to read other people's postings about how their cats, and you'll see that every cat takes their own path. Some cats aren't very bouncy, and others are. The great thing is that by following the protocols here, you have the best chance of getting Pip into long, flat curves, and, paws crossed, remission.

You two have just started your healing journey here. But so far, so good!
 
You can basically give him a break from testing for a few hours.
The sticky about dosing methods says,
  • Kitty should be monitored closely the first three days when starting Lantus or Levemir. Initially, blood glucose levels should at least be checked at pre-shot, +3, +6, and +9. More monitoring may be needed.
It's only Pip's second day on Lantus. He's still building up the depot, and he will figure out how he uses insulin on his own time. One of the saying here is that "it's a marathon, not a sprint". And you'll probably read at some point, like I did, that you have to put on your "patience pants".

But speaking of doing methods, did you have a chance to read about the Start Low Go Slow and Tight Regulation protocols, and which one suits your lifestyle and schedule best? There's good, and necessary info there about holding the starting dose, and building your hypo toolkit.

Over the long run, the goal is for Pip to get more accustomed to being in green and blue numbers, which are in the range where he can potentially best heal. Feel free to read other people's postings about how their cats, and you'll see that every cat takes their own path. Some cats aren't very bouncy, and others are. The great thing is that by following the protocols here, you have the best chance of getting Pip into long, flat curves, and, paws crossed, remission.

You two have just started your healing journey here. But so far, so good!
I hear you loud and clear, patience pants on! hahaha

Guess I'm just worried I wont be able to test between amps and +9 for the next 2 days but it's not like I can get a week's worth of data in a weekend so I will give him a lil break and do a +9, pmps. and +3 this evening

thank you so much for all the help and advice, you are wonderful :)
 
I'm glad I can help in some limited ways, but can I please recommend that you add a question mark to your thread, and some text, something like,

"Need advice: new to Lantus & can't test during day for next 2 days"

Then you can get some help with your situation at the beginning of the week.
 
I changed my title

AMPS at 6:30am then I get home from school around 4pm every day but Wednesdays. I have exams on Wednesday morning the next 2 weeks so should be home by noon.

I will leave plenty of food and put him in my room with a webcam on to check on him.

My mom is my downstairs neighbor and she can come up in case of emergency but she refuses to to bg tests.

It's going to be a big week with exams and I am already pretty overwhelmed and exhausted.

Any advice is more than welcome <3
 
If you can test at least once during the day, TR is a great method. You can tackle the numbers more aggressively, no need for weekly curves before adjusting, and can do it sooner than a week when it's obvious it's needed.
That and I'd read you have a better chance at your cat going into remission on this method. It won't happen to every cat, but to me it was worth taking a more active approach to it.
I didn't think you had chosen yet (sorry if you had), and wanted to throw that out there.
Lantus was a great switch for my boy. Good luck!
 
SarahJeanne, please make sure you hear back from a moderator this evening before you go to sleep, so you get advice about how to handle this. Very important.

Pip is brand-new to Lantus. Right now he's bouncing on his first bounce, and there's no telling when he's going to come down and by how much.
You have nobody to do testing for the next two days, if I read your post correctly, as you're in exams.

@Moderator if somebody can please give SarahJeanne a hand, that would be great. Thank you!
 
SarahJeanne, please make sure you hear back from a moderator this evening before you go to sleep, so you get advice about how to handle this. Very important.

Pip is brand-new to Lantus. Right now he's bouncing on his first bounce, and there's no telling when he's going to come down and by how much.
You have nobody to do testing for the next two days, if I read your post correctly, as you're in exams.

@Moderator if somebody can please give SarahJeanne a hand, that would be great. Thank you!
About to test his +2 I really hope he goes a bit lower 🙏

I get home at 4pm so I can test at +9.5 and a few hours in the evening but wont be able to check how low his dose takes him until I get home.

Thank you Lara <3
 
NP, I just want you to get some advice about what to do.

Skip shooting?
Give a token dose?

I can't give any dosing advice, but I want to make sure that Pip is safe while you're gone.

SarahJeanne, please feel free to tag any of the moderators if nobody answers your question.
 
This is going to be my schedule every week except from december 19th to january 6th I am on holidays.

Maybe I should start waking up earlier so I can test his +1?

Which moderator should I tag?
 
The thing you want to be careful about is this: Pip is new to Lantus, and the insulin might soon start bringing his bg down into lower numbers after the shot. You saw a bit of a drop yesterday from the preshot, and the depot is currently building. If you can grab a +1 or +2, that's ideal; that way you can see if there is a significant drop from shot to +1/+2 and can make plans accordingly (leave out higher carb food, etc.). But, as Lara says, let's get you some guidance on this from some more experienced folks.
 
He's at 297 at +2 tonight

I will stay up as long as I can, test again at +3, and wait for moderator advice :)

I usually shoot at 6:30am I can move it up to 6am so I have time to check his +1 tomorrow morning

Must admit I am pretty stressed now... I really can't miss my afternoon class but I could be late or miss the morning if i really need to.

I suffer from anxiety and take pills to go to sleep so I wont take them for now.
 
There is no need to be stressed. A couple of things to consider. You’ve had some good tests so far which helps to get a feeling for how the dose is currently working. Your SS says TR, I’m not sure if you have entirely decided yet, but there is some good reading on this post for doing TR with a full time job if that is what you’d like to do.

Even if you are inclined to follow SLGS, getting spot checks when you can will help fill in the pieces to see how the dose is working. So, getting a test before you leave to go to school, and getting a test when you get home is all good data. Right now, it’s a bit of speculation going on, you haven’t had any BG data to be concerned about having to skip a dose or give a token dose. Let’s not put the cart before the horse ;).
 
Thanks for weighing in, Christie. This is Pip's second day on Lantus, and SJ is going to be away from between AMPS and +9.
"This is going to be my schedule every week except from december 19th to january 6th I am on holidays."

There's no one available to do the +2, +4, +6.
 
Thanks for weighing in, Christie. This is Pip's second day on Lantus, and SJ is going to be away from between AMPS and +9.
"This is going to be my schedule every week except from december 19th to january 6th I am on holidays."

There's no one available to do the +2, +4, +6.
My mom said she can do the shot and she can come give him high carb food if he seems woozy but she refuses to poke his ear :(

I am reading on TR while working and I will definitely be moving up his shot time so I can get a +1 before school every day.

If his levels are too low at AMPS or at +1 tomorrow I will stay home until he is better :)
 
@Lara & Luciole (Lu) FYI - you aren't going to get any response by tagging the @Moderator account. I believe whoever that was has only posted 3 times and not since 2019. Probably a dead account. There are also several people besides the moderators here, who can give great advice, Christie being one of them.

SarahJeanne, changing your schedule so you can get a +1 or even better a +2 can really help. If you see a big drop then, you can add some higher carb food to what you leave out for the day. If you don't have an autofeeder (highly recommend) try freezing higher carb catsicles, basically cat food and water mixed, then in an ice cube tray. Pop out what you need in the morning, it'll take a while to thaw out and be ready for him to eat later.
 
Back
Top