12/7 Minner AMPS 276 +4 243 +6 263 +9 281 PMPS 301 +2 239 +5 249

MinnerPip

Member Since 2024
Prior post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...05-5-224-9-243-pmps-230-1-5-236-4-225.296371/

Now on 4th cycle at 5.5U. Her highest dose ever and numbers still not going in right direction.

I had initially gone from 5.0 to 5.25 two nights ago, then went to 5.5 the next morning with guidance that at this higher dose, need the increase to be more than .25 so it’s closer to a 10-15% increase. Assuming no material change and values continue to be above 200, should I then go to 6.0 tomorrow night, after 1 cycle at 5.25 and 5 cycles at 5.5 ?
 
You would hold the dose of 5.5U for 6 cycles and increase to 6U on 12/9 if you do not see green tomorrow.

Paws crossed for a breakthrough soon! :-)
 
With TR you want to hold the dose for a minimum of 6 cycles and depending on the nadirs evaluate whether to hold the dose a little longer or increase. It’s a bit early to tell since you are only on cycle 4 ;). Could you please change your spreadsheet to read TR?
 
You would hold the dose of 5.5U for 6 cycles and increase to 6U on 12/9 if you do not see green tomorrow.

Paws crossed for a breakthrough soon! :)

@MinnerPip. Tagging you so you understand when it’s best to ask for dosing advice. You want dosing advice as close as possible to when you would potentially raise the dose as things can change easily within one cycle.

I’d like to comment on this. Dosing advice should only be given for the cycle before a potential change and not two days before. There are a lot of numbers between the low 200s-300s Minner has been seeing and BGs under 100. For example, if Minner were to start having BGs in the 100-199 range, the dose would potentially be held longer than six cycles. At the time this dose advice was given, Minnie had only had four cycles at 5.5u and that is not enough to know where this dose might actually go and what might be needed.

Please be sure we are being safe with our dosing advice. If it’s too soon to give dosing advice, as it is in this case, the advice giver should either check back on the sixth cycle to see if a dose increase is warranted and by how much or ask someone else to do so. But let’s not give “blind” dosing advice.
 
Last edited:
@MinnerPip. Tagging you so you understand when it’s best to ask for dosing advice. You want dosing advice as close as possible to when you would potentially raise the dose as things can change easily within one cycle.

I’d like to comment on this. Dosing advice should only be given for the cycle before a potential change and not two days before. There are a lot of numbers between the low 200s-300s Minner has been seeing and BGs under 100. For example, if Minner were to start having BGs in the 100-199 range, the dose would potentially be held longer than six cycles. At the time this dose advice was given, Minnie had only had four cycles at 5.5u and that is not enough to know where this dose might actually go and what might be needed.

Please be sure we are being safe with our dosing advice. If it’s too soon to give dosing advice, as it is in this case, the advice giver should either check back on the sixth cycle to see if a dose increase is warranted and by how much or ask someone else to do so. But let’s not give “blind” dosing advice.
I really really appreciate this guidance and all the wisdom in this community. Even though I have been at this with Minner for approaching 6 months now, it took over 4 months to break her dry food habit so TR was not an option … and then only in last week or so to learn that her IAA test result from August was almost 4x normal, which might explain why I have had such a hard time getting her out of yellow.

So I started testing more and converted to TR. And I have been advised I need to get her to green to beat the IAA and I need to stay on top of increases. I’ve barely seen blue, much less green. I think Minner has had a green result 5 times in almost 6 months.

Needless to say I am more than nervous. So I clearly jumped the gun asking for advice when anticipating a decision to be made Monday morning when its 4am my time. I guess when in doubt about increasing, don’t increase and wait for advice.

I’ll post Minner’s 12/8 thread here in another few hours after I get her PM +2 and PM +4 and ask for advice then.

Thanks again.
 
I really really appreciate this guidance and all the wisdom in this community. Even though I have been at this with Minner for approaching 6 months now, it took over 4 months to break her dry food habit so TR was not an option … and then only in last week or so to learn that her IAA test result from August was almost 4x normal, which might explain why I have had such a hard time getting her out of yellow.

So I started testing more and converted to TR. And I have been advised I need to get her to green to beat the IAA and I need to stay on top of increases. I’ve barely seen blue, much less green. I think Minner has had a green result 5 times in almost 6 months.

Needless to say I am more than nervous. So I clearly jumped the gun asking for advice when anticipating a decision to be made Monday morning when its 4am my time. I guess when in doubt about increasing, don’t increase and wait for advice.

I’ll post Minner’s 12/8 thread here in another few hours after I get her PM +2 and PM +4 and ask for advice then.

Thanks again.
I really really appreciate this guidance and all the wisdom in this community. Even though I have been at this with Minner for approaching 6 months now, it took over 4 months to break her dry food habit so TR was not an option … and then only in last week or so to learn that her IAA test result from August was almost 4x normal, which might explain why I have had such a hard time getting her out of yellow.

So I started testing more and converted to TR. And I have been advised I need to get her to green to beat the IAA and I need to stay on top of increases. I’ve barely seen blue, much less green. I think Minner has had a green result 5 times in almost 6 months.

Needless to say I am more than nervous. So I clearly jumped the gun asking for advice when anticipating a decision to be made Monday morning when its 4am my time. I guess when in doubt about increasing, don’t increase and wait for advice.

I’ll post Minner’s 12/8 thread here in another few hours after I get her PM +2 and PM +4 and ask for advice then.

Thanks again.
I understand and we all jump the gun wanting to know what to do next. I had a long road to learn patience! Yes, we want to get her into good numbers to help with the IAA but not to the expense of the protocol.

And it’s not on you that you asked for advice early; I’ve done it myself when we were new here. It’s on us to just let you know alot can happen even in one cycle and so it’s best to look at it when she’s got at least five cycles behind her and a couple tests in the sixth cycle (like PMPS and +2 in this case) at this dose if you have to shoot early. You don’t have to wait for advice because the TR protocol is linked in a Sticky. For where she’s at right now, it’s easy to read it and know what you need to do. While it might not be so important for Minner if there is no one around and you really don’t know whether to increase in the morning, for those cats who are ketone or DNA-prone, they want to be sure and not miss an increase.

I’ll try to take a peek back in later to see what she’s doing as you only have up to +8 a.m. recorded (I’d be taking a break, too). Thank you.
 
Back
Top