12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390, +3~407

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
Yesterday's Cond

It's dental day for Ms. Gabby and she's at the vet's office. I'm not sure what time they'll actually start the procedure but they want a 7:30 AM drop off. Gabby does not travel well. She sounded miserable in the carrier and the car. She got a bit of Rescue Remedy which seemed to help -- to a point. Rather than throwing up about half way to the vet's office, she waited until I turned into the vet's parking lot. (I was very glad the carrier was lined in pee pads.)
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

Good Morning Sienne........sending good dental vines for Gabby. No extractions, and beautiful pearly white toofers to come home with.

Gizmo, no hissing at your sister when she comes home with vetty smells.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

Sending many good dental vines to Gabby today. Aww...poor Gabby with throwing up. Thanks goodness for those pee pads. Hope all goes well today.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

December must be dental month - they ought to start a campaign! Sending good dental vines to Gabby - hope the day goes smoothly.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

I heard from the vet. This is actually a vet in the feline specialty practice I've never used. (If you may remember, Gabby's vet died very unexpectedly a few months ago). I was very impressed with her (the vet, not Gabby). Gabby had 2 extractions -- one was a resorptive lesion and the other was a cracked tooth. (How does a cat crack a tooth when she only eats canned food?) The vet did labs -- all were good. She did not do a fructosamine given that she knows I test. She did get a sterile urine sample and is doing a C & S because she noticed that Gabby hasn't had a cystocentesis in a long time. She thought it's good prevention. She's giving Gabs long-acting bupe for pain management. I can pick Gabby up in about an hour. If she's not too pissed off at me, I'm sure she'll be glad to be home.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

Poor Gabby...car rides and extractions. I'm sure she'll be thrilled to be home and on the mend!
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

Hi Sienne,
Your new vet sounds terrific. Too bad Gabby finally had to let go with a vomit. I have discovered with Rusty that it is the sharp turns that often cause vomiting, so I go very slowly around corners now. (I ignore the drivers behind me!).

Gabby, the KTSS will be over later to get the vetty smell off. Feel better and better every hour. Maybe you'll get some nice treats.

Gizmo: be nice to your sister!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

I was going to wish Gabby a good dental day, but it looks like I'm to late! Glad all things went well, considering she had two extractions! Glad she will be home soon! Tell her I wish her well and give her a scratch on her head for me!
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

Poor Gabby. Car ride w/ pukes and then 2 extractions. I hope she heals quickly and has no pain.

Karen
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

OH I hope Gabby has a short memory so today fades away fast and her pain medication lets her sail through recovery. I'm sorry she had to lose 2 toofers. How did she crack that darn tooth? I hope it wasn't on Gizmo.
give her a gentle little hug for me please.
take good care of all of you
mary and oliver
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

Yay glad the dental went well, hope she is not too pissed off at you. That is funny that she has a cracked tooth, has she been chewing on furniture? LOL! Hope your night goes well and Gabby feels good.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day

Hi Sienne. Poor Gabby having two teeth pulled. I think you were kind of anticipating the problem with resorptive lesions weren't you? I think she'll be happy to see you and be home...pissed off or not.

I hope you both have a pleasant evening and that Gizmo doesn't tease her too much.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278 Dental Day done

We're home and relatively settled in. Gabby wants no part of food. I think she's too stoned. Gizmo doesn't notice any vetty smell -- he's just happy his Gabby is home!
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319 Dental Day Done

Glad Gabby's home safe & sound :-D
Thanks again for taking time on a busy day to look in on Simon :smile:
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

Gabby is not the least bit interested in food. She is, however, purring up a storm. I gave her a reduced dose tonight since food could be an issue. This is pretty typical of what she does after a dental.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

That's so cute that Gizmo is just so happy that his sister is home that he doesn't even smell the funny scent on her.
Sending Gabby get back your appetite soon vines. I'm glad all went well (((Hugs))).
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

Poor Gabby - hopefully she recovers quick. Great idea on the pee pads - I will have to remember that tip.. (hey ! we need a tips section of this board!)

Maybe she needs soft bland foods - always works for me after a dental.. kitty milk?
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

I'm glad everything went well with Gabby's dental. I hope she gets her appy back soon and heals up quickly.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

Wendy --

I'm giving her baby food. I think the bupe kills her appetite. She definitely stoned!
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

yeah Tiggy was like that after his operation.. but as soon as the vets meds wore off he went all mush for a day or two even with the bupe.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

So much for Gabby not eating. She doesn't like Whole Foods organic baby food but Gerber Stage 2 Chicken is a thumbs up. Having finished that, she then finished Gizmo's Wellness.
 
Re: 12/7 Gabby AMPS~278, +8~319, PMPS~390

Hi Sienne,

I'm glad Gabby started eating, poor little girl. It sounds like she's doing great. How wonderful to have a cat dental specialist! Obviously from the way Gabby is behaving, she's good. :razz: I hope she feels much better tomorrow.

Hugs,
Melanie & Racci
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top