12/7 Ember AMPS 406, PMPS 332

Elaine and Ember

Member Since 2025
I'm feeling more and more internal pressure to switch to TR as Ember's high numbers continue. I know I have a 6-month window to try for remission after which it becomes much more unlikely, and I feel like I'm wasting too much time. Alternatively I'm worried about risking her safety since my work schedule doesn't allow me to test between AMPS and +10 in the mornings. (If Ember is in an urgent situation I do have permission from work to use personal holiday hours for that, but it would be frowned upon to do too frequently.) I feel stuck between a rock and a hard place. 😿 I keep reading and re-reading the post about managing TR and work, and I know others have done it, but I still don't know if I can actually manage it.

12/5 Ember AMPS 370, +3 344, +6 375, PMPS 316
 
I'm feeling more and more internal pressure to switch to TR as Ember's high numbers continue. I know I have a 6-month window to try for remission after which it becomes much more unlikely, and I feel like I'm wasting too much time. Alternatively I'm worried about risking her safety since my work schedule doesn't allow me to test between AMPS and +10 in the mornings. (If Ember is in an urgent situation I do have permission from work to use personal holiday hours for that, but it would be frowned upon to do too frequently.) I feel stuck between a rock and a hard place. 😿 I keep reading and re-reading the post about managing TR and work, and I know others have done it, but I still don't know if I can actually manage it.

12/5 Ember AMPS 370, +3 344, +6 375, PMPS 316
Just try it. If it doesn’t work out for you—if you feel uncomfortable with it, switch back to SLGS. You’ll need to test at least 2 times per cycle and not feed kibble. You’ll be able to take increases faster and reductions are taken at lower numbers, so you can hold a dose longer. No one here is forcing you to do anything, though. We all want what’s best for you and Ember.
 
Just try it. If it doesn’t work out for you—if you feel uncomfortable with it, switch back to SLGS. You’ll need to test at least 2 times per cycle and not feed kibble. You’ll be able to take increases faster and reductions are taken at lower numbers, so you can hold a dose longer. No one here is forcing you to do anything, though. We all want what’s best for you and Ember.
Also, can you shift things around so that you can grab a +2 test?? If so, that can give you good information--if significantly lower than preshot, you'll know it's likely going to be an active cycle so you'll leave mc/hc food. I follow TR and work 30 minutes from home. The thing I try my best to do is grab a +2. Onset is at +2/+3, and those tests help me know how active the cycle is going to be.

BTW, Jude went into remission following SLGS 🤷‍♀️ (he later came out of remission because of UT issues).
 
Also, can you shift things around so that you can grab a +2 test?? If so, that can give you good information--if significantly lower than preshot, you'll know it's likely going to be an active cycle so you'll leave mc/hc food. I follow TR and work 30 minutes from home. The thing I try my best to do is grab a +2. Onset is at +2/+3, and those tests help me know how active the cycle is going to be.

BTW, Jude went into remission following SLGS 🤷‍♀️ (he later came out of remission because of UT issues).
I start work at 5am, unfortunately. I'm getting up in the mornings at 3:30 for AMPS at 4... I was pondering switching AMPS to 2:30am so I could get a +2, but then I'd be cutting it close on the other end since I get off work at 2pm... Plus that's just so early! I'd be a tired, grouchy zombie every day.... There's got to be some way to make it work.
 
Hi Elaine- I appreciate how not seeing much action with doses and needing to increase can sometimes make you feel a bit impatient. I always used to say that waiting to see some action was like watching paint dry :p. Unless something has recently changed with Ember’s diet, if there is still dry food in the mix, you’d need to continue to follow SLGS. It takes some time to get a feel for how your own cat responds to insulin and carbs, and patterns won’t always be obvious especially when cats get a bit comfy hanging around in higher numbers. It’s a good goal to first work to get to regulation, so don’t put so much pressure on yourself, you are doing the best you can :bighug:.

How has Ember being feeling these days? It’s important to remember that cats are more than just their numbers.
 
Hi Elaine- I appreciate how not seeing much action with doses and needing to increase can sometimes make you feel a bit impatient. I always used to say that waiting to see some action was like watching paint dry :p. Unless something has recently changed with Ember’s diet, if there is still dry food in the mix, you’d need to continue to follow SLGS. It takes some time to get a feel for how your own cat responds to insulin and carbs, and patterns won’t always be obvious especially when cats get a bit comfy hanging around in higher numbers. It’s a good goal to first work to get to regulation, so don’t put so much pressure on yourself, you are doing the best you can :bighug:.

How has Ember being feeling these days? It’s important to remember that cats are more than just their numbers.
Thanks, Christie.
I just feel like I’m failing Ember since her BG is still so high. 😿 I’ll try to focus on regulation instead of remission for now. I just don’t want her to miss her chance because of my stupid schedule.
Ember has been doing amazingly well the whole time— the obsessive water drinking stopped after her first dose of Vetsulin and she’s been her usual cheerful self the whole time. She’s such a great cat.
She gets wet food for meals and 2 tablespoons of Dr Elsey’s dry per day spread throughout the day about 10 pieces at a time as treats. (I measure it to make sure she’s getting the amount of daily calories the vet assigned us, although she’s never been overweight, so I’m not sure how important the calorie count actually is.) So we’d have to stop the dry food completely, even if it’s not meals?
 
No, you aren’t failing her :bighug:. Some cats just take a little longer to find the right dose. Maverick took ages before he stopped hitting reds and blacks. The basis for the TR protocol as developed is for cats to be fed low carb canned or raw diet, so no dry.

Since it appears to be given more as a treat and for snacks for Ember, perhaps you could try out some possible opinions like air-dried or freeze-dried foods? I’ve used ZiwiPeak (air dried) and Kiwi Kitchens, Feline Naturals and Stella and Chewy’s (freeze dried), as well as the PureBites. My current favourite (or should I say the civvie’s) is the Feline Naturals.
 
Back
Top