12/7 Duncan AMPS 360, +2 285, +5 205, PMPS 337, +2.5 359

Status
Not open for further replies.

SaraM2261

Member Since 2011
Please skip this food talk unless you think it's relevant and go to last post at the bottom...

Went high again over night with access to the dry Science Diet. It wasn't even that much, and it really shot him up.

I had every intention of getting up in the night to test, but slept straight through like a rock.

Going to see how much of this Science Diet we have left and see where to get some LC dry for these addicts. Looked at the EVO site yesterday and really liked what they had to say. I am having a hard time finding the carb content for most foods. They don't even list it. Does it say "carbohydrates?" or is it the "fiber?" Or do I just have to do online to find it??

Anyhow, looking for more blue today! :)
 
Re: 12/7 Duncan AMPS 360, +2 285

Hi guys .. yes it is crazy how much a little bit of kibble can affect our kitties .. we have a civvie who still eats dry and we have to stand right over them as they eat so mocha won't get any .. We feed mocha wal marts special kitty turkey and giblets .. I believe it is either 3 or 4% carbs and she loves it .. have a great day!
 
Re: 12/7 Duncan AMPS 360, +2 285

Thanks for the heads up on the food!!!!! That is awesome that I can get that right at WalMart!!!! Woohoo!

Let's hope the other two like it as well. I'd love to be able to just feed all one thing. (And my husband wouldn't think it's all too much trouble.
He's been super supportive though. Even found out that our testing supplies can use our health FSA account, so he put an extra $500 in there for next year for Mr. Duncan.)
 
Re: 12/7 Duncan AMPS 360, +2 285

Duncan is coming down nicely today.

SaraM2261 said:
. Even found out that our testing supplies can use our health FSA account, so he put an extra $500 in there for next year for Mr. Duncan.)
Wow, I'm going to have to check this out!
 
Re: 12/7 Duncan AMPS 360, +2 285, +5 205

I could not find the Special Kitty dry guaranteed analysis anywhere! I looked at our walmart and they didn't have that flavor and the others were pretty high carb.

Went to Chuck and Barry';s ?? Dave and Chucks?? Anyway the girl there really knew her stuff. So we got a few flavors of Natural Balance limited ingredient wet and EVO dry (and some toys of course, who can resist and I had the small beans with me to help find cool toys.)

So instead of Science Diet over night free everyone will get EVO free. I got wt management, so I hope they don't gain. Duncan especially is a bigger boy and love the food so... I hope that makes a difference in his numbers. We did switch to the white fish/tuna friskies classic pate today. Does anyone know if that flavor is just not low carb? We had classic chicken pate yesterday and turkey giblets classic pate the day before. Are those lower?? I have the link, I can look later too. Got a LOT of friskies special diet ocean white fish pate so I hope he likes that one it's SUPER low!

Wheew, enough about food already!
 
Don't know if I got a fur shot this last time or what, but we're still climbing....
Maybe the blues, and then this today is a bounce...?

Well,
I was feeling so good yesterday and now I feel kind of blue again... if only...mostly pink actually.... confused_cat <- I love that that is called "confuse cat"
 
Hi Sara--Looks like today could be a bounce..from yesterday's nice blues--It is not a reason to be down, as bounces are normal & part of the sugar dance we do here...The +5 tonite could also be a food spike, if he ate around then. Also it can take 72 hours for a bounce to clear. Not to worry, he will come down.
Dont worry, we all will teach you, we are all in this together! :-D
As for the food, use our food lists, they are very good & list the carbs that the food mfg. do not.
The main goal is to make your furbaby well, Look at the Whole cat. When he starts doing things he did before dx, you will know he is getting better--It does take time. We have the traveling Patience Pants if you ever need them.
Cheer Up, you are doing good..Duncan will be getting better-~~~~ But get rid of the dry!
Have a good night!
 
hi sara!

couple of questions for you -

- what's the reason you're giving dry food overnight? are you concerned about the canned food staying good for that long?
- is the 1f on the dose - does that mean a fat 1.0 units? or are you giving 1.0 units? just want to understand what i'm looking at.
- from duncan's ss it looks like duncan was diagnosed on 12/2 - i just want to confirm that.

i think you're seeing a bounce also, but i think that dry food is evil and you will see better progress if you get rid of it. now that's my bias, i think there are some people who do give dry food, but not many. if there isn't a compelling reason to allow a cat to eat the dry, i think it would be better to stay with 100% low carb canned. can't remember whose cat it was, but a while ago someone caught their cat eating 2 kibbles - literally 2 little crunchies - and the cat's BG went up from it for a day.

you can safely leave a can of cat food out overnight. there are several people who do it. if you want to have it eaten slowly you can mix a can of food with water and freeze it in cupcake tins. we call them catsickles. as it thaws they'll eat it.

my guess is that if you get rid of the dry food that alone will improve duncan's numbers. the high number tonight i think is bouncing from that sweet little 119 yesterday. if this dose got him to 119 yesterday, he'll get there again when the bounce clears. that can take up to 3 days, so in the meantime, don't change the dose even though the numbers look high.

you're doing great! if you weren't already a patient person, you will be by the time you've done this a bit with Duncan. waiting for the BG to settle down is positively painful for me, but i'm learning the sugar dance and the patience that goes with it. i never understood why people had so much trouble regulating diabetes, but now i do.

so my 2 cents - eliminate the dry and hold the dose til you see more numbers in the 100's - then we can reevaluate and see if it's a good dose or needs adjusting.

i think Roni is right on, too.
 
- We give dry overnight so they don't cry for more and get into fights over the wet. And also because my hubby is a staunch believer that wet causes dental issues. (I will try to get him to read some on it.) I did get the low carb dry from EVO tonight to leave out. That has to be better than the Science Diet we've had until now!
- f does mean fat in Duncan's chart. I am giving him a dose of when the top of the plunger is even with the bottom of the 1u line. 1u to me is when the top of the plunger is even with the top of the 1u line which would mean that the plunger actually fills and is covered to some extent by the line. (I worked at an animal hospital for 2.5 years and am a control freak so I totally get the fine dosing business.)
- Yes, Duncan was *just* Diagnosed last Friday. Super new to all this. Thus the many posts and bumping for questions. I do read the other kitties posts too, just don't have a lot to contribute because we're so new to all this.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top