? 12/7 Chester AMPS 332

Sharlyn

Member Since 2020
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/11-29-chester-amps-286-7-342.239306/#post-2689614 @Wendy&Neko I did Chester’s curve and he is still so high We raised him to 2.5 almost a week ago but it looks like he is just getting higher. You mentioned glucose toxicity before and now I’m afraid that is what’s going on with him. What do I do to fix that? It has been 4 months and he is nowhere near regulated. I don’t know if the Levemir isn’t going to work for him and I should try something different like my vet says. Thank you for any advice.
 
Hi Sharlyn, did you do a curve for the current dose of 2.5U? Its not on your SS. It could be that he needs more insulin or he is bouncing from lows that we are not seeing. Is it possible for you to get more tests in?
 
Hi Sharlyn, did you do a curve for the current dose of 2.5U? Its not on your SS. It could be that he needs more insulin or he is bouncing from lows that we are not seeing. Is it possible for you to get more tests in?
I haven’t done the curve yet for the 2.5. I didn’t know if I should wait until it was a full week. I’m trying to get more tests in. Unfortunately no one is home during the day to test more. I can do more on the weekends though.
 
While you hold doses for 7 days with SLGS, even 5 days on a dose is enough for the depot to adjust and for one to get an idea of where the dose is taking the cat.

I'm not sure it makes sense to hold this dose another week for you to be able to do a curve. Let's see what @Wendy&Neko and @tiffmaxee think.
 
Hi. We need to see how low the dose is taking Chester and I can’t tell his nadir. How about doing a curve whenever possible. In this case if possible I would do the 18 hour testing every 3 hours. That way be see how day and night tests. What do you think?
 
Even if no one is home during the day, you can still get night time tests. Many cats go lower at night anyway, so that's a good time to test. Try to get a +2 or +3 or whatever just before bed is. I rather suspect Chester went lower the night of the 3rd, because he was bouncing the next day. The question is how low he went to cause the bounce. I rather suspect it wasn't too low, but we need data to show us that.

I would try to get a couple more tests in, perhaps a couple night time tests, then if you don't see anything below 150, he needs that increase. You also don't want to hold onto doses too long if they aren't giving you numbers you want.
 
Hi. We need to see how low the dose is taking Chester and I can’t tell his nadir. How about doing a curve whenever possible. In this case if possible I would do the 18 hour testing every 3 hours. That way be see how day and night tests. What do you think?
I can do that but I wouldn’t be able to until this weekend when we are home during the day. Should I stay at this dose until then?
 
Looking at your spreadsheet you probably could increase safely. I would the 7 days though. Get a before bed test tonight and tomorrow. That just might tell enough.
 
I can get +2 the next few nights and I can do the +4 or 5 Friday night if you think that will be ok.
 
Back
Top