12/6 Yoyo AMPS 109,+1 146, +2 115,

Debra and Yoyo

Member Since 2018
Yesterday 12/5 http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/12-5-yoyo-amps-182-2-132-pmps-85-1-64-2-62.222545/

Day 11 @ 2.37 Units

Good Morning....Happy Friday!!

Everything around here is about the same. Yoyo is sure working this dose and my nerves. I had to steer him last night with a lot of gravy and small amounts of Karo syrup to keep him from dropping too low. Once he drops low I usually have a hard time bringing him back up so I am trying my best to avoid those scary low numbers. You would think by now seeing those low numbers on the meter wouldn't scare me as much- but they still do:nailbiting:

Hope everyone has a Great Day and that all our Kitties surf safely:D:D:D
 
It must be very scary when Yoyo doesn't seem to want to come back up. :nailbiting: Sometimes I enter Leo's number in the US SS by mistake and of course the number turns lime green!! Gives me a start every time even though I know he's not lime!! :p
I hope you get some R & R today, it looks like you were up all night last night. :bighug: Time for cuddling on the couch today Yoyo!! :bighug:
 
Debra, while Yoyo has had you up all night, now he is off partying with Tina and others (any color works at this party!), leaving you exhausted! I had a feeling shooting that beautiful 85 might make it a long night, but you did so well. Force a nap if you have time:bighug::bighug::bighug:
 
Debra, while Yoyo has had you up all night, now he is off partying with Tina and others (any color works at this party!), leaving you exhausted! I had a feeling shooting that beautiful 85 might make it a long night, but you did so well. Force a nap if you have time:bighug::bighug::bighug:
Hey.....I snuck into the party....they are wild those kitties....they are P A R T Y I N G......they make strong catinins and their zapitizers were very tasty....Tina really knows how to throw a party:joyful::joyful:

A nap would be wishful, sometimes I just doze off right at the computer and I forget what I am doing....not good:(
I have listings to enter into the MLS. People are always selling their houses and moving.

If you get free time today, tomorrow or whenever, can you tell me more about your co-worker and DH regarding I believe you were referring to the type of treatment. Not sure if you meant that they had neck surgery.

I know today is a wonderful exciting day for you, so please, only reply when you want to and ENJOY this remarkable day with your loveable Tina and family:bighug:
Yo snuck in a :kiss: at the party, they are cute together:joyful::joyful:
 
Oh my goodness Debra, you make me laugh!!

Hey.....I snuck into the party....they are wild those kitties....they are P A R T Y I N G......they make strong catinins and their zapitizers were very tasty....Tina really knows how to throw a party:joyful::joyful:

A nap would be wishful, sometimes I just doze off right at the computer and I forget what I am doing....not good:(
I have listings to enter into the MLS. People are always selling their houses and moving.

If you get free time today, tomorrow or whenever, can you tell me more about your co-worker and DH regarding I believe you were referring to the type of treatment. Not sure if you meant that they had neck surgery.

I know today is a wonderful exciting day for you, so please, only reply when you want to and ENJOY this remarkable day with your loveable Tina and family:bighug:
Yo snuck in a :kiss: at the party, they are cute together:joyful::joyful:

This is great!! Tina just came in from smelling for her lizard, and she KNOWS she has a party going on today and she's a happy girl:cat:

I will get more info to you on the radiation treatment and the starting place with the cancer. I am not running away!
My goodness, I sold real estate for 6 years before I completely went to pet sitting:rolleyes: I quit in 2008 when it got ugly; besides my personality is more service than sales. I saw some maddening situations when going with other realtors into people's homes . . . them leaving doors open when there was a cat or more inside.
Wishing you a beautiful day if I didn't already!
 
Yoyo's having a beach party today. Better than the PJ party y'all had last night. I hope you can get some naps in today.:)
Yoyo behave for your momma!:D I hope he settles into a nice groove for you!
Have a lovely day Debra!
 
Yoyo's having a beach party today. Better than the PJ party y'all had last night. I hope you can get some naps in today.:)
Yoyo behave for your momma!:D I hope he settles into a nice groove for you!
Have a lovely day Debra!
Well Yo gave me a break this afternoon, wish it was at night :)
It is so amazing to me how Little went into remission like over night. I was looking at Little's SS, one day pink and then the next green and blues....remarkable. How did you know when to stop giving insulin?
I called Dr Elseys and was sent two complimentary cans. I also received a pamphlet explaining how the food is good for their kidneys. I'm confused though because this food is higher in phosphorous yet it explained I think that it contains oxalate(something like that) and how that keeps the kidney functions normal. I need to call back and have them explain that to me.
Hope you had a nice day and that your evening is even better:cat:
 
How did you know when to stop giving insulin?
I didn't really know when to stop giving the insulin, just a feeling. He didn't have a huge rebound in numbers after his first 18 hour cycle. Then I resumed normal shot schedule the following day. The next cycle AMPS he presented a low PS(truly not a low PS, very safe #..I was just scared to shoot that low) so, again I went with the 18 hour cycle. He didn't have a huge rebound prior to his shot time for the 18 hour. I went ahead and gave him his insulin, since I saw a rising #, came back to check the FDMB(Bobby and Gill were assisting me)and found out I probably should have stalled, reduced the dose or not shot at all(I had messages waiting on my thread from Bobby). Let me tell ya I FREAKED out! I started shaking all over thinking omg I just hurt my baby! It was a fight to keep him flat after that shot. HC and Karo was barely budging his #'s. After that incident I became overly cautious. His PS #'s were in the normal range, so I just stopped giving the insulin. I was TOO scared I'd make him go hypo. We basically stumbled into remission. We didn't follow the rules at all. Paws crossed it holds!
I think what played an important part of Ittle reaching normal #'s so quickly is I caught his diabetes early. Within a month I'd say. He was put on a steroid ear medication(only medication he's ever had besides as needed flea prevent) over the summer. I noticed symptoms early on and tested him (because I already had Moey as a diabetic). When he tested in the 300's on my meter I immediately changed his diet to LC and made the vet. appt. to confirm FD. He was on insulin within a week of Dx and changed to Lantus ~ a month later. The rest is FDMB history!!!!:D:smuggrin:
Sorry for the long explanation.:)
Dr. Elsey's is a great food. I can't comment on the phos. issue vs. oxalate issue. I wish I was that knowledgeable. I sure hope the company can clear it up for you.
I hope you have a wonderful evening Debra!:)

ETA: I forgot to mention(shame on me)my DH and I also pray for both cats' remission. We've received one blessing so far:)
 
Last edited:
Oh my goodness Debra, you make me laugh!!



This is great!! Tina just came in from smelling for her lizard, and she KNOWS she has a party going on today and she's a happy girl:cat:

I will get more info to you on the radiation treatment and the starting place with the cancer. I am not running away!
My goodness, I sold real estate for 6 years before I completely went to pet sitting:rolleyes: I quit in 2008 when it got ugly; besides my personality is more service than sales. I saw some maddening situations when going with other realtors into people's homes . . . them leaving doors open when there was a cat or more inside.
Wishing you a beautiful day if I didn't already!
Pretty scary how unreliable some people can be. Because of things that I have seen and things that I have learned I do not trust anyone in my home. It is sad that I feel this way but I have to always go with my gut feeling. Working in the animal hospital for so many years I met lovely people who trusted me with their pets and of course their key to their home. Believe me, I am trust worthy, but I really never understood how these people could just leave and have the "trust" that I would be reliable and honest with their pets and home. It is a BIG responsibility that these people gave me. It was fun while it lasted but then I went into Real Estate. I guess RE is a lot like Pet Sitting regarding peoples trust in oneself!!

It is funny how we both have similar likes in what we have done and what we are doing!

Unfortunately I never have anyone to watch my pets except my family. And when family watched my pets then I couldn't go away with them. Now with all my pets issues, I do not go any where as it is a big responsibilty with meds and insulin. But I love my pets and I wouldn't change anything. But I know some people would just board their animals and not give it a second thought! Pretty scary!!

Hope Tina had a wonderful day!! It is her special day and one she and you will never forget.
Congrats again and wishing Tina only the BEST!! :otj::cat::):D:otj::D:):cat::otj:
 
Back
Top