12/6 Samwise AMPS 263 PMPS 297

Status
Not open for further replies.

sueandsamwise

Member Since 2010
AMPS 263 .6U

Sam is surfing the yellows today again. I like that better than the reds or pinks. Sam says hello to all on this forum.

PMPS 290 .6U

Back to the .6u We are staying yellow today. We like better than red.
 
Re: 12/6 Samwise AMPS 263

Hi Sue,
Since I didn't keep up with condos on Lantus, I am curious as to why you've never gone down to .25U? Samwise sure has some low numbers and bounces and skipped shots, which make it very difficult to find just the right dose.

Also, at doses under 1U it's helpful to think in percentage changes, rather than .25U increases or decreases, which often can be too much of a percentage change for the cat so sensitive to their insulin. Please see this post in another thread in this ISG: http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=32&t=58094#p630781

Do we think Samwise has a semi-working pancreas?

I don't mean to suggest starting ALL over, but lowering the dose further below .5U might help even his cycles out a bit more.

Sorry I'm not much on the "Hey, let's get to know each other stuff." Just here to maybe have some fresh eyes on your boy.
 
Re: 12/6 Samwise AMPS 263 PMPS 290

Well, I'm not sure about going down to that small a shot. I will have to try it but we've been down to .5 and Sam has never done well on that low a dose.
 
On Halloween this year he went down to 23 on a .5U dose after a .6U dose the night before. I'd say that was cause for a pretty dramatic dose reduction. What was the explanation for that low? Obviously he hadn't gotten in to the trick or treat bowl....

I'm concerned because the swings he's having are indicative of too much insulin. "Swings" are when they experience a more than 200 point drop within or between cycles both directions, up, down and up again. The typical term is bounce, but when it's chronic like this, I consider it swinging. Sure some cats are going to react to low numbers, but when they still do that and you've been up and down the dose scale it's time to look at a more drastic reboot. Also, lows at preshot which don't allow you to give shots can also mean the dose is too high.

Any history of ketones for him?
 
No history of ketones. It's just I'm afraid of going that low. After being on the dose he's on now for a long time I know I should change but without more tests I don't want to lower him that drastically. I need to be there because, lets face it, the DH just doesn't pay attention like he should. nailbite_smile
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top