12-6 Musette AMPS~42 No shot this AM

Status
Not open for further replies.

MommaOfMuse

Member Since 2010
Somedays she just doesn't put on the brakes, went ahead and fed her, her normal before bed meal...will retest her in an hour.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
Re: Musette pmps 220 +3 = 87, +4 =58

Guess I'm in for a late night with her...down to 58, retest in 30 minutes

Mel, Maxwell, Musette and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 12-6 AMPS = 42 No shot this AM

AMPS =42 so of course no shot for Ms. Musette this morning.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang :mrgreen:
 
Yes she does earn a reduction with her 40s especially since this 40 was after a bounce off a 37 yesterday morning...Momma is tired and wants to sleep nights. :lol:

Planning on monitoring her every couple of hours today and if and when she comes up to a shootable number (above 150) it will be reduced.

Her insulin may be making her feel a little too good, she woke me up this morning by bouncing on my chest and swatting me because I wasn't moving fast enough to serve her breakfast. :lol: Then stood on the kitchen counter to make sure I was preparing her meal correctly and trying to taste test everyone else's plates including DH's breakfast...She is a bacon fiend! And of course daddy gives in to his little Princess, he now has me fry him 2 extra pieces of bacon so he can hold court in the mornings with his furry royal subjects. :roll:

But then again I'm as bad about spoiling the kids as he is, I spent most of the afternoon yesterday roasting a turkey and a chicken for the animals...well okay part of the chicken went to making Chicken and Dumplings for the beans, but the rest along with the whole 16lbs turkey will be shredded, packaged and frozen today for the animals to snack on. But the way I look at it with turkeys on sale right now (63 cents/lb) I get a lot of low carb treats for the money and I know exactly what is in them...just turkey!

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
This early in the morning, and now I am hungry for chicken and dumplings? Do you make the biscuity dumplings or the slimy dumplings? I prefer the biscuity, but I'll show up for the slimy. ;-)

Just food for thought. When Stefani and I were treating Bastian (a now OTJ foster diabetic that she fosters but I keep during long vacations) early on, he was a very bouncy boy. We stumbling upon the concept of split shots. Here's a post from Bastian's last stay with me. Bastian became very stable on split stots and finally got his butt OTJ.

There also was a Think Tank thread on split shots that will let you see some of the past players in that game.

You might think about the split shots for Musette to soften her drop and extend her duration. Some of us might be up for hand-holding on that.
 
Wow, I missed the fun last night! Go Cupcake Fluffybutt, go! :mrgreen: Looks like she's rising to be shootable soon.

Must be something in the air extending duration 'cuz Hadley threw me a low blue PS this AM.

Have a great day! ZZzzzzzzzzzzzzzz
 
Venita,

I make the biscuity type of dumplings, I don't like the slimy doughy type, I also use cream in my broth so that it comes out more like a stew than a soup.

I have been thinking about split dosing her because when she heads in one direction or the other she just has no brakes...if she is going to go up, she is going to fly up, if she is headed down she wants to go flying into the basement. If I do try split dosing I will definitely need some hand holding, that one will be a completely new experience for me...Maxwell spoiled me. :-D

I have also pondered the thought of perhaps using a tiny bit of N to take the edge off her occassional food spikes.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang
 
MommaOfMuse said:
... I have also pondered the thought of perhaps using a tiny bit of N to take the edge off her occassional food spikes....

N (NPH) or R?
R last approximately 4 hours while N may last 6 - 8 in cats.
 
I agree, Mel. It usually is R (not N) that one uses to drop a PS number to a level that Lantus or Levemir can grab onto.

But I don't think I would be using R on a cat that is bouncing as high and low as Musette is bouncing on Lantus alone.
 
Yeah I was tired yesterday...I meant R but for some reason, probably because of the fact that when I think Humulin I think N first that is what I typed and just didn't catch it.

But the idea of split dosing her does greatly appeal to me to see if I could even her out a little bit through out the day. Because I really think if I could get her to smooth out for awhile and hold those normal numbers long enough her liver would stop reacting so violently to normal numbers. Since right now the minute she hits the low 100s or double digits even if she doesn't drop drastically low, her body panics and then I'm fighting high 200s and 300s. Plus once she gets to her nadir she takes off, and will jump a 100+ in the following 6 hours. There has to be a way to slow her down on those highs and lows and so far everything I have tried b.i.d. isn't working. If I raise her dose she plummets, if I lower it then she stays too high. Right now my only answers would be either t.i.d. or split dosing.

So going forward: If I understand split-dosing I would take what seems to be the best dose for her so far which is 1u and divide that into two doses given a couple of hours apart? So if her normal shot time right now is 6:30 am cst I would shoot .5u at her normal time and then x amount of hours later give her the other .5u? But how do I determine how many hours after the first 1/2 dose to give her the second? Right now I would think 2 hrs after the first to give her the second, since in the evening that would put her second evening shot at 8:30 as that would still leave me time to test her at her evening +3 after her last shot before going to bed at night.

But like I said earlier I will need some hand holding while I figure this all out so Venita if you could line up a few of those hand holders Musette and I would greatly appreciate it. This morning I did give her only .5u at her regular shot time and am planning on giving her another .5u in 2 hours and then monitor her closely to see if that seems to work for her. I will start a new thread shortly so she will be easy to track as we work this all out for her.

She is such a doll when her levels are lower that I want to find a solution to keep her in her "happy" zone.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.
 
MommaOfMuse said:
So going forward: If I understand split-dosing I would take what seems to be the best dose for her so far which is 1u and divide that into two doses given a couple of hours apart? So if her normal shot time right now is 6:30 am cst I would shoot .5u at her normal time and then x amount of hours later give her the other .5u? But how do I determine how many hours after the first 1/2 dose to give her the second? Right now I would think 2 hrs after the first to give her the second, since in the evening that would put her second evening shot at 8:30 as that would still leave me time to test her at her evening +3 after her last shot before going to bed at night.

But like I said earlier I will need some hand holding while I figure this all out so Venita if you could line up a few of those hand holders Musette and I would greatly appreciate it. This morning I did give her only .5u at her regular shot time and am planning on giving her another .5u in 2 hours and then monitor her closely to see if that seems to work for her. I will start a new thread shortly so she will be easy to track as we work this all out for her.

She is such a doll when her levels are lower that I want to find a solution to keep her in her "happy" zone.

Mel, Maxwell, Musette & The Fur Gang.

Two hours seems like a reasonable place to start; you'll be monitoring, so barring complications with reduced eating or vomiting, you'll be collecting data on how it works for Musette. If you were viewing 2 curves, one laid overlapping the other, the nadir for each dose would be offset by the 2 hour difference. (you might draw 2 of her curves on graph paper, offset by 2 hours to 'see' what it looks like) Because each dose is half the full dose, the shape of each half curve would be shorter. When the overlap starts ocurring, you hope for the insulin amount released from each dose to add together. Over in Think Tank, the post I made about modeling Lantus dosing showed some possiblities of how numbers might come out, depending on how offset the doses were.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top