12/6, Maria,amps148,+2.50 116,+5 51,+20' 70,+6 80,+7.75 109, +9.50 132, pmps 182,+2 148,+4 160,+6 95

She eats the biggest piece of the can just before the insulin. The rest of the can every 2-3 hours a very small amount
Now that she is beginning to see lower numbers, you might have to use food to "flatten the curve" and prevent sharp drops. Try feeding at +2 and +4 for starters and see if that works.
 
Since you were seeing 130s on 3u I might have held that dose a couple more cycles instead of increasing after 6 cycles. Nice to see she is doing well :)
 
Petty is looking good. I think you were correct to increase when you did. It got you to green. I fed the curve with Max and gave small amounts of lc every 1-2 hours until he stopped dropping. I’d base when to feed on the bg. I tried to stop feeding after the first half of the cycle unless he was lower than I wanted.
 
From my point of view, you’ve increased 3 times consecutively after 6 cycles, from 2.5u through to 3u. With TR doses with blues are held between 6-10 cycles if nadirs are less than 200. I’d have given it a few more cycles with the lower blues to allow the dose to settle a little since you had increased multiple times each time after 6 cycles and you were seeing low blues already on 2.75u and still increased after 6 cycles. Those are just my 2 Canadian cents :)
 
Yes, I see what you mean, Elise. I would just add, again, just from my point of view, there were low blues on 2.75u which might have warranted holding the dose a little longer. Even 130s on 3u if we were to consider low blues approx to 140, mid blues to 170 and high blues above that I’d say 130s are low blues. Maria is new, in the sense that she has only recently begun to understand how the insulin affects her cat, so I would have held the doses longer than 6 cycles. Even from my own experience, I tended to hold low blues a little longer than 6 cycles because I knew that it took a few extra cycles for me to see what the dose could do. That’s all I’m saying. :)

Incidentally, even here in this post, it presents some additional food for thought on why we might want to hold the dose a little longer. See post #17

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/
 
Yes, I see what you mean, Elise. I would just add, again, just from my point of view, there were low blues on 2.75u which might have warranted holding the dose a little longer. Even 130s on 3u if we were to consider low blues approx to 140, mid blues to 170 and high blues above that I’d say 130s are low blues. Maria is new, in the sense that she has only recently begun to understand how the insulin affects her cat, so I would have held the doses longer than 6 cycles. Even from my own experience, I tended to hold low blues a little longer than 6 cycles because I knew that it took a few extra cycles for me to see what the dose could do. That’s all I’m saying. :)

Incidentally, even here in this post, it presents some additional food for thought on why we might want to hold the dose a little longer. See post #17

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/tight-regulation-slgs-myths-debunked.111088/

We can agree to disagree. I would consider bg of 100-115 low blue.
 
Last edited:
Ok well I’ve tried to explain my thinking, and you obviously have the support of everyone else. I’m not going to continue with this. Sorry Maria for offering an opinion that is apparently not worth considering. I’m out.
 
We can agree to disagree. I would consider bg of 100-115 low blue.
I don’t like the way this discussion is headed and, truth be told, I would have advised holding the last two doses, 2.75u and 3u, for ten cycles.

Maria hasn’t been FD long and Petty has just started TR. The TR protocol states:

if your cat is new to numbers under 200, it is recommended to hold the dose for at least 8-10 cycles before increasing.

Maria is fairly new to BGs under 200 and she’s had some low ones. The sudden greens could be because the dose increases were rushed.
 
Back
Top