12/6 George AMPS 240 PMPS 120

Status
Not open for further replies.

jenwales

Member Since 2012
I'm definitely doing relaxed Lantus, in that I'm not home nearly enough to test many times a day for tight regulation. I wonder if there are enough of us chilled out folk to get this board hopping a little bit. I'm not at all knowledgeable but I'm learning and I try really hard!

George's BG has been all over the place and I don't really know what to do with him. His next vet appointment is on 12/29 but in the meantime I'm going to muddle through using the guidance here. It's awesome how willing people are to help and boy I've needed it.
 
Actually George is looking pretty good for no longer than he has been on insulin, or at least as much as you have data in his spreadsheet :-D With a little more time and data you should be able to shoot that 120 and be okay. But for right now and just starting to collect data you did the right thing by skipping the shot. Don't be too surprised if he is really high in the morning, just stick to that .75u and try to hold it for a week or two unless of course he gives you a super low like he did on 1u.

Another trick next time you get a lower than normal preshot number is stall the shot, wait 30 minutes without feeding and test again if he is headed up you are usually safe to shoot.

I will try to stop by at least a couple times a day to check on you. My first guy was on Lantus but he's been in remission 2 years now, but I think I remember a thing or two about it..lol. My current girl is on Levemir so I don't always check over here.

When in doubt post, and if you need a quick answer and nobody is around over here, post to health or the TR group.

Mel, Maxwell, Autumn & The Fur Gang
 
Thank you Mel. I appreciate every bit of guidance I can get. I think I'm hesitant to delay the PM shot because M-F I am home 12 hours a day including sleep. I don't have any leeway in shot times.

My son is coming home from school for winter break in about a week and I will be able to relax a little about shooting lower because someone will be home most of the time until the end of January and can keep an eye on George.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top