12/6 - Gen, AMPS 249, +6 69, PMPS >400 Libre

Allie & Gen

Member Since 2025
Yesterday

It's the weekend! And Gen has the lowest AMPS I've seen yet since I fixed my dosing mistakes.

In fact, last night's cycle was more of a gentle downward slope, rather than the "u" or "w"-shaped curves I've been seeing

Screenshot_20251206-084438~2.jpg


I think this is encouraging? We'll see!

I'm planning to spend a bunch of the day out of the house, but I'll hang out and keep an eye on him for an hour or two first.

Have a delightful Saturday, all! Surf safe, sweet kitties!
 
Last edited:
I was just reviewing the dosing protocol, and I think tomorrow we can do his 12-hour "curve" and make a decision about whether to increase? It seems likely that I will want to go up .25 to 1u at this rate, but I'm very open to input.
 
... okay, now I'm a little nervous. Whoa, buddy. Slow down?

I've delayed my departure a little, but I really want to go out. For one thing, my partner (who I don't live with) has been laid up with bronchitis and hasn't been able to come to me, and as such I haven't seen them in a couple of weeks. 💔

Should I be worried? I know these are good numbers, but it's such a fast descent, and the plunges of last week, not to mention the hypo event of the week before, are fresh in my mind.

Screenshot_20251206-103338~2.jpg
 
Last edited:
Hoping you can see your partner today! 🤞

(Random curiosity question: We are super new and we also use the Libre 2. When it drops quickly like this it usually pauses, erases like 15 min of data while it calibrates, and comes back with a slightly less shocking number. Does Gen’s do that too, or will these numbers tend to stay?)
 
I’m liking his cycle today. He just might want to stick with this dose. See how today and tonight goes. We will let you know whether to go ahead with a .25 increase. If only using the Libre you have all the data to decide.

I didn’t read everything and will next but I saw your question about dry food. If Gen will eat enough wet food I would not feed any dry food. It makes regulation harder. There are freeze dried treats that are 100% protein and won’t add any carbs you can feed .
 
Random curiosity question: We are super new and we also use the Libre 2. When it drops quickly like this it usually pauses, erases like 15 min of data while it calibrates, and comes back with a slightly less shocking number. Does Gen’s do that too, or will these numbers tend to stay?)
I'm using a Libre 3 (I'm surprised you could get a 2, I thought they'd been phased out?), so there may be some variation. That said, yes, that does happen sometimes! Not always, though. I think sometimes it's a correction, but Gen had some real scary drops a week back in part due to my mistake in reading the syringe, and those numbers didn't correct - presumably because they were accurate.
 
I'm using a Libre 3 (I'm surprised you could get a 2, I thought they'd been phased out?), so there may be some variation. That said, yes, that does happen sometimes! Not always, though. I think sometimes it's a correction, but Gen had some real scary drops a week back in part due to my mistake in reading the syringe, and those numbers didn't correct - presumably because they were accurate.
Ah, I missed that you were on the 3. Thanks!
 
I’m liking his cycle today. He just might want to stick with this dose. See how today and tonight goes. We will let you know whether to go ahead with a .25 increase. If only using the Libre you have all the data to decide.

I didn’t read everything and will next but I saw your question about dry food. If Gen will eat enough wet food I would not feed any dry food. It makes regulation harder. There are freeze dried treats that are 100% protein and won’t add any carbs you can feed .
Thank you! I just want to make sure I don't leave and then find that he keeps dropping instead of evening out, which happened before (albeit on a mistaken dose). I won't be able to get back very fast - I get around by bike, and my destination today is about 40 minutes away in either direction.

I'm aware of the dry food issue, but I'm taking the transition away from it in stages. (There's info in my thread about this on the main forum, if you'd like details, but I don't expect you to read chapters and chapters!)
 
Slowly transitioning is perfect. That might explain today’s cycle. I did t read through it all and just saw the question and didn’t know you are transitioning away from dry.

How nice of him to do this when you are home to monitor. My boy chose to give me his first green when my mom had to be hospitalized!
 
How nice of him to do this when you are home to monitor. My boy chose to give me his first green when my mom had to be hospitalized!
Oh no, that sounds terrible. I'm so sorry that happened!

I wouldn't say anything I've gone through in the past 2 weeks has been quite on that level, but it's been a lot of really hard stuff (hypoglycemic crisis/veterinary ER, canceled holiday visit with family, HR-level conflict at work) and no break over that period. I could really use one. I miss my partner so much and the fact that we both had medical reasons not to be able to leave our respective homes has been kind of killer.
 
That’s tough. That green was at amps. I had to do an 18 hour shot and then leave. I then skipped the pmps and got back on schedule in the morning. I was lucky enough to have a phone number of someone experienced with fd to guide me. This forum is a life saver as our vets are often not around when we need them.
(An 18 hour shot?)

It really is. Thank you so much for your input today!

Screenshot 2025-12-06 at 11.33.27 AM.png

I guess this cycle doesn't look quite so dramatically precipitous with a little more context.

I'm going to shower and get ready to head out, then check his numbers again. It seems like it should be okay. 🤞
 
Okay, it's definitely slowing down. Off I go! I've put some ice chips in his remaining wet food as @Lauren & Esse suggested, to help keep it fresher and encourage his usual snacking even though it's 80F in here again. I swear my building manager is just ignoring me now. 😤

Good job getting your numbers down, buddy! Be safe while I'm away. (He's like, yeah, yeah, let me go back to my nap!)

PXL_20251206_164243187.jpg
PXL_20251206_164307810.jpg
 
(An 18 hour shot?)

It really is. Thank you so much for your input today!

View attachment 75584
I guess this cycle doesn't look quite so dramatically precipitous with a little more context.

I'm going to shower and get ready to head out, then check his numbers again. It seems like it should be okay. 🤞
An 18 hour shot is not good but better than nothing. I waited for him to rise at +6. He then got a shot as he was quite high as I recall. Then I skipped the night shot and was back on schedule in the morning . We did that because I could not be home to give him insulin or watch him if I shot the green. Anyone lurking do not try this unless suggested by an experienced person for guidance. Often just skipping is the best option. We just did not know if I would be able to shoot that night and didn’t want to skip two shots.
 
Okay, it's definitely slowing down. Off I go! I've put some ice chips in his remaining wet food as @Lauren & Esse suggested, to help keep it fresher and encourage his usual snacking even though it's 80F in here again. I swear my building manager is just ignoring me now. 😤

Good job getting your numbers down, buddy! Be safe while I'm away. (He's like, yeah, yeah, let me go back to my nap!)

View attachment 75586 View attachment 75587
What a cute little vest! Gen is adorable :)
 
Well, that certainly was exciting.

Gen's numbers kept on dropping after all, setting off the low glucose alarm repeatedly and scaring the living hell out of me. At his lowest it was 58. I decided to stick to my guns and trust that it wasn't going to get dangerous, so I stayed out and just texted my roommate to check on him a couple times, but that was not easy.

So um ... I think we've earned a reduction? Can someone confirm? I need to give him his shot in the next half hour or so. @Wendy&Neko @tiffmaxee

(And now it looks like he's bouncing. Sigh!)
 
Okay, it's definitely slowing down. Off I go! I've put some ice chips in his remaining wet food as @Lauren & Esse suggested, to help keep it fresher and encourage his usual snacking even though it's 80F in here again. I swear my building manager is just ignoring me now. 😤

Good job getting your numbers down, buddy! Be safe while I'm away. (He's like, yeah, yeah, let me go back to my nap!)

View attachment 75586 View attachment 75587
Good to see some greens! Good work Gen and Allie! What a cutie
 
Back
Top