12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +13 163 No Shot Until AM

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

hi there...you were given good advise yesterday....if it were me i would not give such high dose...Libby advised you to lower the dose by what you feel comfortable doing....will you be home today to monitor?
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Laura, are you going to be home today to monitor? Did you shoot any insulin last night? I don't see a dose on your SS.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Good morning guys! Don't think I have written in your posts yet ... I don't normally give out dosing advice so I guess just follow the advice of others and maybe shoot what you are comfortable shooting? I hope you guys have a great day!
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Hi Laura,
I can't say what dose you should shoot, but I think 10 is too much.
One thing to keep in mind is that you can always give more insulin, but you can't take back too much.

If you are going to be around to test through the day, then you could try a small decrease.
If you are going to be away for most of the day, decrease even more and leave lots of foods out because if he goes low, chances are good that he will eat and bring himself up.

Let's see what Libby and the others have to say about what's a good dose to shoot today.

One thing is very very important: in order to help you, the ss needs to be right up-to-date so that people can see what dose you gave him, what time it was given, and what were his BG afterwards.
I know you did not shoot in the am because of the 95 BG, but what did you shoot last nite?
If no shot was given, maybe you can put skip shot into the U field on the ss.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Hi Laura & Cassanova! So great to see your condo (thread) this morning! Welcome to Lantus Land! :mrgreen:
There is no dose information from last night or this morning on your SS and we are wondering what/if you shot.

I think it is time for you to now make some decisions on his diet and what dose you will be comfortable with. Since you are at work during the days, maybe you will be able to test at night during the hours after your PMPS and your bed time. Is that doable for you? The more data you have, the better it is to see how Cassanova is reacting.

We post one condo each day for our kitties. We link the previous condo to the first post of the day....and you have already done that this morning! :mrgreen: Nice job! If you could do the same each day, we can click and see what transpired the previous day.

Once you transition him to the all canned foods, you will start to see lower numbers hopefully. I hope others will be by with some helpful tips on how to transition them. Do you leave food out while you are at work for Cassanova?
Do you use syringes with half-unit markings? In the future, you should get them if you do not have them presently. I use the Walmart Reli-On syringes 3/10mm 29 gauge 12.7 1/2" length.

Can you tell us when you opened your vial/pen of Lantus? We usually record that date on our SS. Congratulations on getting your SS up and running. You are doing very well right from the beginning!

There are many experienced people here who will help you. If you have any questions, please post them in the condo.
The starred stickies at the top of the page contain important information that will also be helpful. When yo have some time, could you fill out a Profile and attach it to your signature too? Here are the instructions: viewtopic.php?f=6&t=17766 Cassanova was diagnosed in 2005, is that correct?

I am so happy to see you both here. I am looking forward to see your condos each day and watching his progress! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Add dose advice to your subject.

Since the normal dose is 10 units, I also think you should lower it, but I do not know to what.
Alot depends too on if you will be home this morning to monitor your kitty.

I hope you get a sugggestion soon.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

You might want to see if he would like freeze-dried chicken...crushed on top of the canned food. Halo and Pure Bites have some...I order my pure Bites online but they might have FD chicken at your local pet food store. It is listed as a dog treat but there is only one ingredient, chicken, so it is perfect for kitties.
For a brief time, you could sprinkle some of the kibble on top of canned. But, in the long run, eliminating the dry food is the one best thing you can do for his health and BGs. The toppings might entice him to eat. Once you remove the dry, he will be hungry and will come to realize the canned as a food. Hopefully, he will eat. I warm up some water and add that to the food all the time. My two don't even drink from a bowl anymore since they are getting all the fluid from the foods.

If the food is warm, it's aroma seems to be a little better....anything to get him to eat it.
Some people use timed feeders for snacks while they are at work. Others freeze some food in ice cube trays and leave it out to defrost so it is available later for the kitty. With dry, it's easy to just leave it out, but it would be 100% better if you totally eliminate it from his diet...
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

I didn't give Casanova a shot last night. Just updated the spreadsheet. I'm off today so I feel comfortable lowering the dose. I'm getting ready to give him 8 units. I will try to test every few hours today and as someone suggested I will try to test in the evenings after his pm shot during the week. The bottle of Lantus I have was opened about a week ago. I checked the bottle to see if it had any of the visisble "symptoms" of being bad but didn't see anything. Thanks so much for all the advice and support.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Oh...you're OFF! :mrgreen: How nice! :mrgreen: That sounds like a good plan. You may update your condo here by adding the new BGs you get if you would like.
Hope you enjoy your day off...

ETA: then that 333 is not really his AMPS, right? How many hours from now is your shot time? The AMPS is the number you get right before your shot....
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 317

Okay, then his AMPS would be the 317 I just took right before I gave him his shot at 9:45am. Thanks!
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Good luck on the dose change.
Add the dose to your spreadsheet so everyone will know the dose.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

I am straining my brain, but it's been quite some time since the last shot, yes?
This morn you shot 8u (great plan since you will be home) and you gave no shot last nite at 945pm, and you did not give a shot yesterday morn at 945am as he was 95BG, but you DID give him a shot the nite before which was 10u.

If I am correct on the above, Casanova's doing amazing!

That's 36 hours, so if you showed it on your ss, it would be +36, but as you gave his shot at +36, it's now his new ps (amps), and you start to count again.
1045am will be +1, 1145am will be his +2, and so on.

I think it looks like he's doing quite well on that new and improved foods - I sure hope he's enjoying it!

You're doing a great job, Laura; I bet Casanova's starting to feel immensely better too!
I can't say when best to test because I am a test-a-holic. I feel the more data I have, the more I know what to expect. More testing in the beginning will help you pinpoint his nadir. For my two, Shadoe is closer to +5, but Oliver is closer to +10 or +11!

Have fun testing today!
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Great plan for today.

Have you transitioned all of the food over to low carb canned yet? If not, you may want to put a note in the comments section of Casanova's SS so you can keep track of what you're feeding in relation to his BG numbers.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

I'm going to try to go all day with no dry. We'll see how it goes. I know all cats are different, but how many little cans (3.3 oz.) do you think I should feed a day? My poor fatty weighs 20 lbs. Last week the vet told me he should weigh about 14lbs...gasp! I know it's important that a cat loses slowly so I want to be careful. Before he was getting 2 cans a day and eventhough I didn't measure probably about 3/4 cups of the dry.

Thanks,
Laura
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Laura,
I think your cat also said to feed dry food and had you giving way too much insulin, so I would not put too much weight in the vet's words at the moment. And here's why.

In the beginning, the body is not capable of extracting what is needed from the foods, so Casanova may seem more hungry than you think is good, but let him eat.

Before my 2 were regulated, they ate like they each had 4 hollow legs and I just let them eat. Shadoe was eating close to 24oz a day and Oliver was up around 30oz a day. Man, I could not open the cans fast enough for them!

Now, if Shadoe eats even 6 or 8oz, I am pleased. Oliver is down to maybe 15oz. They are what I would call regulated, and it seems their bodies have figured out how to get the good stuff from the foods they eat.

I would say to let Casanova just eat, within reason, and let him get used to the new foods. Once he's total wet food fed (I don't see the need for the dry - if he is eating the wet, then hide the dry), you will see some changes in the amounts, and then you can look at tiny reductions so he can lose some poundage.

The dry food is like kitty krack; he may want it but it's cookies and ice cream and Mcdonalds foods which is not a diet you would feed you kids, right? I still have a few issues with Shadoe because she tries once in awhile to sneak some dry from my civvie. She eats the wet food just fine but just a little whiff in the air of the dry and she's inching over there. I cannot let her eat any as she is very carb sensitive and her numbers will soar to the 400s, so the food's pretty important, especially if he's also sensitive.

Who knows how low his dose will be once all that dry stuff is gone? It takes maybe 2-3 days to get out of the system, so you can start watching closer once it's been a couple days since all the dry was removed.

So you can take care of the weight issue later; first, we get Casanova happy with all wet food and bring down his dose and also his BG.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Good to see you posting here where you'll get lots of help and support!

I agree with the others that 10 u is pretty high. I took a quick glance through
today's comments and the health thread the other day but I don't recall - has
anyone mentioned the importance of using something like Ketostix - urine test
strips that test for the presence of ketones? If not, I think you should have some
handy. You can get them at most pharmacies (though sometimes they're behind
the counter and you have to ask for them). I suspect you're going to go through
several dose reductions and maybe some skipped shots until you feel like you're
starting over (this is a good thing) and you should be prepared to test for ketones
if his numbers change drastically during the process while his body adjusts.

Good luck with the diet, I think you'll see some nice changes in BG between the
diet and the dose changes.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Is there a "magic" number that I shouldn't shoot below? I really only worry if its under 150,which hasn't happened in a long time. Also, I'll keep posting numbers today but how many units should I drop and what sort o numbers would justify the drop? Probably thinking ahead of myself but I'm curious. Thanks, Laura
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

I don't know if there is a "magic number". Tuffy started on Health at 10u 2x a day, When I started in LL we dropped to 7, then to 5, and so on. Vet having on such a high dose, I missed the correct dose. As you gather more information it will help. Hang in there. You are in good hands here. Switching to wet and LC will make a great difference. Monitoring is important in this instance.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Great question Laura!!
You definitely need a no-shoot number, but till you have one, you need to go with what's comfortable for you.
It all depends on what Casanova decides to do, so how he reacts will let you know more.
Keep testing and putting his numbers in the ss and you will start to see patterns.

If you ever feel uncomfortable with a number, just stop and post here. Just like you did with that 95!

While the numbers are important, so are the other parts, the whole picture. How's Casanova doing? you know him the best so you can mention any changes you notice - drinking more or less, eating or not, more active or less, all info is important and lets you know how he's really doing.

As Nina mentioned, with higher numbers, it's a good idea to test urine for ketones. With numbers over 250, it's a good idea to check daily or whenever you are able. Some cats are sneaky and shy, so you may need to do some stalking outside the LB.

As Casanova adjust to the diet change, you may have a few dose decreases, so a no-shoot number is good to have now. Let's see what the others think would be a good number. I often test at +11 and then at ps because I can see if the numbers are rising or still dropping.

If ever in doubt, don't feed, post your number in your condo, then test again in 15min to see if the numbers rising. Once you feed, a rising number could be due to that food.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

Oh my, +6 and his number is 50!!!!! We just got home from running some errands. Right before we left I gave him some wet food and it looks like he ate about 1/2. He's eating now and having a little water. What in the world? This is really crazy! He seems okay-not acting hypo at all that I can tell.

Laura
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

It's OK! 50 is not dangerous, you just don't want him going any lower. Test agin in 20 or 30 minutes to see if he is coming up.

Did you get any higher carb canned food? Over 10%? Fancy Feast Gravy lovers is good, often we just give the gravy to get their numbers up. About a tsp. is usually good. What is he eating now/
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

50 is a safe number. However, I'd like to see it get bumped up a little so feeding is a good thing. Please re-test in 20 min. Do you have any HC food -- canned food with gravy -- in the house? If not, Karo/corn syrup, maple syrup, or honey will do in a pinch.

Also, please update your subject line. It was only chance that I checked back in on your condo (what we call a thread). The way to get people to pay attention to what's happening in your condo, if you have a question, or need help is to go to your first post of the day, click on the "edit" button, then change the subject line and submit. Changing the subject line in the first post is what's visible on the board. If you add a new reply to the thread, it will bump your condo up to the top of the Board.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS 333

It looks like his shed is really full and even 8u may be too much. I'm not a dosing expert though. Keep posting every time you test and we will walk you through this.

You can edit the subject of your first post to add the new test numbers, That way they will be seen right away in the list. Do not edit the text body, though. After you edit the subject of the first post. Post a reply, that will move your thread to the top of the list.

Hi Sienne, thinking the same here. Listen to Sienne, she is one to get advice from.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova BG 50

What he just was eating was some Fancy Feast 0 carb. I've got some from before that has carbs. I'll give him a little bit of that if he tests low again in about 30 minutes. Does that sound okay?
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova BG 50

Let's see what the next test is. You will want to give him something a little higher carb if he is dropping or surfing.

Great on editing the subject, you can leave the AMPS number there and just add to it. It's all more info to work from. Also put in the +6 so we know when that 50 happened.

Be prepared to see another big bounce number later too. the liver "panics" and dumps a form of glucose when it thinks the body is going too low.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova BG 50

Feeding and testing in 30 is fine.

Not to be a complete PITA (pain in the you know where), we have a convention for subject lines -- date, cat's name, pre-shot #, other #s. So, for today, your subject line would read:

12/6 Casanova AMPS-317, +6-50​

Having the recent numbers (plus any notations for dose help, etc.) will keep people's eyes on your condo.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +6 50 +7 still 50

Please feed something with some carbs in it -- anything that's below 10% will be fine but I'd prefer something that's in the 5% range since you've been giving your kitty 0% -- and retest in 30 min.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +6 50 +7 still 50

Laura --

Are you at home tonight and tomorrow to monitor Casanova? It's pretty clear that more of a dose adjustment is needed. What the best choice may be will depend on what your schedule can accommodate.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +6 50 +7 still 50

I'm home tonight but back to work tomorrow. Can monitor in the morning and evening but not during the day. The only food I have is some FF that is 11% and some of the Nature's Variety Kibble which according to the charts is 7%. Which would be better?
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +6 50 +7 still 50

The dry takes longer to kick in and longer to leave the system. You can mix the canned 11% and the 0% to get something lower.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +6 50 +7 still 50

Great suggestion from Ann. Just so you know, you can always mix a drop or two of sweet stuff (Karo, maple syrup, honey) into low carb.

Thanks for the info.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +6 50 +7 still 50

Whoa Nellie!
Casanova's on a mission! Scroll up to see your first post for today LOL
Good morning. I was hoping for better numbers again this morning but no such luck.
careful what you wish for, you may just get it!

So! What a nice number! It's pretty much where you'd like to have Casanova - down into nice green numbers.
It looks like you are getting to see what happens when you take away that bowl of dry carbs.
How's Casanova acting?

It will be interesting to see what his number rises to by the time for his pm shot.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +9 64

I took the advice and mixed some of my 0% carb wet food with FF wet 11%. Tested just know about 45 minutes later and his number is 65. Now what? Just keep monitoring every hour or so?

Thanks again,
Laura & Casanova
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +9 64

Wowwww. Look what I missed :shock:

Two 60s in a row - hopefully he'll stay up now. Keep an eye on him and I think you can go an hour between tests now. Getting near PMPS time anyway. But no bouncy-bouncy BGs, OK Casanova?

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +9 64

You still have a few hours to go so you will be able to decide once you get a bit closer to his pmps.
Lots of times you will see a cat surf nicely in the low numbers and then start to rise by ps time.
At least he's going in the right direction!

It's up to you how often you want to test now. If you want to see if he goes up gradually or all of a sudden shoots up high in the last hour, you can always test hourly, but since I am a testaholic, I always am curious to see how the numbers are going.

Let's see what the others have to say. I don't recall seeing anyone mention a no-shoot number for you.
Also, if you need to delay they shot tonite, what's the latest you can shoot in the morning before you leave for work? I normally shoot at 6am/6pm but I can delay the morning till about 730am, then I have to leave for work.
The time you need to shoot on workday morns will affect how late you can shoot in the evenings.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +10 85

I guess now I just wait and see what the numbers look like at +11 and +12. Anybody have any feelings about what number Casanova would have to hit where I should give him some sort of shot and about how many units I'd be looking at? I'm really curious to see where his numbers end up.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +10 85

I wish I had an answer for you but if he does not come up much higher in the next few hrs, I don't even think I'd shoot.
If you can get a +11 and then +12, you will see what direction he's going and have a better idea what would be safe to do.

Question: if you were to give a shot in 2 hrs, how late will you be up and able to test, just to be sure he does not go low overnite. I try to stay awake till at least +3 on the pm shots so that I have an idea if mine are going low or will be fine overnite.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +11 119

Just got +11 at 119. I think I can make it another hour to test again but then I'll need to go to bed. I could get up and test after I fall asleep. I do usually get up during the night.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +11 119

good, he's heading up now.

To be sure I understand, if you shoot at +12 you'll be going to bed right after the shot?
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +11 119

What are the chances of your changing your shot times so that you can get in a test a couple hours after your pm shot?
I ask because many cats go lower at nite, and many times a before bed test has shown a very low number.
If you are giving Casanova his pm shot and then going to be shortly after, you won't know how he is responding to the pm shots.

I picked 6am and 6pm because if I tired, I can still get a +3 test and go to bed after that test.
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +11 119

I usually do 8:30am and 8:30pm but can definitely move it up to about 6:30 which is usually when I get up. There are a few occasions when I get home later but that would be a infrequent occurance. The only problem will be in the am if I give him his shot so late tonight. I won't be at home in the morning much past 9 am. DH is home and he can give the shots but he can't do the test. I wonder if I should just skip the shot tonight and start early tomorrow? If not, I guess I should just shoot a low number of units. To bad I have to work for a living ;-)
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +11 119

I tend to agree with Gayle -- moving shot time so you have the opportunity to get a test or two in before you leave the house in the AM and can test in the PM rather than having to set alarms and wake up makes sense. I ended up moving my shot times so I could get in tests in the AM because I have a cat that drops fast and low during the early part of the cycle.

I think it makes sense to skip the shot tonight so you can get on a schedule that lets you test and shoot in a way that works for you. As far as a no shoot number, for now, how about 200. We'll probably be dropping it down to 150 shortly but given the change in food and the way things are going, erring on the side of safety seems prudent.

In the same vein, I think it makes sense to lower Casanova's dose. What would you think about a dose of 4.0 or 5.0u for the AM?
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +11 119

I think Casanova's shed floweth over, and you should either skip or give a greatly reduced dose, especially if you have plans on getting any sleep tonight.

MJ&Donovan
 
Re: 12/6 Casanova AMPS -317 +11 119

I'm fine with going as low as 4 units. I'd much rather give him to little than too much. I'm getting ready to do my +12 test and will post that number in a few minutes.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top