12/6 Bama Kitty AMPS 101; PMPS 84 +1 63 +1.5 54 +1.75 64 +2 84 +3 87 + 4.5 62 +5 81 +6.5 122 +9 115

Bama Kitty Mom (GA)

Member Since 2018
Yesterday: 12/5 Bama Kitty AMPS 141 +1 166 +3 153 +9 245; PMPS 322 +3 288 +9 130 +11 105

Eventful night. Despite that I got good sleep. Also today--:coffee:--so ready for what comes. He had a poor appetite @ PMPS, had to use generous dose of Squeeze-up to get him to eat. I opened a can of FF0% @ +3 and he ate a few bites but threw up @ approximately +3.5 to +4.5 [according to cam in his room]. Looked to be at least 2 vomiting episodes--lots of partially digest food and water. He drank a good bit between episodes. I was dead to the world and didn't discover it until I came into his room @ +6. By then he had recovered his appetite. I fed more of the FF0% but did not test until PM+9. He was ready to eat more by then and almost finished off the rest of the can.

AMPS test shows he's slowed a bit so I shot full dose. Got the Karo ready in case he dives some more but maybe he will settle in and surf. Appetite was good--ate apprx. 1 oz. + a few kibble, drank some water, and is back in his bed. Plan to get a +1 test.

Vet appointment is @ AM+6.5. Required to drop him off. No in-room visits. Will request bloodwork. Yesterday he did not get up much but did move slowly, could have been in pain as he did present the meatloaf position when he was awake but really slept a good deal in his old bed which is inside a cardboard box. He doesn't often go in there so he must have been searching for a place that felt safe and secure.

@Suzanne & Darcy -- does this sound like pancreatitis? If so, does it come and go? Given all the water consumption, I'm inclined to think it is related more to CKD.
 
Last edited:
Not much of a food bump at +1. How is his appetite? Did he eat at +1?
He ate @ +1 and again @ +2. Fed the rest of his FF0% carb. {FF Whitefish & Tuna} Thought he might eat it better than what he had at AMPS which was FF 3% plus few kibble; Plan to get a +3 and depending on the number, feed FF3% plus Karo if necessary.
 
He ate @ +1 and again @ +2. Fed the rest of his FF0% carb. {FF Whitefish & Tuna} Thought he might eat it better than what he had at AMPS which was FF 3% plus few kibble; Plan to get a +3 and depending on the number, feed FF3% plus Karo if necessary.
He seems to be flat so far so let's see if we can get him to surf the higher greens.
 
He seems to be flat so far so let's see if we can get him to surf the higher greens.
Looks like this cycle is much like 11/30 AM where he touched green but bumped back up into blue. Did not feed this hour. Could be the kibble @ AMPS is kicking in or he just doesn't want to spend time in green at this dose. We are currently having a small thunderstorm. Such is life in the southern US even sometimes in December. It is warm today. 64 degrees. He doesn't like thunder but so far, has not sought out any hiding places.

Thinking of dosing him with 2.5mg Famotidine @ +5 before a small snack @ +6. Maybe that will keep acid at bay while he is at the vet's office. It may have worked during the day yesterday but did not last 12 hours. He is not due for Ondansetron before AM+10.
 
Thinking of dosing him with 2.5mg Famotidine @ +5 before a small snack @ +6. Maybe that will keep acid at bay while he is at the vet's office. It may have worked during the day yesterday but did not last 12 hours. He is not due for Ondansetron before AM+10.
If you see the section on Famotidine dosing in Tany'a site, they say that some cats need it every day. And Ondansetron as often as every 8 hours.
 
@+4.5, back down to 98. I gave him 2.5mg Famotidine @ +4. Will go ahead and feed a small snack as will need to leave in about 1.5 hours.
Nice and flat :-)

Good luck with the appointment, Gina! I hope they figure out what is bothering Bama. You could also get a Spec fPL done for pancreatitis. You also want a urinalysis to check for proteinuria.
:bighug:
 
+5 Fed couple spoonfuls of FF3% carb; while he was eating, he gagged on something and when I looked in his food bowl, there was something that looked suspiciously like a partially dissolved gelcap with a white substance in it--like the Famotidine he was supposed to have swallowed an hour ago. I syringed a little water into his mouth as a chaser after he appeared to swallow it. So who knows if any got inside him.
 
Bama has been at the vet today since AM+7 so I did not get to do all I usually do to prepare for a possible lower pre-shot, i.e. test @ +9, feed, etc. Decided to shoot 5u, a reduction of 0.5u given he will probably drop another 10 or so to earn a reduction at his new reduction point of 75. Bloodwork shows CKD has advanced to Stage 4 with values: BUN 84, Creatinine 6.1, & Phosphorus 8.8. Got sub-q supplies and Epikitin, a phosphorus binder, which I will start tomorrow. No signs of infection, thyroid normal, and she believes the inappetence and vomiting are the results of Uraemia, the build-up of toxins in the blood the kidneys no longer effectively filter out.

His appetite is good for his PMPS meal. I've got the Karo handy. Will test @ PM+1.
 
Sorry wasn't around, dinner time and kids activities.

I think thats probably fine since he likely went below reduction point today.

Sorry about the CKD progression :/ has anyone given you the list of low phos foods? I'd have to dig for a link
 
Sorry wasn't around, dinner time and kids activities.

I think thats probably fine since he likely went below reduction point today.

Sorry about the CKD progression :/ has anyone given you the list of low phos foods? I'd have to dig for a link
I have a link, thanks. Sorry no FF on it since that is his new favorite brand. Was surprised to see 9 Lives Tuna. He used to eat that long before FD dx.
 
Yesterday: 12/5 Bama Kitty AMPS 141 +1 166 +3 153 +9 245; PMPS 322 +3 288 +9 130 +11 105

Eventful night. Despite that I got good sleep. Also today--:coffee:--so ready for what comes. He had a poor appetite @ PMPS, had to use generous dose of Squeeze-up to get him to eat. I opened a can of FF0% @ +3 and he ate a few bites but threw up @ approximately +3.5 to +4.5 [according to cam in his room]. Looked to be at least 2 vomiting episodes--lots of partially digest food and water. He drank a good bit between episodes. I was dead to the world and didn't discover it until I came into his room @ +6. By then he had recovered his appetite. I fed more of the FF0% but did not test until PM+9. He was ready to eat more by then and almost finished off the rest of the can.

AMPS test shows he's slowed a bit so I shot full dose. Got the Karo ready in case he dives some more but maybe he will settle in and surf. Appetite was good--ate apprx. 1 oz. + a few kibble, drank some water, and is back in his bed. Plan to get a +1 test.

Vet appointment is @ AM+6.5. Required to drop him off. No in-room visits. Will request bloodwork. Yesterday he did not get up much but did move slowly, could have been in pain as he did present the meatloaf position when he was awake but really slept a good deal in his old bed which is inside a cardboard box. He doesn't often go in there so he must have been searching for a place that felt safe and secure.

@Suzanne & Darcy -- does this sound like pancreatitis? If so, does it come and go? Given all the water consumption, I'm inclined to think it is related more to CKD.
I am afraid it could be CKD related too, but I hope not! What happened at the vet today? Any results?
 
Oh wow. I just scrolled up and saw the results from today. I’m sorry about the blood results. You can do a lot of good with daily sub-q fluids. Also daily Cerenia and Ondansetron (can start with one or the other). Ondansetron can be quite constipating though. If he’s dehydrated then constipation will likely be an ongoing problem. That phosphorus is really high. Right now I would feed whatever he will eat and also possibly start renal foods if he will eat them. They are very low phosphorus. I’m surprised at that level of phosphorus that you haven’t seen him have trouble walking or jumping/ having weak hind legs. Epakitin is not as effective as Aluminum Hydroxide powder at bringing the phosphorus down, but it is a starting point. It’s important to get that down quickly as the high phosphorus will continue to damage kidneys.
 
Have you done sub-q fluids before? I can give you a lot of pointers there if not. I hope poor Bama will do okay for you with the fluids. You did get Lactated Ringers solution, right?
 
Hi Gina, sorry to hear his CKD has progressed. The SubQs will really help! Did the vet say how much Ondansetron and Famotidine to give? Does Bama get Vitamin B supplements?
I believe Weruva has low carb low phosphorus foods.

Looks like he is keeping you busy tonight. Congrats on the reduction and shooting your first green!
 
Yes… Bhooma mentioned B vitamins. The B-complex is very important for CKD kitties as well as B-12 injections (very easy to give sub-q just like an insulin injection or can be injected into the y-port at the same time that fluids are given.

I use the Jarrow B-Right b complex. Split it into about 10 number 4 gelcaps and give daily. This and the supplemental B-12 is important to fight anemia and keep his hematocrit up. Did the vet say what his HCT was today? I have a set of tiny spoons that I ordered from Amazon to spoon the B complex into the gelcaps. They sell little holding racks to hold the open gelcaps while you fill them, but I just use four pieces of Lego snapped together into a square. The gelcaps fit into the back side of the Lego. This was an invention of my son and it works well.
 
I switched Darcy over to the Weruva BFF PLAY foods because they are lower phosphorus. I did that when his phosphorus first became high. Later I needed to switch to the renal foods though and he ate them. In his case, I didn’t really see any dramatic increase in his BG from feeding the renal foods and I would have fed them anyway because I could have just adjusted his insulin.
 
Now, may I ask how much fluid your vet has prescribed and how often? You want to really make sure that his heart is sound. I’m sure the vet listened for murmurs. Don’t you just HATE not being able to go inside the vet’s office with Bama. I really don’t think we get the same level of care this way - and there’s no opportunity to have a face to face discussion. My vet comes outside to the parking lot to speak with me after she’s finished, but it’s not the same. Most times now, I write down a list of what I want done, or what my concerns are, or what my questions are - and I give it to the vet tech who takes my cat inside.
 
Hi Gina, sorry to hear his CKD has progressed. The SubQs will really help! Did the vet say how much Ondansetron and Famotidine to give? Does Bama get Vitamin B supplements?
I believe Weruva has low carb low phosphorus foods.

Looks like he is keeping you busy tonight. Congrats on the reduction and shooting your first green!
Vet didn't specify changing the dose on either Ondansetron or Famotidine. I didn't give either one tonight. He seems to be doing ok so far without them. I do sprinkle a little B12 in his food.
 
Vet didn't specify changing the dose on either Ondansetron or Famotidine. I didn't give either one tonight.
Some one on Tanya's support group has responded to my post saying Ondansetron does not last longer than 4 hours or some such in cats. I can't find the post. The vet didn't think he needs to be give them more often considering he is throwing up and has the occasional inappetance?
 
Some one on Tanya's support group has responded to my post saying Ondansetron does not last longer than 4 hours or some such in cats. I can't find the post. The vet didn't think he needs to be give them more often considering he is throwing up and has the occasional inappetance?
The vet did say the dose may need to be increased, just didn't say how much.
 
Did you get Cerenia. If he’s vomiting, he should have Cerenia it works better for vomiting than Ondansetron. Ondansetron is good for nausea
 
I'll be doing 100mls sub-q every other day. I'll have a look at the labs on the vet's website for the specifics but she did say the WBC & RBC were normal.
Well that’s good. I’m surprised she didn’t say to do daily sub-q. But maybe he will do well on every other day. Do you warm his fluids before giving them? Does he behave for you/tolerate the fluids?
 
Well that’s good. I’m surprised she didn’t say to do daily sub-q. But maybe he will do well on every other day. Do you warm his fluids before giving them? Does he behave for you/tolerate the fluids?
He tolerates it. I hang his bag on a hook in the closet and station my mom there to monitor the level while I hold him down in his bed. Otherwise he gets up and dislodges the needle when he feels the fluids going in. I also try to pinch and hold while I pull the needle out to close the hole. Still it seems he leaks for hours afterwards.
 
He tolerates it. I hang his bag on a hook in the closet and station my mom there to monitor the level while I hold him down in his bed. Otherwise he gets up and dislodges the needle when he feels the fluids going in. I also try to pinch and hold while I pull the needle out to close the hole. Still it seems he leaks for hours afterwards.
I found that (a) freezing the needle helps and (b) the location matters. we tried the scruff and bandit like it at all. so we now we give it a little lower.
 
Back
Top