12/5PaisleyPMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 9/85 11/56 Shot help

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lylene & Barry

Member Since 2009
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=57895&p=628374#p628374

Second cycle of decreased dose - 1.5u. 12/4 PM cycle was a bounce and it looks like she's still coming out of that. She only had two cycles on 1.75u before she did the nosedive. Wait and see.

DH is leaving tonight for the Great Lakes Fruit, Vegetable and Farmers Market Expo downstate. He'll be back either late Thursday or Friday. Personally, I'd rather he wait until Friday morning to head home so he can get a good night's sleep before the drive home. His mom lives about half hour drive from the Expo so he's staying there. Wonder what he'll bring back this year. Previous years have brought fig trees, olive trees and a lime tree. Yes, we live in zone 3. Did I mention the pomegranate trees he's growing from seed. I think there might be a couple other citrus trees from seed that haven't died yet. Oh yes, the mango trees. Can't forget them. They're only a foot high now and I figure that with climate change, when they are too big for the house, it will be warm enough here to plant them outside. :o Actually, it's been fun watching the different trees grow. We had ginger planted but the cats dug it up.

I told DH I'd try to burn him an audio book for the drive. I have "The Golden Ass", which is one of the oldest complete books ever discovered. It's 13 cds long so I'd better get busy burning it. I love LiberVox. It's all free books whose copyrights have gone public. "Ten Days in a Mad-House" by Nellie Bly was really good. She a reporter who got herself committed to an insane ward at a notorious hospital in the late 1800s. Scary. "Alice in Wonderland" is also there. It seemed reasonable to download those two books at the same time. :lol:

Have a good day.
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS/134

Love seeing Ms Paisley's progress. You are doing a great job.

What fun growing fruits from another climate! Hope DH brings something fun home this year...please let us know. I love growing things....only have window sills at the moment but they are full.

Hope you have a great day. :-D
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS/134

Paisley is looking good. She's had some really nice cycles lately.

I'm thinking of trying pomegranates here. If climate change favors yours, mine will be underwater! I'm going to have to check out LiberVox. Thanks for the tip.
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS/134 2/100 3/64 3.5/48 4/77 ARGH!!

Linda for Weezer said:
Paisley is looking good. She's had some really nice cycles lately.

I'm going to have to check out LiberVox. Thanks for the tip.

I goofed on the name. It's LibriVox. http://librivox.org/ Everything there is in the public domain.

She's doing it again. She's earned herself another decrease after only 2 cycles at 1.5u. I'm so tired.

Fed her some Romanian bread (good, hearty stuff), which she snatched and scarfed when I held it out to her. Added some honey to her LC. That was after the 3.5 test. The HC I have really upset her GI system and it's really easy to doctor up LC food to make it HC.
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS/134 2/100 3/64 3.5/48 4/77 ARGH!!

Beautiful #s!!! Wishing for a safe trip for your DH, and I hope that he brings something back for you this time around. :-D Have a great day!
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS/134 2/100 3/64 3.5/48 4/77 5/154

Gave her more HC and laid down for 1/2 hour. DH kept an eye on her. I'm so exhausted I literally can't see straight. :YMSIGH:

Linda for Weezer said:
Paisley is looking good. She's had some really nice cycles lately.

I'm thinking of trying pomegranates here. If climate change favors yours, mine will be underwater! I'm going to have to check out LiberVox. Thanks for the tip.

Linda, you could start growing plants that live in water, just in case. :lol: Get a little pond system going. Hydroponics is very popular right now. You might be able to get a system cheap at a police auction. Something they confiscated from someone growing weed. :roll:

Also, did you catch that I goofed the name? It's LibriVox.
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS/134 2/100 3/64 3.5/48 4/77 5/154

Looking great!! Sounds like DH has a lot to look for! That will be fun for him. Hope you get all 13 CD's burned. Have a great day!!
 
Re: 12/5 PaisleyAMPS/134 2/100 3/64 3.5/48 4/77 5/154 6/109

Thinking maybe just a few too many carbs. Better than the alternative. She's really on the move here. It's amazing. Like things are finally clicking in her body. Since we have no history on her, we have no idea what may have triggered the diabetes. I'll have to send an email to the vet tech who took care of her at the shelter and let her know how well Miss P. is doing.
~~~~~~~~
+8
Received a telephone call to interview regarding the eggs we sell for an article on why people should buy local eggs. We have chicken (full size and bantam), duck, duck, goose and turkey (when she feels like laying). We're going to try to make an egg snowman. Anyway, missed a +7 but she's looking good at +8. Coming down from me over-carbing her. drinking11
 
Re: 12/5 PaisleyAMPS/134 2/100 3/64 3.5/48 4/77 5/154 6/109

Hi guys .. look at paisley go! Bet that +3.5 opened up your eyes! I like how nicely she came back up .. Where is the fruit expo at? Is it open to the public? Sounds interesting .. I won't be here much this week since peter has it off, so have a great week!
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS 9/62 PMPS/176 2/226 4/146

Fell asleep and missed through PMPS. Don't know if she dropped after AM +9. Will wait to see if this is a bounce or what is going on. Well, looking like the +2 was part of a bounce. I can't believe how fast her body is getting the hang of this "produce your own insulin" thing.

PeterDevonMocha said:
Hi guys .. look at paisley go! Bet that +3.5 opened up your eyes! I like how nicely she came back up .. Where is the fruit expo at? Is it open to the public? Sounds interesting .. I won't be here much this week since peter has it off, so have a great week!

Oh yes. Can't say I was totally thrilled with the drop because I was exhausted from her doing this yesterday. On the other hand, I know it's a good thing.

The Great Lakes Expo is in Grand Rapids, MI. http://www.glexpo.com/ It's a lot of fun. It is open to the public and has a registration fee. There are educational sessions and a huge exhibit hall (lots of goodies, including food :lol: ) We were switching off. I'd go one year, DH the next. Now he's on the board of MIFMA (MI Farmers Market Association) and has to go for their meeting. Someone has to stay home and hold down the fort (or farm, in our case).
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley AMPS 9/62 PMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55

She's doing it again!!!!!! Dropped down to 55. Gave HC (LC with honey and breadcrumbs) and she helped herself to some bread. Am heading to test again after posting this.

Wondering if I should stick with the 1.25u or drop down to 1.0u. The PM shot was her first shot of 1.25u.
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley PMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 7/78

WOWZA, PAISLEY!!!!!!!!!!!

(And now I know what she looks like :-D )
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley PMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 7/78

Boy is she nasty when her BG is low or high. She growled and swiped at me and attacked Little Brother before I could get between them. He must have come inside under/with the drooler. Now she's looking at Barry, who's trying to stay away from her. DH was supposed to help me cut her nails before he left but most have forgotten.

Up to 78@+7 from 55@+6. She really wants an end to all this ear poking and shot crap. Oh, and she wants food, too. May get some more rise from the bread she ate after I fed her the HC. Nice heavy Romanian bread from the Farmers Market. She does have good taste in bread. Now if we could just work on manners. ohmygod_smile
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley PMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 7/78 8/79

It's so quiet now, except for Barry snoring. Everybody's passed out.

She's basically where she was when I tested after she ate. I'll test her again at +9 and go from there with what food she gets.

Still wondering about what dose to use for her AM shot, which is in 3.5 hours. She had a dose decrease at her PM dose but still wants to drop her BG.
 
Re: 12/5 Paisley PMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 7/78 8/79 9/85

+9 (almost) = 85 I'll give her some more food as this is normally her mealtime.

Still wondering what dose to give. SS is up to date.
 
12/5 Paisley PMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 7/78 9/85 11/56

11.25 = 56

At what number, is it safe to shoot? How low do I let it go before feeding her, if BG isn't up to the safe number by shot time?

I'm going to go with the reduction to 1.0u even though she only got one cycle at 1.25u and will stall 30 min.

I have an appointment at 1p EST that I need to go to today and then a swing into the "big" town to pick up chicken for cat food. Can't afford having her drop low while I'm gone. The stall will get me to where I need to be for shot time for Saturday when I will be gone all day.
 
Re: 12/5PaisleyPMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 9/85 11/56 Shot hel

Wow, crazy times for you and Paisley! If you have to be out tomorrow (or today for you) you could always shoot a BCS, which is what I might do in your situation. Maybe .5u or .75u Of course if amps is still in the 50's...you could skip and call it a fur shot and get some much needed rest!
 
Re: 12/5PaisleyPMPS/176 2/226 4/146 6/55 9/85 11/56 Shot hel

Anne&Muffin said:
Wow, crazy times for you and Paisley! If you have to be out tomorrow (or today for you) you could always shoot a BCS, which is what I might do in your situation. Maybe .5u or .75u Of course if amps is still in the 50's...you could skip and call it a fur shot and get some much needed rest!

Now that's a good plan. I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top