12/5 SUMO pmps 138 +1 295 +2 222 +5 103 +6 72 +7 81

Status
Not open for further replies.

Mary and Sumo

Member Since 2011
Good Morning, I am sorry that we have not been around to post lately. In short, there has been not only one, but two life changing events happening in our lives recently. I have been doing my best to get spot checks whenever possible. Sumo is a trooper and going with the flow of the hectic days. To recap, Sumo started Lantus on Nov 11 and has shown a little improvement. (He surprised me with a 191 pmps last evening) but hangs in the 300's alot. He has developed neuropathy in his hind legs that has gotten progressivly worse. A few days prior to Thanksgiving, Sumo could hardly walk! He couldn't take more than 2 steps without having to sit down. His legs would slide out from under him, and he was so stiff It was difficult to watch him try to get up from his lying position. He even lays down to eat. I emailed his Vet who said this is very disturbing to see such severe neuropathy and wanted to refer me to a specialist and to get a stat ultrasound of his pancrease. She wanted me to increase to 3units BID for one week and then do a curve (he was on 1.75 at the time) I replied that I was not comfortable with such a big jump in insulin and told her I would increase by .5 every 3 days until I got up to the 3 units. Her concern for Sumo was impressive. She emailed me on Thanksgiving night to inquire how he was doing. She called me the following day to say that she had talked to the specialist who told her that Sumo needs to get regulated before we would see any improvement in his legs. He wanted to hold off on the ultrasound for a bit to see if things would improve with a higher insulin dose. Well, today is day 5 of the 3 units BID and Sumo is showing very little improvement. He may take 4 or 5 steps now, but still very "crippled" when he walks. I guess what I would like opinions on is, Is 3 units a very high dose? If the vet recommends a higher dose (which I am sure she will) how should I respond? I will be able to do a curve tomorrow and plan to email her after that. She has shown real concern for Sumo, so I don't want to just blow her off, but was hoping you guys might have a suggestion or two.
With appreciation, Mary and Sumo
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO AMPS 374 +3 309 Thoughts?

It sounds like your vet is hugely caring.

One of the supplements that has been very effective for diabetic neuropathy is methylcobalamine (also called methyl B-12). There is a form that is available for diabetic cats -- no flavorings and no sugar. It's called Zobaline and is available through Amazon. It takes several weeks to have an effect but many people here will swear by it.

If you are able, I'd encourage you to try to get a spot check every cycle. If you're going to increase Sumo's dose by 0.5u, you want to make sure you're not missing a low nadir. It's important to keep your cat safe. With the 191 last night, I'm wondering where his numbers were earlier in the day.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO AMPS 374 +3 309 Thoughts?

Mary,

I just want to give you some encouragement. Kitty developed severe neuropathy - also ate sitting down. He couldn't climb into his regular litter box, so we had to buy a shallow one.

We added the methylcobalamine and slowly and steadily adjusted Kitty's insulin dose to bring the BGs down safely. While that happened, we just all coped with the neuropathy. Gradually, as we brought Kitty into regulation, the neuropathy cleared up! Kitty is OTJ now, and the neuropathy is gone.

So hang in there. It will get better.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO AMPS 374 +3 309 +5 169 +12 107

Just checked Sumo's pmps and got a 107. He has never been this low. I know not to feed, and I will wait and recheck in 15-20 min.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO PMBG +12 107 +12.15 119

Giving you a bump to get more attention. Try changing the subject line to say - need dose input.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO PMBG +12 107 +12.15 119

It looks like Sumo is giving you surprises! If you want to wait until +12.5 and re-test, you'll know a bit more about whether this is a rising number.

Since you're stalling, remember, if you stall more than 30 min., you'll need to adjust your shot time tomorrow morning.

FYI: you may want to put the +12 tests in your comments section. Alternatively, if you look at Gabby's SS, you'll see how I stack the numbers when I have multiple tests in a cell. You will need to manually adjust the color.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO PMBG +12 107 +12.15 119 +12.5 138

Thanks, +12.5 Sumo came up to 138. I am feeding him now and will dose. Do you recommend his normal 3 units. Or reduce dose. I can get +'s later.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO PMBG +12 107 +12.15 119 +12.5 138 Help with Do

If you have strips and HC and will be around to keep an eye on the numbers shooting the full dose is fine if you're comfortable doing so. This is the lowest you've shot.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO PMBG +12 107 +12.15 119 +12.5 138 Help with Do

Thanks, will shoot regular 3 units. Will work on SS shortly
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO pmps 138

Just please get a +1 and a +2. If those numbers are less than your pre-shot, you will definitely need to be monitoring carefully.
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO pmps 138

Will do Sienne and I also plan to get a +5 at midnight prior to bed and will most likely set the alarm.
Thank You, Mary
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO pmps 138

Mary --

Let the numbers dictate how you test. If you're seeing dropping numbers, you may need to re-test before +5 (but you probably know that -- I'm saying it for those who may be newer at this routine).
 
Re: 12/5 SUMO pmps 138 +1 295

I love cats!

Well, you now know that unless that was a very wonky test at +1, Sumo is bouncing with a vengence. That's the bad news. The good news is that you'll get to go to sleep!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top