12/5 Ozgood +3 138, +5.75 45, +6 90

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ozgood

Member Since 2014
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=129325

Yes, 8:30/8:30 right now. I'm not sure how 5:30/5:30 would work. I leave at 4:30AM, and sometimes neither of us are home til 6. She doesn't leave until 10:30, so she could do the AM shot. I just don't like taking the chance that nobody will be home until after +12. It's challenging!

Sorry for the delay, but here's an update on Oz. He had a check up with his vet yesterday. She thought his coat looked great. His ears are nearly normal again (they had a bunch of yeast in them). One of the vet techs barely recognized him. He's at 11.9lbs, up from 11.6lbs on 11/14 and 11.4lbs on 10/14 :)

No AMPS today, apologies. He was down to 45 at +5.75. I fed him 1/2 can of FF and he's back to 90 at +6. Our vet recommends reducing his dose to 2.5u starting tonight because his fructosamine level was 400 when it was checked on Friday.

Side note- I'm SO close to getting a bg test by myself! :-D I wrapped him in his blanket that we use when both of us do the test, and he relaxed instantly! I was able to poke his ear before he got away from me. It's like he knew he had the upper hand because he never makes a run for it when she holds him and I do the poke/meter. lol

edit- back up to 247 at +7.5
 
Great catch on that 45! That definitely earns a reduction. According to the TR protocol, the next dose would be 2.75U.

Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit.
Good news on the progress for solo poking. Any chance you could get the blood drop on your fingernail right after the poke? You could test the blood from that and not have to hold him as long.
 
Keep at it! you'll get it before long. i've done the fingernail trick too - it can be really helpful. the only downside of that is that you do want to hold his ear long enough to staunch the blood flow and prevent bruising.

Glad to hear such a good report on Ozgood!

I still want to encourage you to keep trying to get a pm cycle test. We have so many kitties that go low at night that we know it's super important. With many of Ozgood's numbers being high, it's very possible he's going low somewhere and these are bounce highs that you're seeing. Take a look at some spreadsheets of other kitties and you'll see what I mean. Many, many of them have their lowest numbers at night, and if you caught a 45 during the day . . . it's important to know what's going on at night.
 
Hi there :cool:

I remember my struggle to learn to poke my Black Kittys ear and get a successful result 'solo' .
I thought I would never be able to do it - he was a 5 year old Tom ('intact' male) fresh off the streets . . .with BIG teeth! :lol:

With the encouragement of the folks here I kept trying and when I finally got that first test 'solo' - I was so excited - it was truly an accomplishment for me.

Keep at it - soon you will be celebrating success in 'solo' testing (and we will celebrate with you) :cool:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top